We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely heavenly peaceful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My friend and I loved the mineral pool (would prefer the water way warmer) but not as much as the hot pool which was hot! The highlight was having a tappas lunch in our robes then going back into the water. Our rustic stay will be a fond warm memory.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

So happy you created some fond memories with your friend during your "absolutely heavenly peaceful stay" at Tigh-Na-Mara! No question our Dip and Dine package which combines access to our detoxifying Grotto Mineral Pool with our Treetop Restaurant's Endless Tapas experience (dining in your robe and slippers) is a very unique and memorable way to spend an afternoon!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were so looking forward to our two days here on our honeymoon trip to Western Canada all the way from Ireland. I'll start with the positive points. The spa was fantastic. The staff could not do enough for us. We had a couple's massage as a honeymoon treat. The standards in the spa are very high and the massage I got was first rate. The mineral spa is nice, but you have to pay to get into it if you are not getting a treatment. I wouldn't recommend paying into it separately. It's really just a pool. Not worth $39. We had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights and the service and food were both excellent. The cabin we were assigned for two nights was tiny; it was a two-bed, but you literally had to squeeze around the beds and we are not large people. The furniture had a very worn look and feel. I think upgrades are needed. I know that we could have gone to the front desk and asked for a better cabin but for such a short stay, it can be more detrimental to your overall experience to have to ask. To be honest, we told them when booking and upon check-in that it was our honeymoon and that we had travelled from Ireland, so you don't really expect to have to ask for a better room. I commented on this on checking-out, and management did indeed contact me for further information and issued a partial refund for the inconvenience. It was a nice gesture, however, I would have preferred to have had a great experience there instead.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littlepits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you Littelpits for your review. First things first - Congratulations on your recent wedding! How very exciting. I hope you enjoyed your BC honeymoon and thank you for allowing Tigh-Na-Mara to be a small part of your celebration.

Thank you for your generous praise regarding your spa and dining experiences. I'm thrilled to hear the staff could not do enough for you and that your loved your couples massages. The Grotto Mineral Pool is part of a larger experience designed to help our guests achieve a state of relaxation. As you said, it is included with all treatments booked at our spa. While you may pay for a 60 or 90-minute treatment, you are welcome to arrive an hour early, enjoy a detoxifying soak in our mineral & trace element-infused pool, then after your treatment you are welcome to remain in our lounge with complimentary fresh fruit and teas and/or enjoy another dip in our mineral pool - which is like a treatment in itself. So you can easily get a few hours of relaxation for the cost of a 1 hour treatment.

I am aware you were not as happy with your accommodations as you were with the rest of your stay, and that you informed us of this after checking out, and that our Front Office Management has been in contact with you directly to resolve your concerns. I know you had hoped for a complimentary upgrade but please understand this was not possible due to the fact we were fully booked on the Saturday night and you had only made your reservation 3 days prior to arrival. Still we would have preferred the opportunity to improve your stay while you were still here.

Best wishes for a happy future together,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice location, great views of the ocean, quiet rooms, convenient to the town, good amenities, perfect spot for romantic getaway for a weekend, staff friendly, lounge quiet, good views of the tide coming in and out........

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you eric s for your quick review from Edmonton. Sounds like you were here for a romantic getaway weekend and had a great time! I'm happy you liked our location, amenities, great views of the ocean tides, your quiet room and especially that our team was friendly and made you feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Accomodation can vary quite a bit. We had a cabin across the road. Very clean and recently update with large tub and seperate shower. Our cabin was part of a quad building.

Quiet and comfortable with tiny kitchen, nice heated floor and a gas fireplace.

Quite a few of the cabins are quite dark which is to be expected when they are built among fir and other trees. I wonder if skylites would make them more appealing?

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed our breakfast too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiskatinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're happy you like the recent renovations to our Spa Bungalows. You are right, we have a wide variety of accommodations and they are very different from each other. Best to check out our website for descriptions and pictures prior to booking, or ask us if you have any questions.

Warm regards,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had 2 nights here at the end of our holiday and really enjoyed our stay. We had a large room overlooking the beach and it was very clean and spacious. The resort is aimed at self catering as we had a kitchenette with all facilites like microwave and a large fridge. We used the swimming pool and sauna on site but did not have time to use the spa facilities over the road. We ate in the lounge 1 evening and the food and service were excellent really good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room to make the most of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of Tigh-Na-Mara. I see you are a Top Contributor with dozens of hotel reviews in as many different cities.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found our Resort to be "relaxing". Your spacious, deluxe ocean view room was very clean and well-equipped with full kitchen; your food and service in our Copper Lounge was both excellent as well as really good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Vancouver Island. Hopefully you can visit our Grotto Spa next time.

Jim H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a room overlooking the sea complete with full kitchen. Parking right outside was free so easy to unload and load cases.Could not fault the romm it had everything right down to a gas fire.The bedroom was a little smaller than experienced elsewhere but perfectly adequate but it also had the washbasin outside the toilet/bathroom which we found a little unhygienic.
Meals in restaurant were very good and well served - all staff encountered were very friendly.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvelydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your "Great Hotel" review all the way from the UK! I'm glad you felt your ocean view room had everything you needed, including full kitchen and gas fireplace, and you received very friendly service and very good meals.

Thank you in advance for spreading the word back home,
Jim H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found our room was very clean and well equipped. The Ocean View is amazing, and the fresh but mild breeze filled the room with 'ocean' without being overwhelming. Didn't really have to leave the room to really enjoy the beach. The pool was perfect for my 3 and 5 year olds. The hot tub having good music playing was the topper. All very clean as well. The buffet had virtually everything you could possibly want, although not cheap. Try it for one of your meals! Loved it. Will go again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you Aura_Moyna for the great review! Sounds like your family had an amazing time. I love when our guests use words like "relaxing, romantic and refreshing" because these adjectives describe the feelings and memories that so many of our guests return home with. I'm happy you enjoyed the view, your clean and well-equipped room, the fresh ocean breezes, the pool and whirlpool, and our famous Sunday Brunch.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Jim H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
584 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
64.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
37 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Address: 1155 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#4 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $140 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing