We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”

Yorky's Halibut and Chips
Ranked #40 of 100 Restaurants in Parksville
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I know yorkys's used to be owned by terrible boss's , its now under new manage ment and 100% better the fish is still the exact same and DELICIOUS.,! worth a try. if you want goooood fish and chips. batter is perfect and chips are cooked from raw potatoes and fresh!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    29
    23
    13
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We live 30 - 40 minutes away from this little restaurant but we make the drive because it is sooo good. The fish (we always have halibut) is cooked in a nice batter and fried to perfection and the chips are made from raw potatoes. Just the right combination for good fish and chips. I would recommend eating here if you like good fish and chips! We have 3 or 4 places in my city that serve fish and chips but they don't compare to these!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gramma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you know your chips this is the place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

As Yorkshire folk we never thought we would find as good as we had back in England. We were wrong. If you can find this place you are in for a treat. Of course the people who run it are from Whitby, Yorkshire. Need I say more!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank floribundarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I was getting takeaway of one order of Halibut and Chips...$12+ tax, then when ready I had to ask for a receipt of payment, they went to the back room to get it, not using the cash register...then at home....fish was wet batter, not crisp and the chips were not cooked properly....half raw
Thought to myself this morning that maybe the British are terrible cooks then this restaurant lived up to that reputation...never again will I waste my hard earned money

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
244 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Food was fine. Excellent fish. Good batter, not greasy, crisp. Fresh coleslaw, as good as home-made. Good fries. Friendly waitress, attentive, but not too. Now the but. Coffee just like in Britain, and that's not a compliment. No bathroom. (I didn't think that was legal.) Booth seating, benches VERY close to the table, and not adjustable. I don't think I'd go back, even though the fish really was great.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorky's Halibut and Chips also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Yorky's Halibut and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing