We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, depending on which room you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice, depending on which room you get.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here twice. Once I got a one bedroom suite in the main building (above the foyer) and it was really nice. It was new and modern, nicely decorated and for the price, a great deal. There wasn't any kind of view but it was nice. Another time I stayed in a small room (I think it was called a studio). I also had nice decor but the room was so small I was surprised. I was on business and alone and didn't have a lot to do so I almost regretted staying here. It was a cold time of year and it took a day before the room was warm enough to take a sweater off and relax. The TV was the smallest I've seen in years and years. There was no view and I did get bored. I wouldn't rent this room again and I wouldn't stay here alone on business again. It's more for relaxing. The beach was close by and I enjoyed walking down to it.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rubytuesday16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueKeyResorts, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
We appreciate all feedback received regarding our property and our Guest's experience during their stay, and are sorry your last stay was not what you were expecting. There is most definitely a difference between a one bedroom and a studio room at the resort. Perhaps on a return stay I would suggest a Jr. Suites which are a size between the studio and the one bedroom, that may be a better fit for your business purposes. It is our goal to look after any problems that are reported by guests (eg: the heat) as quickly and efficiently as possible, once they are brought to our attention. We also do everything possible to accommodate any specific requests from potential guests, so if you have a favourite building, unit or view in mind, although we cannot promise your request will be accommodated, it is our intent to do everything in our power to make the guest experience the best that it can be. Accommodating special requests where ever and whenever possible would play a large part in making that a reality.
Please feel free to phone or email me, as I would be happy to discuss this with you. We value you as a customer, and want to ensure that your next experience is the same as your first!Again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    63
    27
    11
    14
See reviews for
77
77
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Sunrise Ridge has the distinct disadvantage of being in a mediocre location in terms of resorts in Parksville. It’s not on the ocean and its most prominent view seems to be of... nothing.... It is located on the outskirts of town, on resort drive. It’s entrance has a spectacular view of the highway into Parksville.

One thing that Sunrise Ridge does have going for it is the fact that it has a decent web site, which is what lured us in. They’ve taken their photos well, but don’t be deceived: these really aren’t accurate representations of the hotel.

That’s not to say the hotel is bad. It’s not. It’s decent. Well... there are.....Let’s just say it could use some improvement.

For instance, when we arrived we were given a room. If you read the paperwork you receive carefully then you will know not to sign certain portions, which give their owners the right to spam you in whatever way they see fit - especially via phone or email. Watch out. Don’t sign anything without reading very carefully first!!!

Our room included a full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, a bedroom, and a shower. Not a tub. A shower. We said ‘no!!!!! PLEASE!!!!!! A TUB!!!!!! PLEASE!!!!!” They graciously accommodated us and moved us to a suite with a tub. And the tub was nice (except for the fixtures, which needed attention quite desperately from a plumber as they were quite loose and needed work).

The rest of the room was mediocre. There was nothing spectacular worth mentioning. In terms of resort hotels, there are better ones located in the area (The Beach Club is our favorite in Parksville so far). The rooms are okay, but they’re nothing spectacular. The decor was nice, but a little overdone (really, we did not need the faux-fur bear skin). The location is incredibly ‘meh’ considering other resorts/hotels in the area. The direct marketing clause that was written right into the normal hotel agreement was so sleazy that we refused to sign it without striking out and initialing that portion of the agreement.

If you have the option, you can do better. Try the Beach Club Resort or the Crown Mansion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nathanandjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueKeyResorts, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We are sorry to hear that your stay at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort was not what you were expecting. We certainly do our best here to make sure that everyone has a positive experience that will entice them to coming back time and again. There is a little confusion regarding the statement that we are not on the ocean, we are, in fact a 10.2 acre property that begins on the bluff overlooking Craig Bay, in the same way that most of the resorts along Resort Drive do. Granted not all of our rooms have an ocean view, but many do, and if an ocean view is requested at the time of making a reservation, or at check in, then every effort is made to accommodate that request.
All of our one bedroom suites with 2 washrooms have beautiful soaker bath tubs, however we do have very few (4 in fact) of our one bedroom - 1 washroom suites that have shower only.
Our registration paperwork is meant to give our guests the opportunity of NOT receiving promotions, rather than just assuming that because they have stayed here, we have the right to be sending these out. Information is not shared with outside parties, and is used to offer previous guests access to any specails or promotions we may be offering. Guests have the right to opt out of this at any time.
We certainly believe our suites to be far more than mediocre, however it is all personal preference, and everyone has a right to their opinion.
We do appreciate the feedback we receive, whether it be by phone, our in room comment cards, or Trip Advisor, and if you wish to speak to me directly please feel free to call the respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I would Not recommend this resort if you plan on staying there when the weather is warm. After checking into our room it came to our surprise to find that our room had no air conditioning but instead a portable fan. The room was like a sauna. Our room was facing the sun so their was no relief from the heat even if the windows were opened wide. We were travelling with our 4 month old so we asked for another fan which they brought up to us but that didn't help the cool room down. Our baby monitor was able to read the temperature in the room and it was was 29 degrees celcius until the really early morning and it then only dropped to 24 degrees - it was like sleeping in a sauna. We complained at the front desk and we got a 10% discount which is nothing when the whole reason you stay at a resort like this is to get a goods night sleep. So thank you for the 12 bucks and you are VeRY welcome for this terrible review. I wish we knew in advance that the place had no air conditioning as I would have stayed anywhere else even if it meant paying more money.

On a bright note, the room was really nice, shower was awesome(when the handle didn't fall off). The 16" was very clear if you were 4 feet away.

For what its worth my wife told me to scale down my comments. Take that any which way you like... Coles Notes version.. StAY AwAY

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WindsOrtraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueKeyResorts, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay here at the resort. Although not a positive review, we feel that all reviews are important in order to help us to become a great place for people to stay when visiting the Oceanside area. I would very much appreciate a chance to speak with you to discuss the experience you had while here. Our intention is, as always, to do what we can to make everyone's stay an experience they will remember for all the right reasons. Please feel free to contact me directly to resolve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We visited Parksville for the first time and stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was spacious and richly carpeted, and there were hardcover books on the shelves that made the whole room look magnificent. The best of all is beautiful beach right outside the hotel and the well-equiped eat-in kitchen which made our dinner unforgetable. We will defintely visited this place again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamOfMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Since it was just for one night, my boyfriend and I chose the studio suite. It was quite small with a tiny bar (sink, microwave, bar fridge) and dishes/cutlery for two. We reserved a month in advance and were told that we would have an ocean view room if possible. While we knew it was not guaranteed, the second floor view of the gravel parking lot through a small bedroom-sized window wasn't thrilling but was fine. The large, glass shower in the nice-sized bathroom was lovely (despite needing the assistance of the handyman to fix it so that it turned on). The door to our room shared a "mud room" with the neighboring room, so each time they exited or entered it sounded as if they were in our suite! One aspect that made us chuckle was the exceptionally small TV mounted in the center of the wall. It was quite possibly the smallest television we've ever seen in a hotel room. Not that we were looking forward to watching the tube, but on an otherwise empty "focal wall" the tiny TV looked almost comical.

The room was about a 10 minute walk to the beach, no pool, restaurant or fitness center on site. Comfy bed, oscillating fan in room, no A/C. The front desk employees were friendly. Experience was good, but nothing remarkable.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the beautiful, sandy beach at low tide. Can walk for (what feels like) miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roaminnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Early stages of what may become a very nice place. Our first room was called a "studio", which was essentially an extra bedroom for the adjoining room. Walked in and found the room 77 degrees when the outside temp. was 68. No windows other than a door that opened tonthe common walkway and elevator. Couldn't leave that open at night.

We were "upgraded" to a one bedroom suite, also in the high 70's. No air conditioning on the property we were told. I can't imagine what it would be like when the weather is warm.

There are no resort amenities such as spa, eating or drinking places here either. The name says "waterfront", but that can't be seen at all. There is a gravel road to follow approx. 600 yards through our parking lot which takes you there. Parking is a small gravel area which does not have enough spaces for the rooms served.

Once agin, beautiful rooms, too hot to enjoy. Private and quiet otherwise. If you're looking for a resort experience, it's not here. A clean, quiet and peaceful location during not too hot weather would be fine.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mort69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived on spec and only stayed one night.
The room was good and well appointed with balcony .
The only problem was that it was too hot with no air conditioning and even with window open and table fan we found it uncomfortable to sleep.
It would have been nice to have facillities in the hotel for breakfast at least.
We ate at the Tigh-Na-mara next door which was good.
Overall clean,roomy,pleasant staff and reasonable price.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
514 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
225 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing