We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best I've seen in years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Trails Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Trails Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Best I've seen in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Was told about this place by a work friend and so glad we came. The staff were are super friendly and helpful, the condo's have everything we needed for a week, very well stocked and really clean. The beach is close by and the pool and playground kept the kids busy all week. We have booked for next year already! Thanks Ocean Trails

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    73
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
135
30
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We arrived at the lovely grounds of the Ocean Trails, just a tad early to check in and were offered use of the pool and changing facilities, and access to the beach. They gave us a ring as soon as our room was ready.

The facility is kept well-cleaned, freshly painted etc. We were pleased that it looked just as represented on the internet. Our son loved the playground!

The amenities provided in the room were excellent - everything there for a great stay, especially the kitchen items, to keep your costs down to spend on better things.

We enjoyed everything Parksville, Qualicum, Chemainus and up to Cathedral had to offer us for the week. The Lions playground is just fantastic - paradise for the little ones.
Rathtrevor beach is wonderful.

My only complaint, is that we were on a top suite (which I love!), however there were smokers staying below us, so we were unable to keep windows open, or use the balcony without that horrible stentch wafting up and into our suite. I would love it if smokers had to stay in their own wing, so non-smokers could be assured of breathing fresh air to enjoy their suite and balconies. (This does matter, due to the fact there is no airconditioning - which isn't really needed anyway - but having to keep the windows closed was a bummer).

Room Tip: I think you may get a quieter room away from the pool if you get a 2 or 3 bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcdragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne F, Front Office Manager at Ocean Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your family getaway here at Ocean Trails Resort. Our staff are always pleased to hear such positive comments.

All of our unit's interiors are already non-smoking, but we are also investigating the possibility of having an outside smokers' area away from the units and activities areas.

Our resort is spread over seven acres and we would agree that most of the action is around the pool & playground area. The units situated away from the pool would be a great choice for someone looking for a little extra quiet time.

We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

The access to the beach was unbeatable; the amenities were fantastic. Unlike the superficial resorts in Tofino and Kelowna, Ocean Trails made us feel at home-the unit we stayed in was clean; the place itself was sorrounded by trees -its just like being one with nature. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed in a 2-bedroom unit at the end of June 2010. We had one of our best vacations ever. Our unit was close to the office and the location was very peaceful. The grounds have lots of trees and the layout is excellent for kids to ride bikes, rollerblade ect. The resort supplied us with racquets and balls so we were able to use the tennis courts a lot. The beach is beautiful, the water shallow and relatively warm, a great place for families, especially with small children. Our unit was well equipped and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The wildlife in the area is abundant. More then once we watched deer wander by while we sat on our patio having coffee. While we were in the area we went on nature walks, biking, and looking for secrete beaches. There is a very interesting one near by called Wall Beach that was good for tide pooling. We spent several hours there one afternoon and went back again the next day. Our kids called it the Lava Rock beach because of the interesting rock formations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is a nice quiet place to stay and is great for kids.
I have stayed here every summer for the past 5 years with my 3 kids and parents and we have enjoyed every visit. We have stayed each time in the 3 bedroom condo and there is lots of room for us. The condos are always nice and clean.
My kids love the pool, which being 3 feet deep is perfect for young kids.
The parking lot and roads around the resort are great for us to ride our bikes on.
The playground in the resort is quite nice also.
Rathtrevor beach is a short walk from the resort. We have spent hours on the beach making sandcastles or we have swam in the nice warm water.
There is a good mini golf place just down the road.
There are lots of amenities close to the resort like Coombs, Rip Tide mini golf, North Island Wildlife Recovery center, etc..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed here for the week with our two teenage boys. We took a 2 bed condo, which was on the far edge of the site, furthest away from reception - it had distant views of the beach/sea. The condo was upstairs, with a long, sweeping balcony on the back which was long enough to accommodate a dining table. Being upstairs we felt more relaxed about leaving all our windows fully open at night (using the fly screen to prevent creepy crawlies from entering), which was useful since there was no air con and would otherwise have been stuffy. Although our end of the site was quiet and pleasant, it did seem that the rest of the accommodation was quite close to each other. BBQs were $10 to hire/night, which was a bit of a surprise to us (from the UK), but they supplied the gas and provided clean tools, so we got over it. The pool was smaller than it appeared in the photos and was usually ful of youngsters so our boys avoided it. The condo was spotlessly clean and well equiped. Beach was large and sea was shallow at high tide - hard to throw yourself in for a quick dip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frick291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This place is definitely not a resort. The condos are functional, but they are also quite small and really hot and stuffy --- there is no air conditioning. This might not be too bad if you have just adults in the room, but it's a big deal when you are travelling with a 12-month-old as you can't leave the sliding door open throughout the night. When I asked about the air conditioning (I thought I just couldn't find the switch), I was told there was a fan in the closet. Hmmm, thanks. This leads to the other major drawback about this place -- the staff. Not the classiest or friendliest you will come across. In short, Parksville is an awesome place to visit, especially in the summer. The beaches are amazing and they provide endless entertainment for kids and adults alike. But, when looking for a place to stay, there are much better options than Ocean Trails. In fact, the two places next door are terrific: try Tigh na mara for a true resort experience or Madrona, which is right on the water. While we loved the beach, we won't return to Ocean Trails.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach Acres Resort
Beach Acres Resort
#2 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Trails Resort

Property: Ocean Trails Resort
Address: 1135 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Trails Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bluff above world-famous Rathtrevor Beach, Ocean Trails Resort is an affordable, family friendly property consisting of bright, modern, one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Condos have fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, cosy duvets, and a washer/dryer in every unit! We offer a seasonal outdoor pool, year round hot tub and tennis court,recreation area with complimentary BBQ area, sand volleyball, bocce, horseshoes, children's playground, complimentary internet in all units as well as WIFI onsite and unlimited access to Jim's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Trails Hotel Parksville
Ocean Trails Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing