We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting and room but it needs work. No A/C and no ice or drink machines.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and room but it needs work. No A/C and no ice or drink machines.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We rented 4 suites for our family. Rooms are nicely appointed. However there is no A/C in the whole building. Rooms were unbearably hot. A couple if rooms had nice decks with table and chairs but no umbrella making the deck useable. Two days in a row we had to travel to the nearest gas station to get ice. Asked for a wake up call which came 32 mins late. Good thing it wasn't our ferry day.
I think the owners need to spend time there to see the
conveniences that need to be
Installed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
75
76
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night here this August and really enjoyed it! The room was on the corner in building 4 and had a view of the ocean in the distance. The room itself was bigger then our apartment at home and we loved having the kitchen and gas BBQ on the deck. The bed was comfortable and luxurious and for two of us we almost didn't know what to do with all the space. The staff at check in were so friendly and we were provided with a folder full of information on the surrounding area. The pool and hot tub were great and the walk down to the beach was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been wanting to book here for years, but I won't go anywhere there is no pool or hot tub so as soon as we heard they were in, we booked. We are trying to trade our condo for one here for a week, but since they are nearly always booked, that is close to impossible, but you can book rooms as well. Loved the room, even though it was small...but knew we were getting a lock off. Awesome balcony, which was the size of the room almost, taking the edge off the small room. But not all the lock offs have them so be warned. Also it had a great little mini kitchen area, so if you like doing some meals it does have the little frig, micro, full coffee pot (thank God), toaster electric tea pot and some dishes. Nice little bathroom, HUGE shower, but we had weak water pressure. Overall we were happy. I was dying to look at the 2 bedroom but had no opportunity. I am sure the bigger suites are much larger. The bottom line is these are nice rooms. Yes, if it's 85 degrees it will be hot...how often could we POSSIBLY need AC in the Northwest?? And the elevator really IS hot...but this area offers a multitude of things to do and good restaurants, etc. If you are on a trip where you are just wanting to relax and read on your balcony and barbecue your dinner then get a 1 bedroom...you will be just fine.

Room Tip: If you are getting just a room, and you want a balcony, call the resort so you know you can get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were booked in a tiny studio and I do mean tiny. There was not enough room for a table. The room was 85 degrees when we arrived and was terribly uncomfortable in the heat. No where near the ocean in fact we overlooked the trailer park next door. I was so disappointed when I asked about the room temp when I was told the most of the owners lived back east and did not care about the uncomfortability of the rooms. Will NEVER stay there again and will let everyone know about the lack of amenities unless you are willing to pay the $400 per night rate.

Room Tip: Dpn't go here unless you can afford one of the high priced condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Good afternoon Elaine,
It is a concern for us that you have such harsh things to say about our resort. I understand there is frustration regarding the temperature of the room. You did book your stay through a third party on llne reservation site that does not give us any of your contact information. This of course means that we are unable to talk to you directly and give you additional information on the resort. You did book into one of our studio units, which is the least expensive and smallest room style on the property. Our property is 10.2 acres which starts overlooking beautiful Craig Bay, and yes the units right at the waterfront (three bedroom, full kitchen units) are far more expensive than what you may have paid to the online company. That being said however, there are other rooms styles which range in price from what you paid to that $400 dollar rate and various rates in between. We have Studios, Jr. Suites1, 2 and 3 bedroom units that come in at various rates, and some do have air conditioning. I am not sure who would have told you that most of our owners live back east so don't care about the comfort of the units, as that is absolutely untrue. What I will say is that we have been dealing with an 8 week period of much higher temperatures than normal. We have some owners who added air conditioning to their units this last summer, and some who are looking into this in the future. I am investigating this comment, and would love to be able to give you a call regarding them. We take all comments seriously, and do our best to make everyone's experience an enjoyable. We are still developing and at the end of July opened our brand new swimming pool, hot tub and fitness facility which we are very proud of,
Sincerely
Robynne Shaw
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Sunrise Ridge for a week in late July/early August. The room was beautifully appointed with high-end furnishings, and a granite/stainless steel kitchen. This is not really a hotel, but vacation rental condos. Therefore, there is no daily housekeeping, and no restaurant on site. Nonetheless, it's well worth a stay. Despite the name, it's not really a waterfront resort. The ocean is nearby, but you have to walk a fairly long and steep path to get there. And it does not have the usual resort amenities, such as housekeeping or a restaurant or bar. We were there as the newly built pool opened. Our daughter used the pool, and loved it. The adjacent fitness facility seemed to be popular, as well.

The facility does not have air conditioning, and during our summer stay, the room got quite hot. A fan was supplied, and we had to put it next to an open door to cool the unit down.

Quiet time is 11:00 pm. During our stay, there were some noisy evening gatherings near the pool, but the quiet time rule was observed. If you have younger children with earlier bedtimes, you probably don't want a room facing the pool.

Staff members were always friendly and helpful.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgaryroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, BC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went with friends and children. We had a 3 bedrooms condo. This was a great way to spend time with friends. Great furniture and the kitchen was perfect to entertain. Everyone had their privacy and the children had their own bedroom with bathroom. We will be there again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sookeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family recently rented two units at the Sunrise Ridge Resort after many emails and phone calls to confirm we were getting exactly what we needed. Upon arrival we discovered that the reservation was mishandled and spend the first 20 minutes trying to get it resolved. We were eventually given two rooms that worked for us. However, this is not a resort, it's a time-share rental - no restaurant - no housekeeping.

The most deceiving thing of all is that it is not a water-front property! The photos on the website lead you to believe they are right on the cliff overlooking the water, but that isn't the case at all. You have to walk down a very long driveway to get to the beach and the beach itself is rocky. There are far nicer beaches further north about a 5 minute drive away. There are 3-4 units at this location that would have a view, but certainly not the majority of units.

Units were very hot with a lack of proper ventilation. Electrical breakers kept kicking out and had to be reset. Kitchens contained the basics so if you plan on doing any cooking, bring items from home. Units are modern and new, but one of the units looked out onto a pile of dirt where it looks like they are getting ready to build another complex. We were told the swimming pool, hot tub and exercise room would be open when we got there, but they were not.

All in all I would not recommend. Upon leaving and turning in the keys, the manager didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay. I think that speaks volumes!!

Room Tip: There are other accommodations throughout Parksville. Make sure you know what you are gettting. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhaliaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Acres Resort
Beach Acres Resort
#2 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing