We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury with Family Fun all In one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury with Family Fun all In one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed at the Sunrise Ridge Resort for Father's day and enjoyed ourselves in a large 2 bedroom suite. The front lobby was beautiful and inviting. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The suite was large and luxurious with high ceilings, 2 bathrooms, 1 with a soaker tub, a well stocked kitchen fit for a gourmet chef, large patio with gas BBQ and eating area, modern and tasteful decor, gas fireplace, and insuite laundry. We were quite comfortable and my son enjoyed the flatscreen TV in his room.
There are many activities in the area such as the amazing beaches, mini golf, parksville playground and waterpark, Coombs Market, forest hikes etc. We have stayed at other resorts in the area and this exceeds the others by far in quality and luxury.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanwindtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    62
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
74
76
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night vaction at Sunrise over the May long weekend. We were well aware that the property is still under construction and we would look forward to staying again when completed. The reception area is lovely and the unit is very well fitted with a BBQ and very large kitchen island. Nice beds and a short walk to the ocean. I even liked the dishes so much that I wanted to know where they came from but missed getting the info when I checked out. (If management reads this, please email me back.)Be sure to stop and get the golf discounts. Huge value at some courses. Only issue is that the people above us had very noisy kids and the lady below had a booming voice that told the neighbourhood way to much info.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

My family came out from back east to visit BC. After spending sometime on the mainland, we wanted to head to Tofino. We decided to stay in Parksville on the way and try out this new resort. I have stay at other resorts in the past but don't remember staying at such a luxurious an beautiful place as this for the price. Granted we were treated to a beachfront chalet, but our jaw dropped as we came in, saw the rooms, the bathrooms and the kitchen. FULLY LOADED. Even the wine bottle opener was found. LCD screens in each bedroom made my teenager jump for joy. The large beds were a huge treat. Then we scampered to the promised view. Nothing but amazement filled us. The beach, the ocean, righ there. I mean RIGHT there. Then we the dinner plans changed as we noticed the delux gas BBQ and the heater outside. The next morning was no less magical. The sunrise (er the name of the resort was breathtaking. We enjoyed it so much that we considered not continueing to the west coast of the Island. We relunctantly left.

The wonderful welcome at check in, the flexibility with our booking, the fully loaded suite and top notch quality of the facilities... we felt like high society, or royalty. The grounds are not finished yet, but the beach is wide there and access is perfect to the water.

Thank you. We will deffinately be back

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingingCamomille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

Don't know which [Resort ?] the top 6 reviewers stayed at, but it certainly wasn't where we were, at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort in Parksville, B.C. Canada.
We booked for 2 nights, Easter weekend.
From their own website on April 01, 2009 when we booked, they stated :

Amenities
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort offers guests and owners luxurious resort living with hotel style amenities including:

5 swimming, relaxation and hot pools . [They have none]
Children's play center . [Never saw any]
Fitness facilities . [Nope]
Lounge area . [Nope]
Meeting rooms . [Any 2bit hotel could state this]
On site restaurant . [Do not have]

To their credit, since our 1 night stay , they have changed the wording on their website to reflect the fact that they have no amenities.
We checked out the next morning and move next door where they had what they advertised!
When we arrived home I contacted Expedia, who we booked thru, and they contacted Sunrise Ridge to check m our horror story, and agreed to a full reimbursement of our 2day booking.
Thankyou Expedia.
I am writing this review, not to be spiteful, but to warn other unsuspecting travellers. Hope this helps someone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe_in_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We were amazed by the space, quality, provided cutlery, cookware and plates and cups etc. We could see the water but it was a bit too cool in February to use the balcony and BBQ.

The location is excellent with water access and we enjoyed a walk round the property in the morning. The welcome in the lobby was very good and we met some of the other guests who all seemed pleased with the surroundings. Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Engineer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

The accommodations are spectacular, very modern and all the little things were included such as specialty teas, all cooking utensils we needed were provided to whip up a big seafood dinner and deep tubs to soak away the stress. We booked a three bedroom and we each had our own bathroom and comfortable beds.

The grounds were still a bit bare, no landscaping has been planted but they have big plans and I look forward to seeing the final product. The trail down to the beach is wide and not too steep.

Had a great time.

  • Liked — The modern design
  • Disliked — No king bed
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HarbourHighlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

Spent a weekend in Parksville attending a Christmas Party. Have stayed in Parksville a fair bit, so decided to try the latest (and possibly greatest!) place.

First off, the accommodations are fabulous. Very new, very luxurious. And the units have EVERYTHING. Fully stocked kitchens, stainless steel appliances, granite counters, BBQs, big LCD TVs, DVD players (with movies available at the front-desk), beautiful furniture, private balconies, comfortable beds, heated floors, gorgeous modern washrooms, fireplaces, the list just keeps going. Staff is excellent as well. All in all, I was blown away with the quality. Parksville is a beautiful town, and Sunrise Ridge has direct beach access as well.

I understand there is still a restaurant and pool being developed, but until then Tigh-na-mara’s facilities are just a few steps away. I’ve paid over double for places that don’t even come close. Very satisfied customer, look forward to staying at Sunrise Ridge again!

  • Liked — The fantastic rooms
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GSXR-DAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
63.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing