We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Good & the Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Good & the Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

My husband and I took a quick trip up to the Tigh-na-Mara in Parksville, BC for our 5th anniversary. We stayed 2 nights in the Jedidiah lodge & found the accomodations just OK.

If you are looking for something rustic, then this is the place for you. My only complaints with the actual room is that we found dead insects on the carpeting (they were still there even after the housekeeping came through) and that there was construction going on right by our room. Over the weekend the resort left out construction equipment, drywall and piles of gravel uncovered for everyone to see from their patios. Not the best view.

We absolutely loved both the Cedar Room restaurant & the Grotto Spa. For our next trip up to Parksville, rather than paying for a less than great room, we would prefer to go for a camping trip on the beach next door and go to the Grotto Spa for the day.

  • Liked — The restuarant & spa
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable bed & view of construction
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    540
    312
    139
    85
See reviews for
508
793
42
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

I have been in the tourism industry on Vancouver Island for over 20 years and am very familiar with the many resorts it has to offer. Tigh Na Mara resort was always being promoted as the best in Parksville. My husband and I decided to go up-Island (we live in Victoria) for a get-a-way. We chose Tigh-Na-Mara and wanted to be on the beach, but because we were travelling with our little dog, we had
no choice except to stay ina log cabin/cottage. We stayed in #416. We found out the next day after complaining that it is the oldest in the resort. Very tired, worn out, depressing, dark, dingy and unclean. We didn't even use the tub or shower because it was so small and gross looking. We awoke to the noise of trucks rumbling past because of all of the construction going on. This was NOT the soothing forest/ocean sounds we were hoping for. I would NEVER recommend the cabins to anyone, it wasn't even suitable for our dog, he hated it, I guess he sensed our displeasure. The restaurant was nice, food and service was great, one drawback was the loud rock music station that was playing. The walk to the beach was lovely and the beach was breathtaking. If you ever go, stay in the resort facing
the ocean, not the cabins. Very pricey for shoulder-season. $200.00 + $25.00 for our dog. They did waive that fee after I complained and I have to compliment the front desk staff who were very eager to please. We went to Tofino after that for 2 nights and stayed at the Long Beach Resort, what a difference! More money and worth it, and absolutely no comparison. The owners of Tigh Na Mara should visit so they can see what a real resort is like with cottages that have class
and style and appeal to modern travellers!

  • Disliked — Very old and worn-out
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bbqueenVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

I haven't been to Tigh-Na-Mara since I was a child and had a great time as we stayed in one of their log cabins last time.

Stayed in one of their Spa side bungalows...

Decided to try out the spa too while I was there. Felt so great after my treatment, we went up to the Tree Top restaurant in the spa for some tapas. Travelling from around the world I've had amazing cuisine, but was blown away by the food.

Staff was very accomodating and most of all the setting was very relaxing and quiet.

  • Liked — The Jacuzzi
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stationgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

My girlfriends and I booked the Desperate Housewives pkg. We had the best time ever. The room was beautiful with new furniture, the new pool was amazing. We are going to bring our families in the summer. The spa was incredible with the Endless Tapas! Everything was clean and the staff was so welcoming and friendly, everywhere we went the staff was accomodating. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we will see you in the summer!

  • Liked — the staff and the amazing spa
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

Located along a strip of shoreline, Tigh-na-mara offers a serenity that none other can compare. My window looked out onto the Georgia Straight, a pictoresque view of ocean water, mountains and a wide span of blue sky. In a few minutes, I was able to transplant myself from the vaulted ceiling room to the beach down below. I felt like I had finally come home when I took of my sandals and walked barefoot along the shore. The scent of ocean sprayed across the water, arriving with the gentle breeze that caressed my face. Shells, seaweeds and empty crabshells turned the morning into a childish game as I stepped, scooped and stored the newfound treasures into my pocket. Invigorated by my seaside explorations, I made my way through the tall cedar trees along the forested path to The Grotto. Within seconds of entering the spa building, I was overwhelmed by a sense of tranquility and calm. A stream of cascading water welcomed me on my way to the inner water sanctuary. To prepare for the mineral pool, I showered under a unique copperhead faucet reminiscent of ancient times. My mental pace began to diminish, as reluctant as my body was to slow down - slow down from the pace of living that modern life demands. I stepped into the warm waters of the healing bath and sunk into bliss. Floating and careening through the water steadily drew me into a deeper state of relaxation. My mind dreamed of cultures of people who, over the centuries, regularly returned to such sacred aqueous areas to rejuvenate and detoxify their bodies. The traditions of water therapy balance the body at all levels of existence - physical, emotional, mental and spiritual. Bathing in the mineral waters simply is similar to our sojourn in the saline waters of the womb awaiting birth. Upon leaving Tigh-na-mara, I felt reborn, full of new dreams and rekindled hope. I look forward to returning.

Helpful?
3 Thank serenityatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Girl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

My family (my spouse , 2 kids and our dog) just spent over a week at The Tigh-Na-Mara in a cozy log cabin. The resort was great! The staff were so helpful.The beach was amazing, I guess the pool has just been reopened after extensive reno's but was wonderful, what a great way for the kids to burn off that last little bit of energy before going for a great dinner at the restaurant.
We spent quaility time together with the TV off playing games and sitting around the fireplace. Just unwinding. We will definatley be returning. I recommend it highly.
We also met a nice couple who were there on their honeymoon. They had spent the day at The Spa and couldn't say enough about how amazed they were with the entire resort. Maybe next time we just might leave the kids at home ;)

  • Liked — The cabin, Very modern amenities but still felt like a rustic getaway
  • Disliked — No direct restaurant room service, they did offer to provide meals as a picnic though
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank theislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

My husband booked us here for my surprise 40th birthday. It was amazing, we stayed in a room that had a 180 degree view of the ocean. It was soooo romantic, we has a jacuzzi tub right beside our bed, and room was really nice. They told us they had just been renovated. I also had a massage in the spa, they should call it paradise. The staff were really great too. Ohhh they had also just opened thier pool, it was really nice. Maybe we'll come back with the kids.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — we had to leave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PictureKimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
63.8 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
36.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Property: Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Address: 1155 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#4 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing