We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view from your beach cabin”
Review of Beach Acres Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Acres Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked three nights in a forest cabin because I wanted quiet. I ended up spending $30/night extra and taking #2, a beach cabin. Worth the $ for the lovely views.

Watching the morning sun on the ocean, with the mountains, birds and eagles....wow!

Very quiet people next door are booked in for several months so are paying either $1600 or $1200/mo, depending how long they are staying during the fall to spring season. What a deal!! Ocean front cabin for that price! Otherwise you pay $133/night plus taxes. And the rate increases as the season gets warmer.

No deals for singles; the room rate covers 2 adults and 2 kids.

The Parksville resort strip has a diversity of places to stay, and everyone shares the big sandy east facing beach. Public park Rathtrevor next door, with lovely big trees. http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/bcparks/explore/parkpgs/rathtrevor/

Easy drive to north Nanaimo (20 minutes), Qualicum (good Sat. farmers' market in spring through fall) and the Cathedral grove of ancient trees (20 minutes each way).

The staff are friendly and helpful. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you have the money stay right on the beach. If you want quiet ask for a cabin next to snowbirds w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonr806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Beach Acres Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 190 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Rented a cabin right on the beach. It was cozy, relaxing and had a beautiful view. Had a fire out front of our cabin and just a few feet from the beach. We lucked out with no rain and a clear sky on Valentines Day night. One night we had dinner at the English pub on site. Very enjoyable and the next night we went into town and purchased fresh local seafood for an amazing meal in our cabin. Would go back, and would recommend to anyone who just wants to relax and walk the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent 5 nights here recently. Staff is always friendly and helpful. accommodation is clean and quiet.The walks along the beach, renting bikes and of course the Black goose pub.
Looking forward to another visit

Room Tip: We always choose a forest cottage, just seems to be perfect
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dcdma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spent a post-Christmas long weekend in a lovely forest cottage. We did not hear any of our neighbours and it was fully occupied that weekend. The walks along the beach and Rathtrevor Park were lovely and the weather was kind.
The cottage itself was large and well-appointed 2 bedroom (#55) with a roomy and very modern bathroom and kitchen. Very clean! Wireless service was good as well.
As we selected a forest cottage our walk to the beach was under 5 minutes. Our requirements were a single unit with no noise and it really delivered. We never heard a peep and there were lots of young families at the resort with children. The cottages are very well insulated and noise proofed. We had a lovely gas fireplace, some units have wood - we preferred the click of a button for our fireplace experience.
There is an indoor swimming pool and a lovely pub/restaurant about 3 minutes away if you don't want to self cater (The Black Goose Inn).
We would return to Beach Acres when travelling to mid-Vancouver Island again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in a 2br forest cabin (it was called Serendipity I think). Nicely nestled in the back of the property, and very quiet. We went for a few days just after the Labour Day weekend and really avoided any crowds. Most of the cabins seem to be privately owned and put in the rental pool for the resort/
If we return we may stay in one of the front cabins with a sea view... but this one was pet friendly (we have a pretty "barky" dog).
The English style pub onsite was excellent, and the building that houses it is beautiful.
If you want to go down to the beach, keep in mind it is down a very long, steep hill and there is no public parking at the bottom, so you are hoofing it. You can drop off any group members with mobility issues and drive back to the top to leave your vehicle. A better option might be just to take the 3 minute drive to the main Rathtrevor Beach park and go for a walk there... it is the same beach, just a busier and more public area.
We used the pool onsite, it is quite small and even with just a couple of other people there it seemed kind of cramped and busy.
We would definitely return and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Provost2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

we had a very relaxing ,comfortable vacation friendly accommodating staff thankyou all for making our stay happy and memorable cudos We stayed in a beach front cottage and the location was superb,saw the sea lions ,eagles herons we also enjoyed our numorous strolls along the beach just steps from our door. fantastic getaway

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank melveen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a birthday to celebrate, and we love the seaside at Parksville. This resort is perfectly situated for walkers, birders, and relaxers too. We had a well furnished and comfortable ground floor condo unit complete with gas fireplace and unobstructed ocean views. It is a few steps to the beach and about ten minutes walking along the beach to the nearby (formerly MacLure House) Black Dog Pub. The resort has the hot tub and sauna running through the winter, and the management we extremely helpful. We will; definately return!

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the lower level of the resort.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
555 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
247 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.4 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Trails Resort
Ocean Trails Resort
#1 of 9 in Parksville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Acres Resort

Address: 25-1051 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Parksville
Price Range: $133 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests tell us a holiday at Beach Acres Resort reminds them to slow their pace down for some golf, a walk on the beach, to read the book Oprah recommended, and most importantly, to spend time with friends and family. Our cottages and townhouses are a home away from home you can comfortably call your own - time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Acres Hotel Parksville
Beach Acres Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing