We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Nice but....”
Review of Beach Acres Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Acres Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Well lets start that we have been to Parkville's Rathtrevor beach, 7 times throughout the years with our children and we always stayed at the same place (sorry i won't mention the resort just so people don't think i'm marketing for them). This was our first time staying at Beach acres as we decided to try something different this year not too far from our previous accommodation. We rented a cabin in the forest location.

Pros: Great location
Quiet overall
Great for kids
Beach was excellent, (as is all of rathtrevor)
Cabin was clean

Cons: No Free firewood. (come on whats a little wood)
No room service
No BBQ (who wants to go cabining without cooking outside)
No Coffee (only one pack on arrival) you have pay if you want more coffee, come on....
Cabin is due for some interior reno's

I would have no problems with all the cons mentioned if they include this or just make me pay for it up front. At over $300 per night i just think your in a different ball game and people don't want to be nickeled and dimed for everything. I would have no problem with all of this at say $200 per night.

Don't get me wrong, i am still rating this place at 4 stars as this property is beautiful, its just the small items and service that needs adjusting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaFuller, Public Relations Manager at Beach Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It appears that your stay with us was, in so many regards, what we aim for. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return another time.

We did want to address a few of your, very relevant, concerns:

"No room service" - Unfortunately, the Restaurant isn't owned by the resort and if we could change this we definitely would.

"No BBQ (who wants to go cabining without cooking outside)" - We do have BBQs on site and available upon request.

"No Coffee (only one pack on arrival) you have pay if you want more coffee, come on" - We actually supply complimentary refills, no charge. This must have been a breakdown of communication on our side. With that said, you make a very good point here. We are just reviewing our policy to keep more than one coffee pack in the room.

"Cabin is due for some interior reno's" - We are constantly reviewing each cabin and would love to hear your specific feedback on which cabin you were in and what you'd like to see improved. If you compelled, please feel free to email or phone and ask for Vanessa. We would love to improve and you could help us by pointing out some specifics.

"No Free firewood. (come on whats a little wood)" - This is an environmental choice. As we benefit so much from our natural surroundings we've chosen to charge a nominal fee to discourage any unnecessary wastage of the firewood. I understand this could look like nickle and dimming, however, we are trying promote conservation wherever possible.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved loved loved our vacation here! My husband and I and our 2 boys (3 and 5) stayed in cabin #47 which was a duplex/townhouse style. virtually soundproof from the neighbors so no worries there. There was a bedroom with a queen bed downstairs and the second floor was a huge bedroom with two single beds and a queen, AND a private balcony overlooking the ocean (from a distance).
Very peaceful, quiet, family centered resort. Everyone was friendly and respectful, staff were very understanding and accommodating (we were unaware we were supposed to clear up our balance a week before we showed up and we panicked the night before our flight thinking our cabin had been rented -- thankfully we got a call 3 minutes before boarding the plane to confirm our cabin was indeed ours---what can I say? Amazing!!)
The cabin itself was immaculate and had everything we needed to stay there for 5 days nights. The furniture was clean and comfortable and perfect for the space. The beds were FANTASTIC!! We all slept better out there than at home or any hotel for that matter.
If you have children there is a great park area, and nice roads throughout the resort for kids to ride bikes on. Pool was great, same with sauna and hot tub. There are beach toys to share, bikes and paddleboards to rent. There is also a kids club at the resort which we never utilized but we are going to give it a go next year for sure.
The restaurant was amazing. The character of the place is awesome, the food is superb and you can choose to dine inside or outdoors. 17 kinds of draft. Great staff.
We loved staying here and are planning to return for many years to come, this time with Grandma in tow to enjoy the resort and all its amenities--and of course the ocean!! We have only good things to say about Beach Acres! Don't hesitate---book!

Room Tip: Cabin 47 was a duplex townhouse partial oceanview but it was not attached on both sides like the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nfrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family of five (three boys, 11, 9 and 6) have been going to Beach Acres for the last five years. It's the most amazing beach destination and we love everything from the tide that goes out for a kilometre to the warm tidepools, to the great on-site pub and restaurant to the indoor pool on the days when the weather isn't so hot...this is the best beach in B.C. for families.

Room Tip: Beach level cottages are small but fantastic...the beach becomes our livingroom/dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marlane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a townhouse close the the beach, we were there with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. The staff was great, they have anything you need for a baby, high chair, baby gates, even playpens, (wish we knew that, would have saved some packing room). Had a great time there, the only draw back was when we were sitting out front enjoying the night and sprinklers came on soaking us!!!!. Oh well, not a big deal. Very nice place, love having a BBQ all to ourselves! We didn't try the restaurant this time, but all the reviews say is it great!. Had a great time and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wonderful, helpful staff. Heavenly location with peaceful forest and gorgeous sandy beach. Terrific cabins with comfy beds. Delicious food at the Black Goose Inn with amazing views. Our fourth summer and we will absolutely be returning next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowHouseFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came every summer for 16 years with my whole family (8 adults, 7 kids) and found it a perfect way to hang out for a week. The kids loved the freedom of roaming the beach and many happy hours were passed protecting sand castles from the incoming tide, not to mention building and firing off rockets from the endless beach at low tide. After my Dad passed away, we found it too difficult and tried to find somewhere else to get together but we couldn't find one. After a 3 year break my now grown children (20,19,16) wanted to go back. We had a fabulous time and, although we're a bit cramped in the beachfront cottage, we wouldn't have it any other way. We love it!

Room Tip: Staying right on the beach is great, although if you like quieter, the forest cottages are also good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ocean, sandbars, and pool and playground and Black Goose Restaurant. Who wouldn't want to spend a vacation here. Our family had 8 units for a week for a family reunion for which the services and setting were perfect...green fields for play, bonfires on the beach after supper and a five star staff. Bedroom arrangements, and linens and mattresses and bunk beds were very comfortable. Even the bar b qs worked well. From 87 to 5 years old: we were happy.

Room Tip: We rented 8 units. Several were sweet updated small cottages off the beach (#52 and #60) in some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,353 reviews
9.6 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#6 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Acres Resort

Address: 25-1051 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Parksville
Price Range: $135 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests tell us a holiday at Beach Acres Resort reminds them to slow their pace down for some golf, a walk on the beach, to read the book Oprah recommended, and most importantly, to spend time with friends and family. Our cottages and townhouses are a home away from home you can comfortably call your own - time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Acres Hotel Parksville
Beach Acres Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing