We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location but getting dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madrona Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous location but getting dated”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in a beach level unit. Some are in better shape than others. Due to being close to the beach you should not expect super clean units. Ours had missing or broken kitchen pieces, broken downstairs shower, missing window screens and blinds that worked ok. Reporting the problems saw a quick response and repair.

Regardless of problems the location generally trumps most problems/concerns. Even though units are getting noticeably well worn I would not stay elsewhere else around here especially if you have kids.

The service here is mostly excellent with staff going out of their way to make your stay comfortable. There are beach stuff to borrow and plenty of towels.

This Resort is situated on Rathtrevor Beach which is the best family beach in Western Canada. There is easy acces to shopping and other touristy areas on Vancouver Island. It is accessible by car/ ferry and air. Comox and Nanaimo both have nearby air service. I visited the website IWantToFish to look for local fishing charters out of Port Alberni and French Creek marina.

You should know than on the beach level it can be noisy and hard to sleep at night with late night parties. You usually need to keep windows open upstairs to have a cool breeze in July and August.

Beach level condo units would be wise to put bunk beds back in the kids room. Master has a queen and not much room for much else. I would renovate and extend the master over the 2nd floor balcony. No one uses the balcony when you can sit on the beach. Our unit had a sofa bed downstairs but I rarely find them comfortable for an adult. Kids are ok.

If you find a renovated unit I would rank it 4.5/5. For the quality of most units they are expensive. It is cheaper to vacation in Hawaii than fly and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundancetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were looking for an overnight stay between Salt Spring Island and Tofino and this property was just what we were looking for. It was "value season" (at least for Parksville) and we got a queen bed studio unit (19B) for a good rate. The unit itself was a bit cramped even for two people nonetheless we were quite comfortable. There was a kitchenette, small sofa and a small flat screen TV in the main room and just enough room in the bedroom for the queen bed.
As other reviews have indicated, this property is on the water along with a number of other resorts and condos. From the balcony you can gaze at the water and when the tide is out, lots of birds (I counted 197 Canada Geese in front in the morning). Access to the beach and nearby provincial park is via a somewhat steep ramp (unless you choose a unit on the water).
I imagine the whole place could be quite busy in peak season but in September it was nicely quiet. The staff were friendly and kind of laid back - like they were immensely glad summer was over. They also provided good information on where to access trails and walks.

Room Tip: The units on the ridge are less expensive but still provide a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed 2 nites in a 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen in Sept....Had my own patio & looked out over the ocean... all the units are ocean view. Very comfortable & quiet. Close to beach so was able to go walking... the tide goes out for a long distance, and walking on the sand is delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JuLa1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is our third visit and this time we rented a 2 bedroom right on the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable but require a little updating, blinds microwave and dishwasher. The location is excellent with terrific views of the ocean. We did enjoy our 6 night stay.

Room Tip: My wife enjoyed the upper units more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our group rented 3 beach-front units and a couple of one-bedroom units up on the ridge overlooking the ocean. We shared meals, roasted marshmallows, walked on the beach, barbecued, gathered up our plastic chairs and sat on each other's patios drinking wine and laughing, and generally made ourselves completely at home. This was perfect spot to get re-acquainted and hang out. Kitchens are well equipped and units are spacious enough that you are not on top of each other. Bedrooms are tiny, but not uncomfortable. Service was fine - unobtrusive, and the office staff was really helpful to those who needed to make last-minute changes. The shoulder season pricing was an added benefit, which really clinched the deal. We would all definitely come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyJean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

When I was young, my family visited Madrona Beach Resort each summer for about 12 years. As a child, this was the highlight of my summer. Ten years later, I am writing this review after coming to stay again at Madrona Beach with my boyfriend. My childhood memories have not faded, and neither has the beauty and excitement of this place.

Madrona Beach Resort is situated on Rathtrevor Beach, with half of the units located on the bluff (Ocean View) and half located on the beach. Beach units are perfect for families of 4+ because they are two-level, and have separate bedrooms. Throughout my recent stay (Aug 27-30, 2013) I observed many families enjoying these units. A full kitchen, dining room, and living room allow for a comfortable and cost effective holiday. These units have BBQs and patios, with a large green lawn. You can simply walk across the lawn and you are on the beach. There are also firepits for roasting marshmallows and smokies in the evening. Most units also have a wood-burning fireplace, and you will receive a complementary log upon check-in.

Ocean view units have the same amenities, without direct beach access. You must walk down a ramp to the beach (in my opinion, difficult for seniors - take your car and drive it down to beach level instead). "A" units are ground floor with a studio layout, and "B" units are one-bedroom upper level with a small deck.

Overall, units are clean and homey. Beds are comfortable, and extra pillows/blankets are provided. Lovely flat screen tv's with DVD/VHS players in each unit. Kitchens are fully equipped, but bring your own condiments or be prepared to purchase at "Thrifty's" in the town of Parksville. Also feel free to bring your own inflatable toys, badminton rackets, volleyball, baseball, etc. Fun extras like kites can be purchase at dollar store in town.

This is a beautiful, safe, and comfortable place for families and/or couples to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Madrona sits on the prime location on the most beautiful beach on Vancouver Island. Over a 12 hours period, we were able to watch the tide go out more than a kilometer, revealing acres of sandy beach and tidal pools teeming with life. We had family staying in both beach and ridge units. The units themselves are beautiful - the owners have clearly spent a lot of money upgrading the units, which are roomy and have all the amenities. Staff and management are extremely friendly and professional. While we were initially concerned about the lack of a pool or restaurant, we were delighted to discover a restaurant and several coffee shops within walking distance, and a pool we could swim in at a neighbouring resort for a small fee if we did not want to swim in the warm ocean (heated by the warm sand). We have stayed in all the resorts along the Parksville Beach over many years. Our stay at Madrona was by far the best of the lot.

One other thing for the reader of this review. Oftentimes when resorts advertise, the glossy photos make the resort look more appealing than it really is. This is one resort where the opposite is true. Their website photos do not come close to capturing the true beauty of the place, and I hope they can make the effort to do so. In the meantime, this is truly a hidden treasure! We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach unit or a Ridge A unit. If only ridge "B" units are available, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
529 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
474 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrona Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Beach Resort

Property: Madrona Beach Resort
Address: 22-1145 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madrona Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Beach Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing