We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Nice spot with lovely views. Excellent value for money. Pleasant staff. Spacious upstairs two bedroom suite. Good location from which to explore Qualicom Falls and Horne Lake Caves. Short beach walk to a lovely park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GavLou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 516 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We travelled in late January- early February and found this place by luck. We rented a two bedroom rental unit. The unit was very clean and nicely laid out, warm and cosy (they started the fireplace early for us so once we checked it, it was warmed up). The location is quiet, just on the edge of Parksville and my parents with limited mobility had no problem making it down to the beach. The suite was well laid out; the kitchen had blenders, toasters, etc., perfect for cooking when the mood moved us. The owners are very helpful and responsive, ready to fix anything or ask questions. I will be back!

Room Tip: Some suites are ground level, perfect for mobility challenged people. There is also an elevator down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was in Parksville in early January on personal business and happened by chance onto Ocean Sands site. I have stayed in different hotels in the area in the off season and had not been impressed with what was available. On reading and contacting Ocean Sands I was very pleasantly surprised by the condo suite they had available which was comparably priced to hotels in the town. The suite was immaculately clean, very well furnished with two leather love seats, a complete kitchen suite with a full size fridge, oven, microwave and all the cutlery and utensils for a very comfortable stay. The fact that there was a great dishwasher under the counter was an added bonus. I was impressed when I got there as it was a cold rainy night and they already had the gas fireplace going so it made for a cheerful beginning. The bathroom was clean and fully functional while the queen size bed in the MB was very comfortable. The 2nd bedroom had two single beds in it but never used them. The kitchen had a large table with 6 chairs and I used it nightly to work at. The lighting was on a dimmer and it was very bright when required and turned down nicely when not required to be bright. There was a gas BBQ out the patio doors but I never used it as it was drizzling most nights when I got back to the suite. I travel a fair bit and I think this was a FANTASTIC DEAL and my only regret was that I have not used it in the past. I will definitely do so again. Thanks for a great 10 day stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We (2 adults) stayed in Unit 309 from January 20th to 26th, 2014, and really enjoyed our time there. The condo type unit is on the ground level, one bedroom, with a small hill down to the beach. The unit has large windows with spectacular views of the ocean. We are from the prairies, so that was a treat for us, and we took lots of photos. When the tide is out, you can walk a long way, at least 600 metres. We saw lots of birds including 2 bald eagles on the tidal area. The unit is very spacious with a fireplace, full kitchen and was clean and comfortable. On our patio area there was a quality BBQ which was a nice touch. We found the king size bed a bit hard, but management was very helpful and fixed that immediately by putting a memory foam topper on the bed. We heard some noise from upstairs, but mostly it was very quiet which we really appreciated. There is a small provincial park nearby so we went for many walks along the beach and then into the Park. Parksville is also an easy walk, about 2 km or so. We arrived a bit stressed from busy work schedules and found Ocean Sands a great place to relax and unwind, and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: The ocean front units have a great view. For the ocean front area, the ground level is "3"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Art P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We enjoyed ourselves and particularly appreciated the down-home friendly helpful managers who offered beach toys to my kids and movies to borrow. The units overlook a large grassy field and swing set which the kids really enjoyed and its only a short walk to the beach. Our 2 bedroom units was perfect for us, clean, modern and well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Blue River R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in the studio apartment without the jacuzzi. The room, furnishings etc were a little worn around the edges, but everything was clean and comfortable. That particular unit could use some updating and a little tlc. It is also right beside the path leading to the beach, so we often had people walking right past our windows.

Having said all that, we were satisfied with our accommodation. It was quite reasonably priced and pretty much what we expected. The hot tub and sauna were nice, and the grounds of the resort are lovely and obviously well cared for. We would consider staying there again, but would choose the other studio next time simply for the extra privacy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We regularly visit Ocean Sands in the offseason and always have a wonderful time. We get one of the condo units right on the waterfront. They are simple, clean and the views are spectacular. The fireplace is always a nice touch. We have never ever been troubled by noisy neighbours.the units are pretty much trouble free but when there has been any sort of an issue a one quick call to the front desk and Darcy or Christie are there in minutes taking care of it.
We love this place and will likely return for many years to come.

Room Tip: If you want the best views ask for a room one the first floor if available because the floors are nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yukoner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
569 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,522 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Parksville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $96 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing