We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, family fun!”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Affordable, family fun!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Clean, friendly staff, the pool, hot tub and grounds were lovely. The unit was comfortable and my family could relax. One improvement suggested: the playground was a disappointment for our 7 year old. Definitely only for pre-schoolers!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sadashouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    131
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
256
145
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Would go there again, any time. We went with the family, ( 3 teenagers) We all loved it!!
We had a ocean front 2 bedroom room(111). A full kitchen, so If you like you can make your own meal. Pool on side, everything you need was available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights during the BC Summer Games. The place is a little outdated but the gorgeous view makes up for it. The pool closes way too early, should at least be open for adults past 9:30 pm. Price was okay but wish we had 2 bathrooms since it slept 6 people. Very friendly staff

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Awesome super friendly and accomating service. Great beach front rooms for the price. Not super fancy but comfortable and perfect for our family. Beach front room was awesome but a little cozy to the Neighbours. Pool side rooms great had a bit of ocean front view, rooms on second floor was pretty warm. Front desk did provide us with fans and cooled off a bit. The poolside ground floor rooms would be cooler and no stairs. Would stay again as was affordable and great time.

Room Tip: Beach front room was awesome but a little cozy to the Neighbours. Pool side rooms great had a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paulandsarah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We lucked out and booked 6 nights in an oceanfront room (207). The room was very clean, and had everything we needed to BBQ and cook meals. Beds were comfy and I read other people reviewing that the decor was dated in some units - I found it just great. We barely spent time in the room anyway so having a comfy bed, couch and large kitchen table was perfect. The view was gorgeous from our room!! Coffee every morning on the balcony was a special treat. We had easy access to the beach and the tide was an awe inspiring experience! I also want to say that the managers Kristy and Darcy were so lovely and kind. You can tell they work so hard to keep their guests happy and comfortable. Next summer I'm hoping we can book for two weeks. There is so much to do in Parksville, it's a little piece of paradise. Thanks again Kristy and Darcy - what a great week we had. I just wished we could have stayed a little longer. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummiest_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Having come to the island and needing a place for a long stay while finding a place to live we visited many locations and chose Ocean Sands Resort. - the best choice by far. We were very pleased with the support and welcome, the locale, service and amenities . For us it could not have been better and made our start on the island terrific . The close proximity to all that the area had to offer and being on the shore was just everything we needed. Our 3 plus month stay was great and we certainly appreciated the warmth, professionalism and support from Christy and Darcy ( and of course there was Marshall and Meadow !! ).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rewin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent spot for seniors with older children. We found many places close by we all enjoyed - Milner Garden - Wildlife Recovery Centre (little ones would have fun too at both!) - Mount Washington, Englishman's Falls, Sprout Lake fishing, and walks on the beach. View was fabulous and so were our hosts.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DON K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
530 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
236 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing