We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a great place to relax”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tigh Na Mara is on the ocean and when the tide goes out, there are sandbars that go on for ever... there are different accommodations to chose from and we chose a cabin, for our dogs and the fireplace ( plus more privacy ). The pool was great for our daughter and the spa is fabulous. I don't know much about the restaurant because we only had breakfast there once. Its a great place for couples and family...I'd definitely go again =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much WendyFR for posting your review. We're thrilled you found a resort where your entire family, including your daughter and your dogs, could relax and spend some quality time walking on the beach during low tide and sitting in front of a crackling fire in your cottage.

We look forward to your next visit from Chilliwack.

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    563
    335
    143
    89
See reviews for
539
841
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This long weekend we decided to treat ourselves and another couple to the Sunday Brunch here. We had been here once before, years ago, and it was amazing. Well.......things have changed. This time it was terrible! Cold, over-steamed rubbery food! Three times I made my way to the omlet station- and no one was there to make an omlet. The Yorkshire pudding was cold and chewy, the eggs benny was tasteless and dry. All of the "seafood" buffett was just cold salads with some canned? (tasted like it) shrimp thrown in and totally swimming in salad dressing. Fried, and I mean Fried, oysters-cold.
The desert bar was really for children with lots of puddings and candy sprinkles. Not many choices for the adults.
The whole affair was very disappointing and very pricey. I have been to many buffets on the island with far superior food at half the cost.
Our whole party agreed that this would be the last visit for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyandal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you like rustic, this is the place for you. The one bedroom suite with an ocean view is nice. Make sure you ask for a unobstructed view. I like the fact that it was quiet at night!
It was way over priced though. I've stayed at nicer, cleaner places with an ocean view for a lot less money right on the beach. If they are going to continue to charge their existing rate they need to make some changes. The hot-tub only fits 4 people comfortably and has way to much chlorine in it. This is a huge property with alot of guests. They need to pay attention to detail. Put in new coffee pots with larger capacity and a flat-screen TV in the bedroom. Make sure the shower curtains are the appropriate size, sweep off the balcony before each new guest. Pick up the garbage on the grounds, especially below the balconies.
The place was nice but I would not stay there again because you can get greater value for your dollar at other locations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, and for choosing Tigh-Na-Mara as your resort of choice in Parksville while on your tour of Vancouver Island.

Rustic is a descriptor that is often used to describe Tigh-Na-Mara Resort and I believe it is fitting - mainly due to our log-constructed buildings and our forested setting. We are a very unique property and this is important to understand. We are not a "luxury" resort although we offer many of the same services you would find at luxury resorts. But our guestrooms do not have marble vanities or granite countertops or silk curtains. Our service is warm and friendly but not formal.

I/we appreciate your comments, both positive and constructive. I'm happy you liked the resort in general, our ocean view suites, the view and how quiet your stay was. Attention to detail is always our goal. I can tell you our Pool House whirlpool uses an automated system which constantly maintains the appropriate chemical levels for a public whirlpool (which is higher than personal hot tubs). Our Team also checks and records the levels many times throughout each day. With so many guests at the resort in August, the system does add chlorine when there is greater usage in/out of the whirlpool. We've been updating/replacing our coffee pots over the past couple years with stainless, 8-cup units and will continue to do so. We will be replacing the current bedroom TV's with flatscreen TV's. We have also begun updating/replacing our shower curtains. All the newly renovated Spa Bungalows have new, eco-friendly shower curtains. We will continue to phase these into the rest of the resort.

Thank you again,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
706 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

this property has both small buildings, and cabins. located just beside Rathtrevor Provincial park.
we stayed in the Jedediah building. our room had a fireplace, and very comfortable bed.
nice little kitchen, nice bathroom. if you don't like stairs-ask for ground floor.
large patio, to enjoy morning coffee on, or afternoon sun.

we toured the whole property. it has a lot to offer for family stays. it also has a very fancy adult section, with a very over the top mineral pool, spa, and beauty parlour.

its not a cheap place to stay, but would be perfect for that special occasion.
we did not try out the dining room, or the lounge, but both looked very inviting.

Room Tip: depends what you want. there is a wide variety to choose from, so ask the desk for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you rocketman000 for your "Very Nice" review! I see that you are a Top Contributor with numerous hotel reviews in many cities. Thank you for choosing Tigh-Na-Mara as your resort of choice when staying in Parksville.

As you mention, we offer a wide variety of room types to choose from. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Jedediah Studio room with balcony, gas fireplace and kitchenette.

Enjoy the rest of your summer,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights recently. We had a 'deluxe ocean view' for $237/ night. The room itself was okay with a jacuzzi in the main room, but the view from this ground-floor room was less than awesome. Either they need to do some creative pruning of the foliage outside, or the should charge less for the room itself. It was pretty busy in the office during checkin and checkout time. The restaurant is fairly pricey for a family. The hotel-grounds are very clean. It is a good place for younger kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matchpoint49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us. I'm happy you enjoyed your Deluxe Ocean View Studio which is a large, log-constructed studio unit with a jetted tub beside the king bed, full kitchen, living room area with gas fireplace and private balcony overlooking beautiful Rathtrevor beach. Thanks for noticing how very clean the hotel & grounds were, especially during our busiest month. It's a large property and our Team works very hard at it.

Since you and your wife stayed for three nights this summer, that means you would have been given a complimentary gift certificate to return to Tigh-Na-Mara for one night this winter (January - March) on our Staycation Special, so we look forward to welcoming you back in a few months!

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is located overlooking Rathtrevor beach. A short walk down the path and you are on the beach. Great location to take kids, in our case our grandchildren with their parents. We rented two cabins in the forest. Quite at night, busy in the day with kids. The décor is log cabin style. The rooms are not very clean, old spider webs, sunflower seeds shells on the front deck, cat hair in on the floors etc. We did not try the restaurant as we had bad experience last year when we were there (took 2 hours to get our food), not good when you have small children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanGaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for bringing your grandchildren and their parents back to Tigh-Na-Mara with you again this year for some quality summer family time together. It truly is a great place to reconnect and create some new memories. Now that Tigh-Na-Mara is 30 years old, we have a lot of parents bringing their kids to Tigh-Na-Mara because they stayed here when they were children - looking for the same kind of vacations they used to take. Staying in a log cottage in the forest, hikes amidst beautiful natural settings, playing on the beach, swimming in the pool, sitting around a crackling fire, etc.

By next year our Cedar Restaurant and Lounge concept will be completely new and different so please check it out during your next stay.

Thanks again,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was amazed of how well adapted the resort is for families. With the weekly itineraries advising of what is going on, and when - to the outdoor movie nights, to the pool facilities - a great place to have a relaxing time, for the entire family! Not only that, but with the beach only steps away (a much better beach than the public beach down the street I might add) - you will have no problem in keeping the kids and yourself busy for weeks on end.
Add in the amazing spa on site, and restaurant - this is our new GO TO for Parksville. For years growing up we would be staying closer to the main village.. not anymore. Highly recommend staying here. Worth the price.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucatime23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tigh-Na-Mara Resort as your new "GO TO" for Parksville! That's fantastic!

There is plenty to do to keep both adults and children busy if that's what you want, or plenty of space to do not very much at all if that's your preferred speed for vacations.

We do have a very dynamic and comprehensive seasonal Recreation Program (summer, Christmas and spring break), and while there is information available on our website or in the recreation brochure, we also offer a weekly guest newsletter in the summer to remind our guests what is available to them during the days they are with us. I'm glad you found this useful.

Thanks again for the high recommendation. As a tripadvisor Top Contributor with 30 different hotel reviews it means a lot!

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
64.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
37.0 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Property: Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Address: 1155 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#4 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing