We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pretty, friendly resort with a spectacular view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pretty, friendly resort with a spectacular view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We just love this resort! We have stayed in both oceanfront and poolside units and really enjoyed both. The oceanfront units have a spectacular view! We stayed in the poolside units this last time and it was perfect to be so close to the pool in summertime with children. The units have everything that you need! The ones that we have stayed in have been recently renovated and they were quite nice. It was also great to be right next door to the Tigh-Na-Mara, which is the nicest spa that I've been to. You are a few minute walk to the spa from Oceansands, but you're paying a fraction of the cost of staying at the Tigh-Na-Mara. The front desk is run by a really nice family who were always friendly and accomodating. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures of the units online to pick a remodled one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcwinter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    125
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
234
139
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I took our two young children to Ocean Sands and we had a wonderful time...highlights for us were the pool, being close to nature (deer, bunnies, eagles), the beach where my son loved digging with his toys and flying his kite, and of course, the view! We also appreciated the spacious units, simple, yet tastefully decorated...a great home base for exploring Parksville. I loved the full kitchen and the staff there are also very helpful and friendly... we definitely want to go back! Families seem to have the units closer to the pool, and while the sound of kids playing does carry a bit, they are usually gone by 8 and the pool closes around then anyways. Couples and seniors may find the units directly facing the ocean more quiet, but it really was not a problem for us where we were. In June in BC, the sun rises very early (5:45), so we brought cardboard to black out our baby's room so he wouldn't wake up early...I'm glad we did! All in all, a very good trip, looking forward to going back.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lullabuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Was not informed until we arrived that the pool and hot tub were both not available. While we were staying our dishwasher started leaking everywhere, and we ended up having to switch rooms. It took us an hour to move our stuff as we had unpacked for a 5 day stay, and we were not offered any compensation for the hassle of having to do so.

You are required to pay up front, probably because at the end of your stay you don't feel like paying.

It is noisy in the condos, you can hear the people above you walking around. For daily housekeeping costs $25 a day, which is not mentioned until your confirmation email- after you book, and to cancel requires 30 days notice.

Would not stay here again. The view was lovely, but there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SunkizzedSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanSandsResort, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Ocean Sands Resort made a decision to open the pool later this year due to the predicted poor weather and lack of use last year between May long-weekend and when the kids get out of school at the end of June. The opening dates are clearly posted on the web site as well as included in the reservation confirmation sent to every guest upon booking. The hot tub was open during the guests stay and I am unclear as to why they thought it was unavailable.

The guests reported the leaking dishwasher to our front desk staff. The front desk staff told the guests that we would immediately send over our maintenance staff to have a look. The guests declined having the maintenance staff enter their unit. Therefore, the front desk staff upgraded the guests to an oceanfront condo from their poolside condo to try and accommodate them.

We do not offer daily housekeeping in our advertised rates as we prefer to give our guests the option of having the daily housekeeping or saving the money. Most our guests prefer to save the money. This again is clearly posted on the web page as well as included in the reservation confirmation sent to each guest upon booking. It is because of this, we can offer the rates of $50/Night for a Two Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen, which is the rate these guests paid.

Our cancellation policy is actually 72 hours prior to check-in, which again is clearly posted on our web page as well as included in the reservation confirmation sent to each guest upon booking. Our cancellation policy is only 30 days during the peak summer season, which is pretty standard with our competitors in the area.

It is great to see they did enjoy the amazing views we have at the resort, which is the main reason guests decide to stay with us here at Ocean Sands Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

stayed for 3 nights in ocean view 2 bedroom. thoroughly enjoyed the view, watching the people enjoy the water or the tide pools when the tide was out. the water was quite warm which i think is probably because it is very shallow. there was a fire ban in place but when these are lifted, you can have a fire on the beach. kitchen facilities were great. no bbqs with the ocean view rooms.
didn't really enjoy the pool as it was very small and was packed with kids. but, if i had kids, i think i'd choose one of the pool view units. there were many parents that were enjoying sitting in the grassy area while the kids were in the pool. for couples without kids or just adults travelling together, i would definitly recommend the ocean view rooms. quieter but the pool is still just a short walk away.
staff was excellant and the general atmosphere of the resort was relaxed and enjoyable. if you like 5 star type service, and modern, new rooms, this may not be the place for you but i will definitly return if i'm in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our two kids and it was great. We had a view of the beach and of the pool from our second floor unit. The units are a decent size (not huge, but room enough for everyone) and they are well stocked with everything you need to cook with, including a bbq on the deck. The decor is functional and what you would expect from a condo rental. They units are all privately owned so the decor varies from room to room. You can see each room, including the views, on the Ocean Sands website. The ocean front units looked terrific -- they have incredible views out over the beach. We would have chosen those units, but we booked last minute and there was only one room left, but we were not disappointed. An added bonus was how friendly the woman was at check in. It started our stay off on the right foot. Having had a very bad experience at Ocean Trails earlier in the summer (do not waste your money there), we were very happy with our stay at Ocean Sands and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

My sister and I stayed 3 nights here. Lovely ocean views, great walks on the beach below in low tide and a good, shallow place to swim in high tide. Tide goes out a LONG way here so it is easy to walk a great distance from this resort on the beach in low tide.
The beach is about a 1 minute walk down an inclined walkway so it may not be that accesible for those with mobility issues.
Condo was basic but clean, with good seperation between the 2 bedrooms. As people are walking by the walkway outside the bedrooms windows, we had our bedroom curtains and windows shut to feel safe.....wished we could have left the bedroom window open for breeze but there was good breeze from the ocean side so not a problem.

Pool is small and was busy with kids when we went there. This is a good resort for families, who can stay in units by the pool with lots of grassy area for the little ones. Yes, it may be a little dated and you can hear others walking by or on their balcony but it did not seem to be a problem for us. The views make up for it , at least from unit 113.

We had a minor technical problem in our unit on the 2nd night and Tim was there in 5 minutes flat to help us out, Tim and Kristy, staff, were extremely pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

I would happily return to this lovely spot in Parksville.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolann1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

I don't usually leave feedback but I felt compelled to rave about this place. With 3 young kids, we thought this weekend was excellent. We are literally 100 ft from Tigh-na-mara. or twice the price, you get more. Our kitchen had a oven, stove, full fridge, dishwasher, vacuum when the kids trekked in sand. We stayed at 216 which from the pictures did not dissappoint. There is an elevator which we used to easily move our bags in. Tim at the front desk was VERY accomodating, always able to provide extra dishwasher tablets, plastic bags. They recycle paper, plastic, metal and glass which other facilities do not. Everyday our kids would walk downhill 5 minutes to the beach. our suite was very clean. Fridge looked like it was cleaned frequently and extra towels were always available. We had friends who stayed at Tigh-na-mara and they paid twice as much. our place was bigger and much brighter. Security was never a problem with special codes to get in and out. $1.25 (5 quarters) for a wash and dryer, important. The pictures at their website are recent and descriptions are accurate. Staff was professional. Grounds were well manicured. Bring a kite for kids and lots of beach toys. Fire place in the suite will keep you warm at night. Bring stuff to BBQ.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rutwalul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Ocean Trails Resort
Ocean Trails Resort
#1 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing