We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS RESORT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS RESORT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We had the best romantic weekend getaway at the Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort. The rooms are stunning and absolutely impeccable - you can tell that attention to detail is paramount. I also loved the jet tub in the bathroom! Every morning we got up and took a long walk on the beach which is just steps away. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating and directed us to some fabulous restaurants and activities during our weekend. I would definitely recommend this for any couple wanting a romantic getaway but also for families as there is so much to do in the surrounding area! We travel extensively and i can honestly say that this was one of my favourite resorts - I will definitely be back!

  • Liked — The actual units were impeccably kept and beautifully furnished - very luxurious
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvtotravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
75
76
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

My family and I just spent the long weekend at the Sunrise Ridge Resort, and we had a great time!
It is true that this property is in its humble beginnings as a major hotel/resort destination, and does not have ammenities such as restaurant and pool, however we were told this during the reservation process, so there were no surprises. The neighbouring resort (a stones throw away) has a restaurant and spa facilities if need be.
The decor of the lodge is top notch, modern with a strong influence of West Coast with large wooden beams throughout the Porte Cocher and Lobby. There is also a full artist rendition of the upcoming pool...make that pools!...which look absolutely stunning. A model of the finished product in a side lounge area (which by the way is beautiful) is impressive and includes a restaurant...makes me want to come back to see the progress.
Our room was a two bedroom with a queen bed in each (extremely comfortable), a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and a beautiful marble top table. The flat screen televisions were a nice touch as well as the gas barbecue located on our patio. My three year old daughter told us during our first night that she liked her new home..we had to break the news to her..she didn't take it too well.
Staff was extremely friendly and courteous, top marks there.
We will definitely be going back and we look forward to the additions upcoming.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatGuy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

The advertising in expedia was false. The amenities listed do not exist. No internet, no pools. It really isn't even a hotel! No staff after 9 pm and no housekeeping. The following was our experience: Our room was through a locked door into a foyer entrance into 2 rooms. However, the key to our room did not work. After several tries by hotel staff it still would not work. To leave our room we had to leave the door ajar so we could get back in. Instead of a peep hole was just a hole through which people could look into our room. We left to next day to go see the tall ships. The staff all leave at 9 pm! So we had to phone to make sure we could get into our room. When we got back to the hotel a 11 pm we found our room had not been cleaned and there were no clean towels. We had to phone the emergency number to get a staff member and they had to send someone to give us clean towels. When has why our room wasn't clean they stated they do not have daily cleaning staff! As far as all the amenities they say they have? They don't! No pools, no complimentary internet ... nothing! I am very disappointed in the hotel and Expedia for ranking it a 3 star and providing false advertising about the hotel.

  • Liked — The actual room excluding the lock that did not work and the hole in the door .. was good
  • Disliked — No houskeeping
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bdt149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2008
Unfortunately, the advertising on Expedia was false. We were listed on their site as if we were fully completed. We have removed ourselves from Expedia until the proper information is listed. These guests were the first to stay in this unit, as the Lodge building has just been finished to give us 42 units in 4 seperate buildings. When we realized we had an issue with the lock we offered to upgrade the guests complimentary to a one bedroom suite next door. They declined the move.
We do now offer a 24 hour desk. We do not offer housekeeping service on a daily basis but do offer mid cleans for visits of more than 4 days. Our housekeeping and maintenance team are here every day and are available if requested. All of our suites come equipped with dishwashers and washer/dryers for those who would prefer to be more self sufficient.
We do offer complimentary wireless internet.
These guests were with us for two nights, I was happy to hear when they called at 11:30pm for clean towels that we were able to have someone in the lobby within 5 minutes with fresh towels. As I mentioned, we now have a 24 hour Guest Services desk.
We did have more than one unhappy Expedia guest. We are not given contact information through Expedia for arrivals so were not able to contact the couple to make them aware of our status. We also now have access to an outdoor pool, hot tub and sauna immediately next door to us.
We are very clear with all prospective guests regarding the state of construction. Knowing this, feedback regarding the rooms and the Resort have been extremely positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Acres Resort
Beach Acres Resort
#2 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing