We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kalvas Restaurant

Kalvas Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 99 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kalvas has been converted to aclassy upscale log cabin with dark wood tables and a warm atmosphere. The semi-circularbuilding offered almost every table a view from large windows. The focus of Kalvas is on thedining experience and the quality of the selections on the menu. Specializing in seafoodand premium meats such as AAA Alberta Beef and Island Springs Lamb, Kalvas offers highquality meals at reasonable prices.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a good meal here. My wife had Oyster Rockefeller which she enjoyed but wish they used real cheese instead of hollandaise sauce . I had the special which was a chicken dish with cheese and I really enjoyed it. Appys range from $10-12 and mains dinners from $21 - 40. Big selection of wines .Our server John was great, didn't have to wave him down for anything ,he was on top of it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    85
    34
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Major, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a great place to eat. We had the seafood platter for two. So much food we could not eat it all. It was delicious and would recommend everyone to go. Fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem of the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

couple of friends and I recently ate at Kalvas Restaurant and had the most amazing meal i have ever had. This place gives " moms home cooked meals" a run for there money. The atmosphere is relaxed, cozy, and warm. Our server was extreamly knoledgable of the menu and large wine list. The apatizers came quickly and were absolutely amazing. The entries were cooked to prefection, and you couldnt ask for a better presented dish. Great portion sizes and a very competitive price for a 5 star meal.
I rate this Restaurant an 11/10!! and i highly recomend it to anyone looking for a great meal in the Parksville/Qualicum area

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much to Offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were delighted when we returned to Kalvas after many years. It has always had a good reputation and we weren't disappointed. The seafood was more than delicious and it was so nice to be in a restaurant with old fashioned, attentive but not overbearing service, white linens and all the acoutrements. Good work, Kalvas! We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FGNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived late into Parksville from Seattle and looked for a place to eat and relax. We found this nice restaurant called Kalvas: The Log House on a Sunday night. Great looking inside, kind of upscale but nice. We ordered our meals and the food was great! Everything was cooked just right. We tried the desert called "Raspberry & Blackberry Meringue" and that was very tasty and hit the spot for a after meal desert. Great flavors! Very relaxed environment and the service was good. We enjoyed our late meal and would come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalvas Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kalvas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing