We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room - big view”
Review of Sea Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Edge Motel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed two nights during our annual road trip. The motel is older, and the rooms are small, but the setting is lovely, with a great view across the Strait of Georgia. The rooms are equipped with kitchenettes so would be suitable for a longer stay of a couple who don't need a large suite.

Room Tip: One has access to a patio and picnic table in the ground level rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Sea Edge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've just returned from my fourth stay in as many years at the Sea Edge Motel in Parksville. While it is an older establishment and lacks some of the amenities of the newer resorts south of the town, its location directly on one of the finest recreational beaches on Vancouver Island and immediately adjacent to Parksville's centre, together with the friendliness of the staff and the overall comfort of the rooms makes it an ideal location for a family vacation. Yes, the sound of children playing on the beach or on the lawn can be a bit intrusive at times but we were all kids once (and my family brought me to this beach back in the 1950's so any visit brings back numerous memories). A thoroughly worthwhile destination!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper story to take full advantage of the view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a lovely trip to Parksville and stayed in the Sea Edge Motel once again. The views are stunning whether you are on the ground floor or the top floor. Nice kitchenette, with everything that a person would need. The bed is very comfortable and has a huge full bathroom. If you stay on the ground floor there is a nice picnic table and deck chairs on your patio, upstairs rooms have lovely balconies. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend!!!! Fantastic play are for children and great fire pits.

Room Tip: Great for families, with easy access to the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our unit had an incredibly comfortable bed, a two burner stove and a fridge and a microwave. Free internet was also a plus, everything was just great!! There is no swimming pool or fitness room, my mistake. The place is set right on the ocean and every room has an ocean view. Location, a short, easy uphill walk puts you on the edge of the down town shops and food choices. If you are hiding out for a few days, this is the place.

Room Tip: There was a little seafood place just up the hill and across the street, tasted great and lets not f...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our family held a three day get together in Parksville in September and chose the Sea Edge as their units are right on the beach. What a great choice. The rooms are basic but had everything we needed including a small kitchen. The proximity to the beach meant the kids could walk out the sliding doors right onto the sand. The motel is within easy walking distance to all amenities as well as one of the largest and best equipped public playgrounds we have ever seen. If you want clean family type accommodations on one of the best west coast beaches, this place fits the bill nicely

Room Tip: If you have small kids, go for the ground floor units.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sea Edge Motel on a family visit to Parksville. I had been going on and off since I was a kid becasue the location is absolutely fantastic on the beach! The only place on Parksville beach with an uninterupted view of the beach AND easy access, which means that it's noisy at night if people are partying outside.

We booked into a studio suite. The room was, as they say on travel shows, adequate, clean and basic it had a kitchenette. We made our breakfast in the room & were able to have leftovers from dining out, since there was also a fridge.

The people working at the hotel were fine, but not especially friendly. When we had trouble opening the pull out bed & requested assistance, the desk clerk wasn't able to help us out and no one was on hand from maintenance. Eventually, after lots of pulling & tugging by two adults, we could open the bed for our daughter. It was just as hard putting it back each day so that we could have room! Likely we'll look at a cabin or bigger room next time.

Value-wise, it was pretty expensive - you literally pay for the beach view & location and a kitchenette. There are other hotels nearby which are similiarly price but are either not on the beach or don't have a kitchenette. Beach Club next door is also really expensive, so in comparison, I guess it was within the range. We had stayed three years ago for about two thirds the price......inflation!!

If you want the beach at your doorstep, it's a fantastic location. The rooms are nothing special, in fact the place is looking a bit sad, individual steps split and furniture fabric worn.

A 2 star hotel with a 5 star view.

Room Tip: If you want a full kitchen consider the Driftwood 3 room cabin unit ... especially in the off season...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriafoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Over $200 night for an old motel room, few amenities, old carpets, bedcovers and pillows. There was a smell of garbage in one area we had to pass to get to our room.

Check in time is 4pm ... Which is not at all convenient unless you're just going there to sleep (in which case, you don't much care about being on the beach). Worse still, our room was not accessible until about 5:30 pm. Will in future spend about the same amount to stay at the new,modern place next door, or Tigh na Mara. If there was better service and garbage clean up, Sea Edge would be reasonable at $100 - $120 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#11 of 13 in Parksville
128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Edge Motel

Address: 209 West Island Highway | PO Box 209, Parksville, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2G4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $56 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sea Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Edge Motel Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing