We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for a relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madrona Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madrona Beach Resort
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Madrona Beach Resort in Parksville, BC is a great place to get away and just relax. My wife and I spent a week here including New Years Eve. The resort is clean, comfortable and affordable especially in the off season. For New Years Eve we were able to sit in the comfort of our condo and watch all the fireworks around the bay. You are steps away from a spa and other comforts that Madrona does not provide. I recommend that you visit here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 543Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just getting ready to check-out after 9 days here at the Madrona Resort! I stayed in 18b which is a one bedroom with a full kitchen. My whole stay here has been exceptionally quiet, being near the beach, and away from traffic you enjoy ocean, wind, and birds...the resort is far back from the road- and it is great!

Access to the beach, if staying slightly " above" such as the unit I am in, is a 3 minute walk down some fairly steep stairs and ramp- if there are mobility issues I believe there is a milder way at other end of parking lot. Once down the ramps you are on the beach! You are 2/3 minutes from Rathtrevor Provincial Park- which is beautiful ( having camped there my whole life).

The room: the bedroom is large enough for two, I stayed by myself; the bed is comfy, sheets are soft and cozy, there is a blanket if you get cold. I did bring my own pillow and blanket for the couch as you never know! Lovely falling asleep with the sound of the ocean. There is enough storage for clothes- not enough hangers though I found.

The living room: The couch was comfy enough, the tv is ok size, channels are limited but how much t.v is one watching while up here? Patio opens up to beautiful ocean view. The kitchen- basics are here- if you require non basics bring your own! They supply soap, etc but if you are planning on preparing meals here you need some of your own items. Fridge is a good size, table seats 4.

Bathroom: clean, tidy, bright. The shower is good- good water pressure and heat- thankfully no issues :)

Location : I am here for a 9 day course at the University, which took roughly ten minutes and took me through town while doing so. The drive to ' downtown" Parksville is fast, easy, straightforward!

There are EVERY type of amenities, restaurants, and shops one would need.

The Madrona staff are very helpful, pleasant, and unobtrusive.

There is a cute little playground area for kids that is well marked and on the way to the beach path.

I would most definitely stay here again! Although here in December, I would love to return in warmer seasons to fully enjoy the beach and summer fun!

This isn't luxury accommodation folks- it is nice, clean,well appointed, well kept, well priced, comfortable ( quite).

There is onsite laundry room one can use as well.

There is no on site/ or close Coffee/ restaurant attached. That being said a quick 3 minute drive offers you many options. I was quite content with the location of everything- much preferring the quiet and peace over having Starbucks within reach!!

Great place for getaway and especially a longer one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in a beach level unit. Some are in better shape than others. Due to being close to the beach you should not expect super clean units. Ours had missing or broken kitchen pieces, broken downstairs shower, missing window screens and blinds that worked ok. Reporting the problems saw a quick response and repair.

Regardless of problems the location generally trumps most problems/concerns. Even though units are getting noticeably well worn I would not stay elsewhere else around here especially if you have kids.

The service here is mostly excellent with staff going out of their way to make your stay comfortable. There are beach stuff to borrow and plenty of towels.

This Resort is situated on Rathtrevor Beach which is the best family beach in Western Canada. There is easy acces to shopping and other touristy areas on Vancouver Island. It is accessible by car/ ferry and air. Comox and Nanaimo both have nearby air service. I visited the website IWantToFish to look for local fishing charters out of Port Alberni and French Creek marina.

You should know than on the beach level it can be noisy and hard to sleep at night with late night parties. You usually need to keep windows open upstairs to have a cool breeze in July and August.

Beach level condo units would be wise to put bunk beds back in the kids room. Master has a queen and not much room for much else. I would renovate and extend the master over the 2nd floor balcony. No one uses the balcony when you can sit on the beach. Our unit had a sofa bed downstairs but I rarely find them comfortable for an adult. Kids are ok.

If you find a renovated unit I would rank it 4.5/5. For the quality of most units they are expensive. It is cheaper to vacation in Hawaii than fly and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundancetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were looking for an overnight stay between Salt Spring Island and Tofino and this property was just what we were looking for. It was "value season" (at least for Parksville) and we got a queen bed studio unit (19B) for a good rate. The unit itself was a bit cramped even for two people nonetheless we were quite comfortable. There was a kitchenette, small sofa and a small flat screen TV in the main room and just enough room in the bedroom for the queen bed.
As other reviews have indicated, this property is on the water along with a number of other resorts and condos. From the balcony you can gaze at the water and when the tide is out, lots of birds (I counted 197 Canada Geese in front in the morning). Access to the beach and nearby provincial park is via a somewhat steep ramp (unless you choose a unit on the water).
I imagine the whole place could be quite busy in peak season but in September it was nicely quiet. The staff were friendly and kind of laid back - like they were immensely glad summer was over. They also provided good information on where to access trails and walks.

Room Tip: The units on the ridge are less expensive but still provide a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed 2 nites in a 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen in Sept....Had my own patio & looked out over the ocean... all the units are ocean view. Very comfortable & quiet. Close to beach so was able to go walking... the tide goes out for a long distance, and walking on the sand is delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JuLa1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is our third visit and this time we rented a 2 bedroom right on the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable but require a little updating, blinds microwave and dishwasher. The location is excellent with terrific views of the ocean. We did enjoy our 6 night stay.

Room Tip: My wife enjoyed the upper units more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our group rented 3 beach-front units and a couple of one-bedroom units up on the ridge overlooking the ocean. We shared meals, roasted marshmallows, walked on the beach, barbecued, gathered up our plastic chairs and sat on each other's patios drinking wine and laughing, and generally made ourselves completely at home. This was perfect spot to get re-acquainted and hang out. Kitchens are well equipped and units are spacious enough that you are not on top of each other. Bedrooms are tiny, but not uncomfortable. Service was fine - unobtrusive, and the office staff was really helpful to those who needed to make last-minute changes. The shoulder season pricing was an added benefit, which really clinched the deal. We would all definitely come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyJean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Trails Resort
Ocean Trails Resort
#1 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrona Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Beach Resort

Property: Madrona Beach Resort
Address: 22-1145 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Madrona Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Beach Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing