We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Parksville!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Trails Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Absolutely the best! We visit every year with several families for Mom's birthday and find the accomodations ideal. Clean, up to date, and comfortable. Plenty of room in the 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom units with self contained kitchen which serves us well to prepare our meals. We enjoy the patios which are well furnished for our social times and mealtimes. There's lots of recreation opportunity for young and old with an outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as tennis courts, and beach walks on beautiful Rathtrevor Beach. This place is truly a treasure nestled in a wooded area just above the bay below. Great value for what you spend to stay at Ocean Trails. We're hooked!!!

Room Tip: Depends on your needs.... Poolside is nice if you have kids and you'll find the playground clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasidestroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family and I have been staying at the Resort for several years now. We stay a couple of times a year and totally enjoy everytime we go, Spring, Summer and Fall. The staff are friendly and helpful and the grounds and facilities are always well kept. We stay in a two bedroom unit and they are always clean and comfortable. Access to the beach is easy and very close. We will definitely keep staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a good time at the resort, there was lots of room (everybody had his or her private space) and all the devices we needed to feel at home during our vacation such as a fully equipped kitchen, washer, dryer, tv). The given beach access was great.
We also enjoyed borrowing tennis and badminton rackets to play a few matches. There's also the possibility to play minigolf on a nearby course and the resort is neither far from downtown nor bigger cities like Nanaimo.
Unfortunally we couldn't take advantage of the swimming pool since we spent our time there in March, but we did like the hot tub.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Ocean Trails over the Easter long weekend. It was our 3rd time staying at this resort & absolutely loved it there! We stayed for a total of 4 nights in a 2 bedroom unit for the 3 of us. The furnishings are modern and nice, the decor is also nice but more importantly, the unit was very clean...immaculate really. I love the cozy kitchen and it had the basics needed to be able to cook and enjoy our own meals at the unit and not always having to eat out every single day. Our unit had a dishwasher and an in suite laundry as well. I also loved the gas fireplace which we did use the first night. Over all the rooms are a good size. The grounds are kept very nice with some flowers and shrubs and beautiful green grass and trail paths for those who enjoy walking or biking. It's a great location close by a mini golf park and if you enjoy the beach, you can walk down a bit of a challenging trail or drive 5 mins and you're at Rathtrevour park and beach. I love listening to the sounds of the birds and nature first thing in the morning -- it's so peaceful and tranquil there (in April). Definitely great value for the money....it's a well maintained family oriented resort and better than some hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne F, Manager at Ocean Trails Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing Ocean Trails Resort for your recent stay in Parksville. We have read your comments about our property and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at Ocean Trails Resort.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Well, let's put it this way. We were attracted to the "resort" for it's web advertised $99/night pricing and stayed 2 nights end of March, mid season of the year. First impression was nice, 2br suite with sky light in the kitchen, bright and roomy.
We made use of the kitchen and stay in to make our dinner and found that there's very little plates and cutlery, only to found entire dishwasher full of unwashed dishes. When bed time come, my friend found a dirty sock and sheets covered with pet hair.
Upon check out, we realized that we weren't charged with the advertised rate, but the regular mid season rate. When we asked about it, we were told all discounted room was booked and they weren't available.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne F, Manager at Ocean Trails Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not completely satisfied with the service you received. Your comments come as a surprise to us as with other travellers reviews would attest, your experience here is not representative of how we operate. We are a pet free Resort and your comments regarding pet hair disturbs us. We do offer our guests specials from time to time, but these can sell out quickly and we suggest that travellers confirm rates when booking to confirm eligibility and availability. I would like some more details regarding your stay as this was not brought to the attention of the desk clerk at the time. Please contact me directly either toll free at 1-888-248-6212 or my direct email shannon@ocean-trails.com.

Many thanks in advance for giving us the opportunity to make amends


Shannon Maury
Hospitality Manager
Ocean Trails Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We loved our stay at Ocean Trails Resort in Parksville BC. Not only was the room great as it had a kitchenette. It was near many attractions. That's why we stay at Ocean Trails. The playground, tennis/basketball courts and beach are great for the kids. They spent lots of their time there. It's also close to the mini golf course and only a minute from town. It's also affordable, especially for a family of 6. That's why we have stayed at Ocean Trails 3 or 4 times. The room had 3 bedrooms, 2 family rooms, 2 bathrooms an eating area and kitchen and there was tons of space. We come to Parksville every spring break and when we do, more times than not, we stay here at the Ocean Trails Resort

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are large, quiet and cozy. Great for any large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRMS_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Ocean Trails for a hockey tournament weekend. This is the second time staying at Ocean Trails. Both times the rooms were clean, quiet and very pleasantly decorated. We had a 2 bedroom suite and enjoyed having the room to spread out. It is much nicer than staying in a cramped hotel room with hockey gear for the same price, or less. Would love to come back in the summer time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
73.6 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,487 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.4 mi away
Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Trails Resort

Address: 1135 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Parksville
Price Range: $116 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Trails Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bluff above world-famous Rathtrevor Beach, Ocean Trails Resort is an affordable, family friendly property consisting of bright, modern, one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Condos have fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, cosy duvets, and a washer/dryer in every unit! We offer a seasonal outdoor pool, year round hot tub and tennis court,recreation area with complimentary BBQ area, sand volleyball, bocce, horseshoes, children's playground, complimentary internet in all units as well as WIFI onsite and unlimited access to Jim's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Trails Hotel Parksville
Ocean Trails Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing