We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little lunch place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bread and Honey Food Co

Bread and Honey Food Co
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We wanted a comfortable place for our community and families to dine. Five days a week we offer breakfast and lunch featuring brunch items Saturday & Sunday. Located on Harrison Avenue in Parksville, our menus feature local, sustainable, and seasonal Pacific Northwest ingredients. We are lucky enough to live in one of the most beautiful parts of the world and we want to celebrate it!
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little lunch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food has always been above par and the proprietors are a breath of fresh air. They are the essence of the place and fantastic cooks and bakers as well

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    47
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sandwich !! Astronomical price !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had lunch here for the first time a few days ago and had a sandwich, although I think my choice was one of only two sandwiches?
It was a very good tasting sandwich but at over $10 with taxes you would think you were at an airport or a sporting event !
I would only go back if the prices were lowered to be more realistic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011goodbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Such attention to detail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I am lucky to work near Bread and Honey and love that they have such unique choices each day! The women that own this place are so lovely and dedicated to serving fresh and fabulous food. And Friday cinnamon buns are always wonderful - a nice treat at the end of the week.

Helpful?
Thank Pawprintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Made with love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took a tiny table outside, because the small interior was filled with lunch-time crowd. Our food was obviously made with intelligence and love. Every bite was lovely. Would love to see the day that they serve dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rivularis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Back again: great, as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

It's been a while since I was here and had a perfectly positive experience. Yesterday I was on my own and decided to treat myself to lunch -- I picked the perfect place.

As others have said, there is a limited menu that changes daily. That part is more of a positive because it allows them to source FRESH and local ingredients for the most part. I don't mind that there are only 2 sandwich choices and 1 or 2 soups. The menu changes each day and it's always something really creative. The food is utterly delicious: full of flavour and the freshness is so evident.

For this visit, I chose to have a half panini sandwich with their corn & shrimp salsa with a side of red pepper soup with goat cheese. Yes, the panini is fresh made daily, and the filling was made with fresh corn, fresh tomatoes, and I detected a lovely hint of fresh lime. The soup was utterly amazing, also made from local ingredients.

The plates, beautiful on their own, come looking like a work of art. That's the approach to food here: creative and interesting food made from fresh simple ingredients. And they're friendly too.

What could be better? Great spot to meet a friend or take your mom out, or simply go solo. Either way, it's a good day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fromHythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Honey Food Co also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Bread and Honey Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing