We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view, great staff, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great view, great staff, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed in other resorts on this beach. Ocean Sands offers all I could want and is very competitively priced . It is now my choice of the resorts along the beach. Staff was very helpful and approachable. The grounds well kept. Breathtaking views, quiet and relaxing.
The bathroom could have used a fresh coat of paint and there was a little mildew on the ceiling of the shower.
I am looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    127
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
236
142
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a great getaway. We booked an oceanfront condo and it was well worth it. We walked onto the beach and the beach went on for miles at low tide. There were sand dollars and shells and warm tide pools. It was relaxing and still great fun for the kids. The view from the living room was picture perfect. My youngest child actually thought this was better than going to Hawaii.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The condo had every necessity for a family holiday and was spacious, clean and comfortable. Well tended grassy lawns, a small playground and pool are readily accessible. An elevator is available that can take the family down to a short walkway to the beach...and what a beach. Miles of sand for the kids to romp and buils castles. The staff was friendly and helpful. highly recommend for a great family vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caesar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely self contained condos. Good size lap pool, and close to lots of activities. Our condo was clean, modern and well designed. The gadgets were a source of irritation, nothing was simple not even the air conditioning. It was a lovely place,very clean. It would have been nice to have laundry , dishwasher detergent there. However not sure if that was the owner or just the previous renter. The condo did have all the other amenities and the location is easy access to activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noarmchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this family friendly resort. Good value for money and a beautiful location. Spent hours on the beach and it's close to lots of other places to visit and things to do. The kids loved the pool too. Bring outdoor games as the open grass area is great for soccer, volleyball, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just spent a family vacation at Ocean Sands, what a special place...
We were in a 2 bedroom ocean front unit which had plenty of room for 4 of us, was well kept up and very clean.
The view from our private sundeck was nothing short of spectacular, miles and miles of beach!
Our grand-daughter made good use of the pool.
No hesitation in recommending this property

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OMB7939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Ocean Sands. The managers were very accommodating. There were young kids everywhere! It was very quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended for families. Our unit was clean and well kept up. There are a tonne of activities for children, including skim-boarding, swimming, digging for clams, and walking the beach.

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Intorontoforaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing