We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot believe this is the top rated restaurant in Parksville”
Review of Lefty's Restaurant

Lefty's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Purveyors of Leftcoast fresh food for breakfast, lunch and dinner since 1996. As much as possible our meals are made to order and feature house made soups, sauces and scratch baked desserts. The place where 'It doesn't matter who's right!'
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Cannot believe this is the top rated restaurant in Parksville”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had been here previously and were very disappointed with the quality of the food and the service. Given the lack of restaurants and the excellent rating we decided to try again. It was no better. My salmon was totally raw in the centre, the gingerale was flat wrecking the rye. My husband had the ribs and they were basically tasteless. My daughters pizza was nothing special. We cannot figure out what all the hype is about. On top of that the service was slow and it was not that busy. With not being able to eat part of my meal because it was not cooked they were kind enough to give us a 50% off a second meal when you buy a meal in the future. What a joke. Not cheap either, both times our bill was $100. As the saying goes first time shame on them, second time shame on us, there will not be a third time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BCAdventurerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I apologize for your disappointing experience. We have addressed this circumstance with all those involved because we actually do care. As I have previously stated, we did not solicit number one status and so, of course, it is at the discretion of overall guest satisfaction. We accept responsibility for the good, the bad and the ugly and intend to always take the measures necessary to improve and, preferably, exceed our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    272
    77
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best pizza outside of Italy!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband, who is extremely fussy about his pizzas, was overwhelmed by the quality of the crust and toppings on our pizzas we ordered (he had the meglio de pepperoni and I had the mediterrano with added bacon). Not since last year's trip to Italy has he raved about a pizza as much as this one. Mine was excellent as well and the extra bacon was crisp and generous.
We also appreciated the very friendly and accommodating staff as well as the reasonable prices.
In fact we liked it so much that we returned for breakfast the next morning. We were very pleased with the three egg and smoked salmon Leftcoast omelette and the made to order BLT for me (with bacon of course).
I only wish that we lived in the area and so could return again and again to Lefty's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank note2denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“The greatest Restaurant in Parksville!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited the restaurant three times, and each time we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service. The Rib dinner was awesome. And the best pizza ever. Also want to add accolades to a couple of the staff members - Shea and Rachelle who provided excellent service, were extremely attentive to our requests and hence because of them we returned to dine there 3 times in our last week of vacation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Do NOT have Thai Peanut Stirfry”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This stirfry just used peanut butter mixed with a little soy sauce for the Thai peanut sauce. It literally tastes like melted peanut butter. Very disappointed as the pizza and pies are very good

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't order the ribs.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is generally one of my favorite restaurants but last night I tried the ribs. The back strap was not pulled off the ribs, and they were tough. Flavor of the sauce was Ok but not fantastic. Until they change the process of how they cook and prepare the ribs, simply do not order them. The rating is still a 4. Last night it would be about a 3.5 but I rounded to a 4 from previous visits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lefty's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing