We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, sleep and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Resort Bayside
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, sleep and service!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

While staying at this hotel I found the bed to be very comfortable. The room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the Bistro was very good and the wings in the bar were also good.The view from the restaurant is stunning!
One note, my room had no fridge or microwave. Some of my colleagues had a fridge though.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. The view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    90
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
67
93
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay in this hotel on the Parksville Bay this last week while at a CUPE course. I just have to say, the beds were incredibly comfortable.
Everything was nice and clean, and no ugly or gross bedspreads but nice white duvets with sheet covers and neatly folded coverlets across the bottom.
The staff kept the room meticulously clean with their daily visit. Although I didn't face the ocean, a sister did and the view was spectacular!
The food in the bistro was served to us buffet style and it was all delicious. Well, I personally wasn't a fan of the eggs, but those are hard to keep nice in a buffet.
But best of all were the staff! Every one of them that I dealt with was friendly, efficient and eager to be helpful.
I highly recommend this hotel to any who want to stay in a quality establishment with an incredible view and great customer service. As an added bonus, it's organized, so you know the union members working there are being treated fairly and paid decent wages. You can see it in their satisfaction in their work.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. You won't believe the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coquitlam, british columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and that was enough to never return. The rooms themselves are ok- I did get bit by something on my neck, however. The walls are paper thin as well- and very few channels are provided to watch on tv. I wanted to check out at 12 but wasn't allowed: "No you may not." Was my only answer. Even the worst hotel in the world allows noon check-out - I didn't see people lined up to check in so I don't know what the problem was. I was a quiet professional on business by myself- so it wasn't as though I had created a problem. Another note- myself and several colleagues had joined up in their bar before dinner- the men in the group were groped and harangued by the (seemingly inebriated) waitress and made all of us very uncomfortable. It was a cheap place to stay if that's all you want.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tromponya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Parksville hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This property is not in a very good location, it was foggy the day I was there so there might be a view but certainly not from my room. My view was of the moss covered roof of the building next door. The room had the scent of cheap air freshener, as if someone was trying to cover up the smell of tobacco. The heat was turned to 15C when I got to the room so everything was cold and since they have replaced the heat lamp in the bathroom with a regular flood light there was no heat there. The television was one of those huge ones from decade ago and the receiver was on it's side adjacent to the set. The promised newspaper never showed up. I think they have basically given up.
Hard water made showering seem to fit into the worn look of the place. Staff were friendly but not very well informed. I will never stay there again.
RDM

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Quality Resort Bayside several times over the past months because of personal business in the area. When signing in for our first stay the front desk clerk recomended we sign up for the Privileges Membership. After a number of stays we would be eligible for a free night and or a voucher to be used at the hotel or restaurant. We did. We always enjoyed the friendly staff, and our room with the great ocean view. We did have to look past the common areas including hallways and the restaurants need for a good cleaning and updating. Unfortunately when we contacted the Quality Inn reservation center to take advantage of our earned Privileges we were told that they would not honor the free night or the voucher offer. No explanation given. As well an email regarding the situation to the Parkside Resort Bayside has gone unanswered.
We were willing to look past the resorts short falls because of the friendly attention we always recieved from the front desk staff but management obviously does not share their desire to make the travelling public feel welcome.
I can not recomend the Bayside Resort.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Q.R. be sure to book a ocean side room of course unless you enjoy looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sittingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here to have a home base while we explored the area attractions, so we didn't really make use of any of the services in the hotel. Our experience was fine, no complains. The place was clean, and quiet. The few interactions we had with the staff were polite and friendly. The hotel does look a little bit aged but for our needs it was more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The first thing we noticed when we arrived was the incredible beach beside the resort. I have never been to a Quality before, but I would gladly return if they were as great as the Parksville location. Front desk staff was incredibly helpful and offered us a discount for our patience and booking an extra night, which was an excellent surprise. The room was very clean, the balcony was excellent, and our view was unbeatable. The only complaint I have was the shower -- when the unit above us or beside us was showering, ours would switch from scalding hot to freezing cold -- not a service issue, but a plumbing issue. Made for awful showers, but wasn't a problem. Great access to the beach too. The restaurant (Bayside) is amazing! We tried to eat elsewhere during our stay, but ended up there for every meal -- the food was second to none. Great service, great food, and all for a very good price. I highly reccommend the coconut prawns! Thanks for an awesome stay -- we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#10 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Resort Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Bayside

Property: Quality Resort Bayside
Address: 240 Dogwood St, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1E1, Canada (Formerly Bayside Oceanfront Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover yourself in Parksville, BC, where hospitality comes with an ocean view at the Quality Resort Bayside. Our Parksville resort hotel offers beachfront accommodation, ocean views and delicious dining all in one great location. Sleep in; beach comb; golf; keep fit in the cardio room, heated pool or racquet courts; hold hands; enjoy casual gourmet dining overlooking the bay. You're sure to have an unforgettable experience while staying with us at the Quality Resort Bayside in Parksville, BC. ***Please note: Breakfast is not included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Quality Resort Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Bayside Hotel Parksville
Quality Inn Parksville
Quality Hotel Parksville
Quality Resort Bayside Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing