We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed twice: Thanksgiving and Christmas Breaks. We entertained family comfortably as the units we rented were both spacious, well furnished, comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed for cooking. Upon arrival we were even assured if the kitchen was missing anything to call the resident managers who would be able to help. We had beautiful views and enjoyed the incredible nature at Rathtrevor beach close by. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 518 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here (2 families of 4) on 30/31 December 2012. Rented 111 and 113. Both units were adequately sized and well furnished. 2 bedrooms had comfy beds, bathroom was fine, and kitchenette fully equipped for our stay. Plenty of space for our 'stuff'.Room was clean, quiet, warm and comfy. View from the apartment was fabulous - unobstructed view of the ocean, beach and distant coastal mountains. Easy access to a wonderful sandy beach and 15 minute stroll to Rathtrevor. Downtown Parksville was a 5 minute drive. Didn't use the facility's pool or hot tub. Owner's loaned us their baby monitor which was much appreciated. Great value - would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

There are six resorts right on the water South of Parksville and Rathtravor Provincial Park. Ocean Sands is one of these resorts. Four of the resorts have a sandy beach right out front while Ocean Sands and another resort do not and you have to walk a short distance over rocks to get to the sand.
At Ocean Sands there is a lower three storey building close to the water and then several other smaller buildings on the ridge further from the ocean. We had reserved a studio unit in the building right close to the water but when we arrived we found out the unit did not have a kitchen . There was a microwave and a small bar fridge but no stove,dishes, sink, etc. ( We had planned on making several of our meals in the unit so we were shown another unit in a smaller building further from the ocean that had a full kitchen and which cost more money). This unit was excellent. It was fully equipped , large, clean, a good bed,etc.,etc.The only thing I would improve is the shower and to make shampoo available.
The disappointing part is that on our last night in this quite tranquil setting, we had someone move into the unit right above us. We could hear every footstep and every water noise. There is no soundproofing between floors. We were even awakened at 2:30 a.m. with the noise upstairs as the person walked around. The units on the upper ridge were only about 10% occupied and here we were having the misfortune of having someone in our same building.
During the off season the pool is closed as it is outdoors but the sauna and hot tub are available in an enclosed building. Check in and check out worked well and was efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Ocean Sands and had a great time. We each had a massage at the on-site spa. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to take care of us. The room was neat and clean. We have no complaints will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lothar_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently spent a week at Ocean Sands in blustery, "wet coast" weather and it was great. Clean, comfortable condo overlooking Craig Bay, long walks on the beach or under the trees at neighbouring Rathtrevor Park, warming up in front of a fireplace. Reasonably priced and well maintained. We'll go back again.

Room Tip: overlooking the water is worth a few bucks extra, especially in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were in Parksville putting on an art show for my wife, Jill Louise Campbell so did not get the ocean front room (there was a tsunami warning that night as it turned out). Our small condo type unit was OK but beds pretty hard. The two staff we met were on the bubbly side. I might try one of the Ocean front rooms next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

room 206 has the best view- a bit older decor, but its amazing -sleeps 6 pple no problem
Darcy and Kristy are Amazing and the hot tub rocks,, so close to town for food, shopping etc etc,,, wow wow wow

Room Tip: 206 best view- sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
571 reviews
3 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#2 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $96 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing