We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh feel good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lefty's Restaurant

Lefty's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Purveyors of Leftcoast fresh food for breakfast, lunch and dinner since 1996. As much as possible our meals are made to order and feature house made soups, sauces and scratch baked desserts. The place where 'It doesn't matter who's right!'
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fresh feel good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Likes: Food, location
Dislikes: Service

Background: Went here for dinner on a weekday in June 2013; no reservations

Food:
I can't quite remember what exactly it was called, but it was salmon with rice. It tasted very fresh; it was delicious! The portion was generous, but the food was not heavy in your stomach, so you don't feel bloated after.

Service:
Very meh, not memorable. The server was not very friendly. Boo.

Prices:
It was typical, around $15-20 per entree. But their menu is quite creative with a touch of West Coast, so if you're a tourist, you really should go. It's not expensive, it's not cheap but it's worth it.

Verdict:
I would recommend them for their food; very creative and very fresh. It was a very popular spot, with tons of tourists including ourselves. Busy for a Thursday night, so that's saying great things about this little restaurant. I do recommend you to check it out if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilmissrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    262
    74
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We always make a point of visiting Lefties for breakfast when we visit Parksville. The food is better than average with reasonable prices. It has both indoor and outdoor seating, both of which are comfortable for couples or small groups.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2013happytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great restauant , good burgers and salads . My wife is vegan and she always find things to eat and she also loves it. It has pub food and also healthy food. Good menu

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gentle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Cannot believe this is the top rated restaurant in Parksville”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had been here previously and were very disappointed with the quality of the food and the service. Given the lack of restaurants and the excellent rating we decided to try again. It was no better. My salmon was totally raw in the centre, the gingerale was flat wrecking the rye. My husband had the ribs and they were basically tasteless. My daughters pizza was nothing special. We cannot figure out what all the hype is about. On top of that the service was slow and it was not that busy. With not being able to eat part of my meal because it was not cooked they were kind enough to give us a 50% off a second meal when you buy a meal in the future. What a joke. Not cheap either, both times our bill was $100. As the saying goes first time shame on them, second time shame on us, there will not be a third time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BCAdventurerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I apologize for your disappointing experience. We have addressed this circumstance with all those involved because we actually do care. As I have previously stated, we did not solicit number one status and so, of course, it is at the discretion of overall guest satisfaction. We accept responsibility for the good, the bad and the ugly and intend to always take the measures necessary to improve and, preferably, exceed our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best pizza outside of Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband, who is extremely fussy about his pizzas, was overwhelmed by the quality of the crust and toppings on our pizzas we ordered (he had the meglio de pepperoni and I had the mediterrano with added bacon). Not since last year's trip to Italy has he raved about a pizza as much as this one. Mine was excellent as well and the extra bacon was crisp and generous.
We also appreciated the very friendly and accommodating staff as well as the reasonable prices.
In fact we liked it so much that we returned for breakfast the next morning. We were very pleased with the three egg and smoked salmon Leftcoast omelette and the made to order BLT for me (with bacon of course).
I only wish that we lived in the area and so could return again and again to Lefty's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank note2denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lefty's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing