We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A down home, old fashioned motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arbutus Grove Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location, close to all the amenities but off on it's own. Quite, clean and affordable, friendly staff, picnic tables out front on the grass. Cooking units available. Beaches galore minutes away.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes available if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank-you for your excellent review. We so happy you appreciated our little motel. We work hard to make your stay enjoyable and are so glad you enjoyed it. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We always stay at the motel, when we travel to Parkville. We enjoy that the room is very clean, they have wire less internet access and a nice flat screen T.V. The bed is very comfortable, and the room has a combination heater and cooling unit. I can't say a bad thing about this place. I do like the fact that there is no smoking in the rooms, so it always smell clean. The safe are nice and they ask if they can do more to make our stay more comfortable. I always recommend the motel to anyone that travels to Parkville.

Room Tip: They don't have a pool, unable to remove the rating on this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

It is really great to hear from our regular guests and to know that every time you stayed with us you have had a great experience. We will keep up our efforts to maintain our rooms to the highest standards for our valued guests. We really appreciate your very kind comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Arbutus Grove Motel was the perfect place to stay on a recent road-trip with some friends - Excellent price, comfortable accommodations, and friendly staff.

The Motel is an old building, which has been updated. Rooms are comfortable, decorated nicely, and have very comfortable beds. My room was spotless clean.

There is a nice coffee shop across the street for morning caffeine fix.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVJollyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank-you so much for staying with us and writing this great review. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope you come back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I, along with our small dog, made Arbutus Grove Motel our home away from home from mid August to mid November while our house was being repaired from an attic fire. What is really nice about this location is it is close to a lot of things but not in the middle of everything, so quiet is normal. I loved being able to park right in front, so it was easy to unload our luggage and stock up the fridge and kitchen cupboards with groceries.We had a spacious, clean room with wireless internet, flat screen TV and air conditioning (heat & cool). The mattress was extremely comfortable and the decor was homey and relaxing. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, cutlery, glassware, a fridge with freezer, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot and lots of cupboard space. Even though it is located right next to the Island Hwy. road noise is minimal. There are picnic tables out front and we barbecued on several occasions. There is a small restaurant, a drop-off laundry and a coffee house right across the highway. The staff are friendly and helpful and we would highly recommend this motel to anyone who wants maximum comfort, good value and a central location especially if you plan on visiting Vancouver Island (north, south and west) or visiting family or friends in the Oceanside area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that it felt like a home away from home to you. We sure enjoyed having you and your little dog. We do get lots of good comments about the motel being a single level so you can park right in front of your door and no stairs to contend with. Hope to see you and your little furry friend again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The rooms were very clean and a good size. Loved the updated decor, very nicely done. The beds were comfortable good mattress. The location was great close to everything we needed. We had a very enjoyable stay at the Arbutus Grove Motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I sure hope you can come and stay with us again soon. We loved having you. We really appreciate your kind remarks and would like to thank-you for taking the time to write this excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Spent a couple nights at the Arbutus Grove last August. I commend the staff for being so friendly and willing to go out of their way to help anytime. The rooms were spotless and had very comfy beds and everything else we needed like Wi-Fi, microwave, fridge, stove and air conditioning. The room prices were also great! Thank you Arbutus Grove Motel for making my stay so pleasant and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I hope we see you soon too. Thanks so much for writing this excellent review. So happy to hear you loved all our amenities. We provide maximum comfort for maximum value. Love to hear from such happy customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a great motel! Very clean and comfortable. Bed was just right. Wi-Fi and TV were right on. Great channel selection and HD! One of the best TV,s we have found in a motel. Our host was very friendly and helpfull. Nice location, close to everything and away from the mad rush. We would definitely recommend The Arbutus Grove Motel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

People like you make all our hard work worthwhile. I want to thank-you for this excellent review. So glad you enjoyed our flat screen, high definition TV's and other amenities. Was so nice to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
3.0 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#10 of 13 in Parksville
130 reviews
3.0 mi away
VIP Motel
VIP Motel
#12 of 13 in Parksville
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Grove Motel

Address: 1182 East Island Highway, Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range: $77 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy single story motel conveniently located on the south end of Parksville across from the Heritage Center Mall. All rooms have large flat screen TV's, coffee, microwaves, fridges, high speed internet, very comfortable beds, very quiet, close to the beach, across from restaurant, Serious Coffee, laundry mat. Lots of free parking, room for RV's. We are environmentally responsible with the newest most efficient heating and air conditioning, we also have efficient water usage without compromising the comfort of our guests. We are small dog friendly and have some kitchenettes available. We are maximum comfort and value and know you will be impressed. We receive daily compliments on our motel and work hard to make your stay everything you could want. We have just became wireless so bring your I pads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arbutus Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Grove Hotel
Arbutus Grove Motel Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing