We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Resort Bayside
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Decent place to stay. HD TV channels, decent beds and clean but dated bathrooms. The pub is in the back and run down. The restaurant is fantastic with amazing views. Make sure to get an ocean view room, if not you might as well stay at a non beach front hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keadyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Quality Resort Bayside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 247 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Twenty years ago my husband and I had our wedding reception at this hotel and spent our wedding night here along with some of our wedding party. It was a great experience then and we decided to go back to see what it was like now. Not disappointed at all! The king room with balcony facing the beautiful Parksville beach was so nice, even though the bathroom could use updating. The bed was super comfy, loved the duvet (much nicer than the usual thin blankets) and there was plenty of room to spread out. The sunrise in the morning was spectacular and we enjoyed our overnight stay. The price was good and although this is an older hotel, it was very clean and the staff was very helpful. We met some of our family in the dining room for supper (fantastic view!) and the food was surprisingly good. Some of us had the halibut and chips (delish) and we shared the dim sum appies (also delish) All the food came hot, fresh and together, which was much appreciated as we had small children in the party, There is a pool in this hotel, but we didn't have time to try it this time around, so I can't speak to what it was like, but we did see several people head down in that direction, so it seemed to be quite popular. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Bayside to others.

Room Tip: I'd say one has to get a room on the ocean side, even if they are a bit more expensive. The bea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A great hotel with some outstanding oceanfront features. There is a small sports pub hidden on a back corner and away from guests, but it's not a super busy or noisy place. There is an attractive and well kept liquor store - beer wine and spirits right down from the hotel main entrance and if you do not want to eat in the beautiful restaurant, there are other restaurants - eg Kalvas - within walking distance.

We live just outside Parksville, so we a re basically locals. This is a nice hotel within walking distance of town and while not a resort per se, like the ones down the road, one is not dependent on the car to get around if you want to explore some of Parksville's shops.

We had a flood in our home a cpl years back and we chose the Quality Bayside and were not disappointed. Our dog was welcome too!! So it has some dog friendly rooms....

We have also used the conference space and rented the entire dining room for a high scale political reception. We have nothing but kudos to Helen and her wonderful staff.

All in all, we have no reservations recommending this great hotel and giving it 5 stars.

And - BTW - the employees are paid a living wage - which says something about the great management team.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Women's hiking group for a 2 night stay. Front desk staff very pleasant. Rooms clean and exactly as we had asked for. Hotel has incredible views. However, the treatment our group received in the restaurant/bistro on our first evening was unbelievable. There were two male servers who ignored us, chatted between themselves while leaning on the bar, didn't bring menus (some of our group just got their own). Would not permit the 10 of us to sit together even though there was room to move the tables without blocking access and there were only a few other people in what is a very large room. They were surly and incredibly rude. Because of the treatment we received that first night we ate elsewhere for our stay in Parksville. We advised the front desk when we checked out.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I waited for 15 minutes for a drink although the view was excellent . It just took too long and we are near thirty types so they weren't very polite. We are paying hotel guests that are looking for a meal and a drink . After the long wait looking at three staff members converse and laugh we finally got seated and the server seemed great the food was mediocre and the martini was warm oh well ...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rowan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We held a workshop for 25 people half of whom stayed at the hotel a minimum of 3 nights ALL were very satisfied and the view across the Bay toward the mainland with the sun on the rise is spectacular. Staff were excellent to work with. Food for meetings and arranged meals for lunch were excellent. I would definitely book another event at the hotel and know we are in good hands

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaques22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Short visit, less then 12 hours. I arrived at night so I was unable to see the ocean view I knew was there. Woke up to the sun rise and the ocean only feet away. What a view! The room itself was adequate. Large, meticulously clean, and bed was comfortable with duvet and triple sheeting. Dated decor, TV very outdated. Only experience with Hotel staff was at check-in, polite but not overly friendly.

Overall happy with the stay. I would gladly return if I need to spend the night in Parksville.

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean, 3rd floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
554 reviews
20.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#11 of 13 in Parksville
128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Resort Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Bayside

Address: 240 Dogwood St, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1E1, Canada (Formerly Bayside Oceanfront Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $90 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover yourself in Parksville, BC, where hospitality comes with an ocean view at the Quality Resort Bayside. Our Parksville resort hotel offers beachfront accommodation, ocean views and delicious dining all in one great location. Sleep in; beach comb; golf; keep fit in the cardio room, heated pool or racquet courts; hold hands; enjoy casual gourmet dining overlooking the bay. You're sure to have an unforgettable experience while staying with us at the Quality Resort Bayside in Parksville, BC. ***Please note: Breakfast is not included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Resort Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Bayside Hotel Parksville
Quality Inn Parksville
Quality Hotel Parksville
Quality Resort Bayside Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing