We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Resort Bayside
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent a couple nights here for a wedding. This is not the usual class of hotel we book (usually 4-5star) but we stay in worse for work. This is an older property - the alarm clock radio was antique, the carpets feel dirty, bathroom is older with shower curtain, no safe, and it's pet-friendly on certain floors. Bed was comfortable. Book a room with a balcony or view if you can, although it's easy enough to walk out to the patio and beach. Check in is at 3pm (or 1pm if you get a nice checkin person). Air con was variably working in the various rooms our wedding party had booked. Nice things: free wifi, free parking, iphone charger if you need to borrow one front desk. Take the stairs instead of the elevator. The wedding/event coordinator Helen was very hardworking (setting up by herself). The restaurant was ok... very slow service and food was average. Rarely saw any people at the wedding reception clearing dishes and buffet was only just ok. I would highly recommend Avocado's in town by the Starbucks for breakfasts, lunches and early dinners. Nice room for wedding banquet with gorgeous views, and the outside gazebo for the wedding was lovely. So great value for wedding venue and adequate for such a stay but if you're coming to parksville for a nice romantic getaway, i would consider TighNaMara (where we've stayed twice before) or the Beach Club looks newer and nicer. And if you go for a walk on the beach, take off your shoes or they'll get stuck in the wet sand! Walk all the way to the boardwalk - there was a sand scupture exhibit when we were there.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvrgirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been staying at the Bayside for about 25 years or so. The location could hardly be better and have usually enjoyed our stay.
This time was interesting to say the least. Were booked in for three nights and arrived at 1:30 PM and were told we could not check in until 3 even just to get the paperwork done so decided to have lunch on the patio. Looked at the menu amd did not find anything that appealed to us so asked the server if they had club house sandwiches ? Yes we do but you have to go to the pub to get them. What about a ham sandwich? same answer. The soup was good but disappointed in the response.

At 3 it was a mob scene with everybody trying to check in and they had a wedding on the Sat. The wedding folks were an interesting lot standing at the front door three deep smoking and telling jokes.

After the wedding on Sat they were sitting in their truck beds with the beer and weed prominent. Only saw one fight in the parking lot. 2:30 am big fight in room next door with couple yelling and on the balcony swearing.

Interesting weekend to say the least left early. Unusual but quality deteriorating

Room Tip: Interview the folks in the next room and suggest an alternative site if they want to brawl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were very lucky to get a room at the last minute in this seaside hotel. It was pretty busy in town and we had no luck finding space with a place I have stayed in before so tried here. They only had non sea view, but it was clean, basic and fine. It was hot and unfortunately there is no air conditioning in the rooms that are not on the sea side, but they did have a fan that worked fine for us. We had a nice dinner at the restaurant on the patio and watched the sun set. The staff were very nice and helpful. It is located right on the beach so very convenient. I would stay here again...but would book ahead and get the sea side, for the view and the air conditioning.

Room Tip: Pick a seaside room for the view and for air conditioning in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfootcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I normally book 5 star properties when I travel, but I did a blind booking through Priceline and got this place. Turned out, I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and pretty basic, smaller than rooms I normally stay in and with no fridge, but if you ask for one, they'll wheel one into your room. If you are booking this hotel, I would recommend only booking a view room. It costs a bit more, but is well worth the extra $ as it turns a basic room into a spectacular one as the view is expansive & outstanding from the large patio. The staff here were so friendly and helpful - I'd stay again for that reason alone. It's pet friendly, so I took my dog and that worked out great. The restaurant boasts an outstanding view and there is a patio so you can sit outside (although they need to replace their patio furniture as it is not very nice looking nor particularly comfortable). The location of the hotel is perfect. Only a short drive to the Coombs market which is a "must visit." Only thing that I could fault the property location for was the fact that the beach area you access from the hotel is rocky, so if you're wanting to just pop out of your hotel and laze on the beach, you'll have to walk a couple of minutes down the beach to find an accessible area to sit/lie down. Bring (a) beach chair(s) as even farther down the beach it can be hard to find a nice, seaweed-free, sandy spot. This hotel was significantly cheaper than the more upscale places on Resort Drive. So a good bet if you want to save on accommodations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the view side are far superior to rooms on the non-view side. Also, rooms on the non-view s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We found the hotel to be conveniently located near places we wanted to visit - golf course, shopping and walking to the beach.

Walking down to the beach directly from the hotel was a bit mucky - so wear old shoes. Once on the sandy part it was nice to take off the sneakers, and walk along the beach.

A fair number of people letting their dogs have fun and running in the water. A great place for families with young children to play and splash their siblings. Although we didn't have a dog with us, the hotel is pet friendly - a pleasant surprise.

The hotel staff were courteous, accommodating, helpful and efficient.

Our rooms were not overlooking the ocean - but that was okay - we preferred just getting out and about and enjoying the walks.

We would stay again.
.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This Quality Resort is located next to the wonderful beach at Parksville. It is a short walk along the shore to the sand. Our room overlooked the top of the swimming pool and there are other rooms that over look the water.The check in and check out worked well. The room was clean. We did have 3 issues: the hot tub did not work properly at the pool ; the water temperature fluctuated when in the shower and there was noise from the people next door. Regarding the latter, I could hear the words spoken on their T.V. and finally at 1:00 a.m. I called the front desk and 10 minutes later the t.v. was turned off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one night and found the staff at the front desk very helpful and friendly. Well staffed throughout the hotel and all the outlets were friendly. We understand that the Pub (Upper Deck) will replace the outdoor deck as that is missing now. Much needed. A/C on the back side of the hotel will be welcomed. Terry (female) handled our reservation and follow up and was extremely professional and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
591 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
561 reviews
20.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#11 of 13 in Parksville
129 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Resort Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Bayside

Address: 240 Dogwood St, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1E1, Canada (Formerly Bayside Oceanfront Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $89 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover yourself in Parksville, BC, where hospitality comes with an ocean view at the Quality Resort Bayside. Our Parksville resort hotel offers beachfront accommodation, ocean views and delicious dining all in one great location. Sleep in; beach comb; golf; keep fit in the cardio room, heated pool or racquet courts; hold hands; enjoy casual gourmet dining overlooking the bay. You're sure to have an unforgettable experience while staying with us at the Quality Resort Bayside in Parksville, BC. ***Please note: Breakfast is not included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Resort Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Bayside Hotel Parksville
Quality Inn Parksville
Quality Hotel Parksville
Quality Resort Bayside Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing