We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

For the price was surprised when walked into the room and it felt like a closet. There was a main door and then on the wall to the outside was a door with a window. Dark and dreary. A best western or quality inn would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stangcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your experience while staying at Sunrise Ridge. We take these very seriously, and are very dissappointed that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory. We do our very best at the resort to ensure that our guests are having a wonderful experiene here, and had you voiced your concern when you arrived to your unit, we certainly would have done our best to make your stay more enjoyable, but finding alternate accommodations within the resort. We have several different types studio units, and if we couldn't find one to your liking, an upgrade may have been offered. We appreciate that everyone has different tastes, and do our very best to satisfy our guests to ensure their experience here is a positive one. We hope to be able to have you stay with us again, to ensure that we have the opportunity to give you a better experience which you certainly deserve. Again, we appreciate any feedback we get, and thank you for letting us know how we can improve.

Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    63
    27
    11
    14
See reviews for
77
77
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We come to Parksville a couple of times per year to getaway. Always stay at Beach Club Resort but because it's high season $399 per night, we decided to try something new for $249. Although nice, we all kind of walked in and stood there just trying to figure out what was not quite right. Dark, sage green walls, very little light in master bedroom (could be a downer in Jan). Although there were three tvs, they were a little bigger than an IPad. We had a good laugh trying to watch a movie and finally gave up. Also, no bathtub in master bedroom.

On the plus side, extremely quiet, beautiful, well stocked (Maxwell Williams dinnerware) kitchen, spotless.

We were on bottom floor. Get a room on second floor at least. No air conditioning - just open windows with no screens mostly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel8853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review on our property. It is unfortunate that the colour of the room was not to your liking. We have several different colours schemes throughout the resort, and would be happy to do our best to get you into something other than the sage green should you decide to come to stay again. Colour certainly is a personal preference, We want all of our guests to be relaxed and happy during their stay with us. We do have small TV's in the bedrooms, and most rooms have larger ones in the living room. Unfortunately, the TV in that unit had stopped working, and all we had in storage was a smaller one, which we hoped would suffice until we were able to replace it with what should have been in there. We have many units that have a soaker tub in the master bedroom, but not all rooms are the same. Again, please be sure to specify this when making a reservation, and although we couldn't guarantee 100% you would have this, we always do our very best to accommodate any special requests we get. Screens for all windows are currently being addressed.
We value your opinion, and hope that in future we will be able to address all of your concerns, and very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, even with it not being all positive. Delighted to hear that you appreciate the finer things such as the dinner ware and natural beauty of the resort, and hope that we have the opportunity to "dazzle you" the way many others have been dazzled.

Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was on my honeymoon and we had been staying at a very disappointing resort next door. We desperately needed to change hotels and called Sunrise Ridge and spoke with Jessica. She was very sympathetic with our needing to be out of our current hotel ASAP and described a lovely sounding room for us. We immediately booked and came over.

Jessica was probably one of the best front desk clerks we have ever dealt with in all our hotel stays ever. She made us feel very welcome and special. They have a true gem with her.

Our room was amazing. With a full kitchen, living room, two baths, soaker tub, large balcony with a BBQ, washer and dryer and so many little touches of everything you could need. We loved the room so much we ended up staying in and eating instead of going out most nights which is a good money saver.

The room was affordabley priced and we were so happy we have booked again for our one year anniversary next year.

Jessica and the wonderful resort have made return clients out of us!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyalexmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

For selfcatering stay an ideal place. As we stayed only 1 night, we were missing a coffeeshop for a quick breakfast. Staff very friendly and room (DBLB) was clean with good bed and a well equiped kichenette, clean and nice bathroom ,too.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seppo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our resort, and thank you very much for your kind comments. It is of utmost importance to our entire team at the resort that the experience here is an enjoyable one. We certainly hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just came back from 2 nights at this resort. The resort/condo was beautiful. Very well laid out and all the comforts of home (and more). We had the 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom unit. Could have been very relaxing except for the repairs that needed to be done. On our first night we checked in around 4 pm in daylight. The first thing we noticed was that the fridge smelled like stale fish. We called and reported this right away and they gave us a box of baking soda to put in the fridge. As it got darker and we started requiring the use of things we started to realize all the problems with the unit. Such as: light bulbs burnt out in both bedrooms, a blind in the master bedroom near the 2 person soaker tub that would not go down (making it impossible to have a bath with any privacy from your neighbours), a leaking dishwasher and a toilet in the master bedroom that sounded like it was screaming when you flushed (and I mean loud).

Because of how late it was, we did not report this until the next morning. We were offered the chance to move units if they couldn't fix the problems. So we went out for the day and returned. When we checked with the front desk upon our return, they had no idea what we were talking about, almost to the point where we felt they didn't believe us. They did say that the person in the morning shift was new and may not have recorded the issues in their system. But we told them that she did take a lot of notes to pass to the maintenance person.
When we got back to our room, there was a note from the maintenance man saying that he had fixed the problems and to let him know if anything else happened. Unfortunately he had gone home sick for the day, so that would have been impossible. We noticed that the blinds had been fixed and the toilet was no longer screaming so we assumed that all the repairs had been done...NOT. The bulbs in the bedroom light had not been fixed as the light still did not work. When we raised the blind it broke again and we could not lower it. We did not use the dishwasher till the next morning at checkout, so we did not know if that was fixed.

At checkout the next morning the manager checked us out. When he asked how our stay was, we told him of the problems we had and that we hadn't been able to use the soaker tub the first night. The main reason we chose this unit in the first place was the awesome soaker tub and we were very disappointed. We told him that we did not feel the room was worth the $179.00 a night with all the issues. And although he was apologetic he didn't offer to rectify the situation.

I agree with a previous review that it seemed that all they cared about was they already have our money and that was it.

In other hotels, when there was a problem (i.e. being stuck in the elevator, or no a/c in the unit in hot summer weather) the managers have bent over backwards to make up for it as the issues were beyond our control. This is good customer service and we will always go back to those hotels as they acknowledge our inconvenience. They realize that giving a little now will mean repeat business in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you try everything in the room before you unpack. And tell the front desk right away for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pacificcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. Although it is not acceptable to have the kind of maintenance issues you have referred to, I am a little confused by the "Lack of customer service" title and some of the comments. It is my understanding that when the very first issue (the "fishy" smell" in the fridge, was brought to the attention of the Front Desk, you requested another box of baking soda to place in the freezer, at which time the Guest Services Agent actually offered to find you a different room, which you declined, and a box of baking soda was provided for you. In the morning when you were on your way out and the other issues were reported, a room move was offered again, and you decided to wait and see if the items could be fixed. While you were away, our maintenance manager went to the room and fixed the things that could be dealt with at that time, and even left a note stating what he had done. When you arrived back that day to ask if they had been fixed, The guest services agent you spoke to explained that she had she had just that minute arrived for her shift, and had not had an opportunity to check emails that would bring her up to date with what had taken place during the day, and that she would check everything out and give you a call once she had familiarized herself with the situation. She checked the informtation she had, and went to the extent of calling the maintenance manager who had gone home ill, and then called you once again to see if things had been looked after. You indicated that everything seemed fine. The problem with the lamp in the bedroom was actually with the lamp, not just a bulb, and could not be fixed at the time, and granted, that should have been explained to you. The dishwasher and the toilet had both been looked after, and there was an attempt to fix the blind, which worked when the maintenance manager tried it several times, however since then, it has been discovered that it was a larger issue than what we had first suspected. Looking back on your records, I don't believe you paid $179.00 per night for this room. I understand your frustration to a point, but feel that some of your comments are not justified. We are very concerned, as we are proud of our customer service. The one other comment that was given on trip advisor regarding customer service was dealt with and remedied immediately. "Taking your money and running" is certainly not our intent at any time, and if you would like to call and discuss this further, we would be happy to try and come up with a solution that works for all. Again, we appreciate the time it takes to write a review, but did feel it was necessary to offer some defence to your comments, since any feedback we had from you directly during your stay was how much you actually loved your room. I hope I have addressed your concerns, and don’t sound overly defensive. As I said in the offset, your comments are taken seriously, hopefully you can understand my comments regarding the “customer service” aspect of your complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The room we had was beautful with full ammenites. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the ocean for beach combing. Nice central location too. We will definately return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to get away for some quiet and share some memories for myself
And my sisters, I will definitely bring my family here next month. The staff made sure to
Inquire if we needed anything, and responded to questions very promptly, thanks!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank butler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
517 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
227 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing