We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We found our 1-bedroom suite on the top floor of the 4-story building to be very modern, luxurious, spotless and completely equipped. It was so convenient having the full kitchen, barbeque, and washer/dryer (especially after the Horne Lake Caves!). The management was very good, great service. It was very quiet. The housekeeping staff went out of their way when I forgot an item in the room. The beach is amazing, you can walk for miles when the tide is out. It's worth checking the tide tables (the front desk has them posted) so you don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pretty_Picky_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Our team at Sunrise Ridge is so pleased to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your getaway, and want to thank you so much for posting this review, so others can see what a wonderful time they can experience while here. I hope we get the pleasure of seeing you back with your friends or family again soon!

Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    66
    29
    11
    15
See reviews for
80
80
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Hot Springs, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was excellent!! Had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite for the family and we really enjoyed it!! Being so close to the water was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Lots of information in the welcome package as well for finding things to do. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygurl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
The feedback from your stay with us is very much appreciated. Our team works hard to ensure that the guest experience is always front of mind, and we are so pleased that yours was so enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your comments, and we certainly look forward to seeing you again!
Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family of five stayed at this resort just one night. The two bedroom suite itself was fantastic - very spacious, very expensively decorated, and very comfortable. Staff were quite friendly and helpful. However, the "resort" contains little aside from the suites themselves. There is no swimming pool on site (there is access to a pool in another resort nearby) and there are no dining facilities. While there is access to the nearby beach, it involves a considerable walk, first on a road and then on a rocky beach (past Canada geese and their product) before getting to the sandy beach itself. While the Sunrise Ridge worked out well for us for the one night, were we to have a longer stay in the Parksville area in the future, we would most certainly explore other options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlovanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room, and that those things we do offer were appreciated during your visit. It is 400 yards to our beach, and at this time it is rocky for about the first 10 or 15 feet. Believe it or not this changes over the years, I suppose with what the tide brings in or out, and there are times that our beach is all sand. Certainly passed that first bit, it is lovely. There is a pool, hot tub and fitness center planned for future construction, however there is not a confirmed date for completion at this time. I hope you will consider calling us for your next stay in the Parksville area to enquire about these amenities, and look forward to having you return. Again, the time taken to provide feedback and the information this provides is greatly appreciated.
Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've been meaning to write a review about this place for quite some time, but haven't until now as I prefer to not think about it . . .
My 2 sisters and I stayed here for 2 nights for our annual "Sisters' Retreat." When we came to check in, we were advised our room wasn't ready yet, although it was 10 minutes before check-in time. It was not ready for over an hour after that, and we did finally get to check in, the amenities were not what we had been promised. When we called the front desk to inquire, we were told there was nothing else available, and if we'd like to go elsewhere, they would reimburse us our money. It was a long weekend, end of the day, and of course there was nowhere else to go, so we were stuck. After a great deal of complaining, we were finally upgraded to a bigger suite, but they were not gracious about it at all.
On a separate occasion, there was a great special advertised on-line, so we thought we'd give them a 2nd chance. We made our reservation, but then got an email stating there had been a mistake, and were told we should have known they wouldn't have a rate that low! Really? We should have known?
I would recommend you avoid this place and their HUGE lack of customer service at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Having said that, I remember the instance very clearly, and have plenty of documentation on it. I think there are several key details not included in your statements. You stayed as a guest here over the busiest weekend of the year in 2008, and we had no availability to change your room the first night of your stay. I regret that you feel the upgrade on the second night of your stay was not done graciously, however that is not at all how we recall it. We in fact, due to a last minute cancellation contacted you immediately and were able to move some reservations around in order to have you upgraded from a one bedroom suite, to what we would consider the premier 2 bedroom suite on the property, at the original one bedroom rate, as well as offered to move your luggage etc. should you decide to go out for the day, so you wouldn't have to stay around waiting for your new unit to be cleaned and ready for the move. Notes on the reservation indicate that you were very happy to be upgraded, and everything seemed to be fine. With regard to the reservation you attempted to make in 2009, it was not an advertised special in any way, and in fact a glitch in our On-line booking engine was only picking up the charge for additional people in the room, and not the double occupancy rate that is standard to begin with. You were booking for a date in August, and yes, your confirmatiion from the on line booking engine did state you were getting your unit for $20.00 per night, plus taxes, Immediately we looked after remedying the problem, and contacted you regarding this. Perhaps it was unfair to say "As a past guest we are certain you recognize that we were recently having challenges with the rate on our on-line reservation system", and in hind site, realize that may not have been obvious to you. We also brought to your attention at that time the disclaimer on the website stating that stated - "In the event of a pricing error on our website, the quoted rate from our reservation staff will be correct:" Our emails to you were very apologetic, and after correspondence from with the General Manager at that time, you were offered what was still a significantly discounted rate due to the inconvenience caused to you. You chose to cancel the reservation.
Although I understand your frustration, I am surprised that this has come as a Trip Advisor review more that 4 years after you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Sunrise Ridge from August 12-17/2012. Beautiful room with comfortable beds. Nice deck with older, but functioning BBQ on it. No air conditioning, but we were able to get a fairly good breeze through the suite with the provided fans (although still quite hot one night). No pool, but access to outdoor pool at hotel next door. A bit of a hike to the beachfront on the property, but we just drove to Rathtrevor beach anyway. All in all, a very enjoyable stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bjcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the resort. We appreciate your positive feedback, and are really pleased that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back!
Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice room...fridge microwave, good size clean bathroom. BUT NOTHING ELSE. No aircon, no bar, no restaurant, not much of a lounge, no pool, no shop for provisions. Not walkable to stores. Rocky beach accessible by zig-zag path so even sea bathing difficult. Would suit Trappist monk on retreat!! The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. I'm not sure how you booked your reservtation with us, whether it was on line or dircectly at the resort. If you called the resort directly, the fact that there are no amenities would have been explained to you, including the fact that arrangements are in place with neighbouring resorts that allow our guests to have the use of their amenities at no cost. If it was on line, we are very careful to make sure there is no expectation of these amenities. That being said, the future plans for the resort currently include a swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are not a finished resort as yet, but look forward to the future and being able to offer ammenities on site, that our guests now have go off site for.We appreciate any feedback in order to improve. We hope to see you again!

Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The first night we had a studio and the second night, we had a one bedroom with the lock off studio.

Studio
The studio is like a hotel room with a mini kitchenette. The furnishing were nice and new and the deck was quite large. I heard there are some studios without a deck, so be sure to request it, if that's important to you. There was also no tub in the room, only a large shower. We looked onto the road but it's a dead end so it was very quiet. The only cons of this room was that the coffee maker was left dirty and the room was a bit dusty. I mentioned it to management after we had left and the manager was very responsive. Had we brought it to their attention, I'm sure they would have fixed the problems. There is NO air conditioning at the resort so be prepared for some warmth. There were plenty of windows and a fan so we were able to keep the room reasonably cool despite the +25 degree weather.

One Bedroom
We were really impressed with the quality and the size of the one bedroom. It was HUGE. The washer/dryer was nice, the kitchen is huge with everything you need for cooking. The bathroom was also a nice size and nicely appointed. The tv's are small but I don't think you go to Parksville to watch tv.

Watch their website for specials as they won't offer them to you unless you ask for it.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: The room styles vary a lot so make sure you request specifics (ie. patio) if it's important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you so much for your kind words. We try very hard here at the resort to overcome some of the challenges we have, and appreciate very much when that is met with understanding. We are very excited about the future of the resort, which should include some amenities that our guests will be able to enjoy. I also appreciate that you have included tips for guests, especially the one that implies they should mention things that are important to them when making a reservation. Although these can't always be accommodated, our team certainly does their absolute best to make sure those special requests are granted. It is always great to receive notification of a review over Trip Advisor, and very much respect that it takes time and thought to put one together. Thank you again, and we sincerely look forward to having you return!
Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,101 reviews
8.6 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing