We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Sunrise Ridge over the Easter weekend and just loved our suite (232A). It was spacious and stylish and modern and sleek. Very comfortable! Beautiful finishes and a lovely setting in the woods with a little view of the ocean and the resort's grounds. We look forward to seeing the resort grow, as the pool and rec facilities are just getting built now. We loved it! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you can likely imagine, we are also very excited about having our pool, hot tub and fitness facility being constructed now. It will be a great addition to our resort. Thank you so much for your review. It is much appreciated!
Sincerely
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I just spent a very comfortable month at this resort. It is well equipped and modern with stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, in-room laundry and best of all - in-floor heat.
It was peaceful and quiet, two little deer came to snack on the grass very morning. There is no restaurant on site but there is lots of choice in nearby Parksville for eating places.
There is a lovely coffee lounge on the main floor of the lodge with free coffee every morning.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you so much! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your month here. It is always nice to hear such positiive feedback, and sincerely hope that we will see you again for your "snowbird" getaway next year!
Warm Regards,
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

After being on the Via Rail train for 4 nights its was great to finally to be in a hotel room.
First impressions of the unit was...this is just like home! Very modern and clean. It had a full kitchen, laundry, and a great patio area with fireplace. So nice.!
We went to the super market just about 5 minutes down the road and stocked up on supplies for the 4 day stay. The kitchen had everything to work with.
Bed was very comfortable and the bed linens and bathroom towels we first class.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful (even when they had to come show us how to lock the patio door). And we had our own bbq just outside. The common patio area was right out of a decorating book.
The first morning we woke to a small herd of deer just outside our door...so Im thinking that the area must be very quiet...

This was a great place to come "home" to after touring the area...and we would return if we ever have the chance to visit Parksville again...

Room Tip: We had a unit in the back on the first floor...this upper floors had balconies..I liked the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are in your mid 50's would not recommend this place. It seems hotel caters to the younger crowd. You can hear everything between the floors. We went up there for a special b'day celebration to get away from it all with some peace and quiet. Management only seem to care about their profits and not their customers. We did not get any sleep for 2 days and all they said was sorry. Did not reimburse us. Did nothing except at 1:00 in the morning maybe knocked on their door I think. Anyway would definitely recommend to partyers not to the older ones who are looking for a quiet place to stay for 150 a night. Not worth it!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Please allow me to start by saying that we appreciate all feedback, good or bad, that will help us to improve our service to our guests. Although I certainly understand your frustrations in being kept awake, I am slightly confused about the "customer service" comment, as you have made it sound as though we did absolutely nothing to assist you with your problem. As I understand it, you had called down prior to 10:00 pm to say that the guests above you were being noisy, and complained about being put beneath a noisy group. At that time, our Guest Services Manager explained to you that we don't have anyway of knowing who will be noisy and who will not when making a reservation, and did not intentionally put you beneath noisy guests, and that there is an 11:00 noise curfew at the resort. At that time, he made an offer to you to move you to a different room, which you declined. I understand that it was not likely really convenient for you to change rooms at that time, but he felt that would llkely be the best solution, even though he intended on checking out the noise level. It would ensure that this noise would not be a bother to you at any time throughout the night. He then went up to the room in question, entered the foyer area, as he was going to speak them, and listened for several minutes. There was no noise at that time, so he made the assumption that it had stopped. The room was also checked on later during the night, and when the noise was heard, the guests were asked to stop.
As you can see by many previous reviews, our resort is normally very quiet and peaceful, but there will be the odd time, as with any resort, when that is not the case. We are in no way a "party" place and do not cater to any particular age group or guest type. We have many guests of all ages stay with us, some on a regular basis, who thoroughly enjoy their stay.
It is unfortunate that your stay on this weekend was not satisfactory, and would be happy to speak to you in person to see if we can do something that will make you feel you were listened to.
As I said, we do take these comments seriously and did think we had offered a solution that would eliminated the problem for you at the time. I look forward to speaking with you.
Sincerely
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is an excellent facility, accommodations are excellent, hospitality is excellent, cleanliness and location all excellent.

If there is one drawback it is that there isn't a restaurant, this is to come at a later stage in the development. I wouldn't let this deter you from enjoying this classy facility; you will be hard pressed to beat it.
Another review mentions Jack Chambers and I too can verify his professionalism and sincere care for the visitor to this facility.

It was a business meeting and workshop in a first class environment, we were a group of 35 in total and we had ample seating room with Mr. Chambers readily available for setup of video equipment.

I have traveled extensively internationally and I found the Sunrise Ridge very comfortable and appealing.

I will not hesitate to stay again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in a smaller building with fewer units all easily accessible without having to take an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FergusVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay and business meeting here at the resort. We certainly appreciate Jack, our Guest Services Manager, and his attention to customer service and detail as well. We enjoyed your group very much, and look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been 2 times now and love the accommodations. The only downside is access to the beach and the fact that the resort doesn't yet have anything in the way of a pool or other recreation type facilities. Regardless, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavGafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to seeing you return!
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night on October 2 in a queen studio. We loved it! The room was very clean and I am very picky when it comes to cleanliness. It looked as if we were the first guests ever to stay in the room. Beautiful modern and trendy furnishings and an amazing rain style shower. Also both staff members we dealt with during check in/check out were very pleasant. Yes, the wifi was slow and not very usable but we were not there to use Internet/watch tv. I will definitely recommend this resort to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

The team at Sunrise Ridge would like to thank you for your positive review and kind words. Guest comfort, customer service and a great experience are what we do our best to ensure, and it is so rewarding to hear that we have been able to acheive that. We hope to be welcoming you back in the future!
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
63.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $115 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing