We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work”
Review of Blue Haven B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Haven B & B
Ranked #3 of 7 Parksville B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A nice enough place, except that a few mechanical details were overlooked
Positives: a lovely gardenat the back, reasonable rates, convenient location
Negatives:
The place is a bit hard to find, we had to stop and ask directions
A small room with only a sliding door for ventilation (which had no screen)
Not much privacy as all rooms open onto a common area

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean s, Owner at Blue Haven B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello and thank you for your comments. Not sure what "mechanicals" required work on. Regarding the door screens, we've just ordered some for all the rooms, so thanks for the input on that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

hi, we spent two nights in blue haven and we were not disappointed at all. nice hosts, great breakfast, clean rooms. great atmosphere, barbeceue, hot tub and pavilion free to use. perfect front and backyard. great to relax. we will go back
Volker + doro

Room Tip: if you travel as a couple, please ask for the magnolia room. that has a bigger bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volker s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Haven for one night at the end of a road trip through Vancouver Island this past May. We stayed in the Magnolia room which led outside to an awesome hot tub and beautiful serene backyard, perfect for our last stop as we reflected on our island adventure. Mike and Jean were the most gracious hosts and their home was so peaceful. Jean made a lovely breakfast and both were so knowledgeable about the island, we had almost wished we stayed there prior to our trip up to Tofino and Ucluelet cause they had so many traveller's tips and hints about that area as well as Parksville! We hope to stay at their Bed and Breakfast in the near future and would recommend it to anyone making a stop in Parksville!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaniceRenee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean s, Owner at Blue Haven B & B, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi there. Thank you so much for your kind review. Mike and myself thoroughly enjoy meeting people and sharing our home with them. We love to tell people of the many beautiful places Vancouver Island has to offer. We are so privileged to live in such a beautiful part of the world.

I certainly hope you will be back here to stay and get acquainted with some other parts of the area such as Denman Island, Newcastle Island to name but a few. Perhaps you can even persuade Mike to take you out on our boat, although I don' think you'd have to twist his arm too much!!!

Take care.
Kindest Regards,
Mike & Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights. we always felt welcome on our trip to BC but the hospitality was superb even by BC standards. the room was very good and the lounge area was very comfortable. Our hosts provided all sorts of good ideas about what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brodiecurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A beautiful room, very well equipped. A big plus was the hot tub, right outside the bedroom! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spotless. We were welcomed by the owner Jean and made to feel at home. Good eating places nearby. Breakefast set us up for the day and Mike was there to chat and give us some tips on our sightseeing tour as we headed west. We would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in the Magnolia Room of the Blue Haven Inn for one night on our way from Victoria to Tofino. The house is beautiful and Mike and Jean could not have been more helpful in sharing information to enhance our trip. The bed was so comfortable, the ensuite so clean, and we looked out on a wonderfully designed backyard. We were able to walk to attractions and drive to dinner. The breakfast they prepared for us was FANTASTIC! We highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This bed and breakfast was perfect. The common rooms (kitchen and lounge) and 3 guest suites are located on the ground floor and the hosts occupy the upper floor. Despite being on the old Island highway, it was quiet and restful. There was a delightful covered deck with comfortable furniture to use. The hot tub and a gazebo are also available for guests' use. The gardens were lovely; we spotted a number of humingbirds. The lovely cooked breakfast was served at our convenience in the common kitchen area. The ensuite bathroom had a lovely airbubble tub as well as a separate shower - ahhh heavenly. Speaking of heavenly, the bed was also heavenly and the linens were vey luxurious!!
We would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCI8668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.3 mi away
Paradise Seashell Motel
Paradise Seashell Motel
#1 of 7 in Parksville
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#10 of 13 in Parksville
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven B & B

Address: 552 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Parksville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Haven offers two and three bedroom, fully luxury contained suites. We also have 3 beautifully decorated rooms for bed and breakfast guests. We are located in beautiful Parksville (the jewel of the Island) on Vancouver Island.- Perfect backdrop for small gatherings, weekend retreat or a romantic getaway.- Facilities include a hot tub, BBQ, gazebo, koi pond.- Most guest rooms have private decks leading into the garden area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Haven B & B Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing