We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a great little place to stop for a bite to eat”
Review of Avo's - CLOSED

Avo's
Price range: $9 - $15
Description: New contemporary restaurant with large outdoor patio in downtown Parksville (next to Starbucks)
Restaurant details
Description: New contemporary restaurant with large outdoor patio in downtown Parksville (next to Starbucks)
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“this is a great little place to stop for a bite to eat”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

after a scenic drive down island we stopped at avo's for a quick lunch. the fish taco was fabulous! a little kick of heat and perfectly cooked fish. the enchilada was also very tasty. the beans left a little to be desired (not homemade?) but the rice tasted really good. not sure what was on the enchilada plate, something like a sweet salsa but it was really , really delicious. large portions and good service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydney081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have found the food to be top notch 2nd only to the service. Our server Micki is always extremely considerate and attentive to us and our childs needs. Always brings our son toys as well as a special plate of avocado and mango slices perfect for his age (11mo). Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrible service and only so so food.”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Waited 45 minutes for our food at lunch. A customer who came in after us was served before us and was finished his meal before we even received our food. We were on a lunch break and didn't get back to the office in time. The staff seemed indifferent. The food was ok but nothing special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XQU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Questionable”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We went once and were very disappointed with teh service - were ignored - but should give it anpther chance.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cecil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I love avocados and guacamole, so I anticipated a really pleasurable meal at Avo's and was pleased when a colleague suggested that we try it out. Maybe I am spoiled, but you would think that a place specializing in avocados would do a good job of the same, wouldn't you? The tortilla chips were sourced from Costco (i.e. boring, half-stale) and the guacamole was unspectacular, to say the least. I did have something else for my meal, but I must say that it was bland and distinctly unmemorable. I was disappointed and I will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCBusinesswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avo's also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing