We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VIP Motel(Parksville)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skylite Motel(Parksville)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandcastle Inn(Parksville)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Sands Resort(Parksville)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbutus Grove Motel(Parksville)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort(Parksville)(Great Value!)
$135
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort(Parksville)
$175
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,351)
Filter reviews
1,351 results
Traveler rating
841
364
84
40
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
841
364
84
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingone bedroom suitepacific prime restaurantocean viewboard walkhotel restaurantfull kitchenparksville beachbeach frontvancouver islandwasher and dryerbeautiful resortget awaycleaning staffcoffee makerpool and hot tublow tide
Filter
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 1,351 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hello. Been there for a short visit. Nice hotel, newly built. Rooms kinda lame, nothing really special for that price range. Do not get me wrong, all good but .... how to say... REALLY NOTHING SPECIAL about this place. An average hotel.

Pool was not working - some emergency repair. Did you guys hear about preventative maintenance ever? By the way, pool is out of order... Asked for a discount to sweeten the bullet... No. They offered me to use ANOTHER pool located 5 MIN DRIVE from the hotel. WHAT a JOKE! The room charge is 180 per night by the way.... did I pay for THIS kind of service? I don't think so!

Hotel is GOOD. Service and management is POOR.
End of story.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view, west wing is better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stambo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a good hotel for views - we had a two bedroom penthouse suite for two nights with prime views over the beach and water which was lovely. The rooms were a nice size for a group of five and the size of the master bedroom and ensuite bathroom was perfect for us and our two little ones. The extra studio room also had a kitchenette which was useful, but we were charged extra per night for a third adult, so I expected it to be reasonable. The main kitchen was well equipped with little cleaning kits (dishwasher tabs, scourer etc) which I thought was a nice touch, I'm a sucker for that kind of thing. The TV reception was very grim (we didn't have a reception at all in the bedroom) but we just looked out the window most of the time anyway.

I used the spa once alone and the other time with my girlfriend. The service and treatments were completely unflawed. The two ladies there are great at what they do and made us feel completely looked after. The valet service was timely and very friendly.

The area which left us frustrated and later, a little bemused, was the room service menu which really needs to be addressed in some way. There was confusion between three different menus (two online, there is no hardcopy guest book) and then also staff disputing with us what was on the children's menu (stating that side dishes were not included, when on the menu it stated they were). The food throughout was very average for the cost, although I am not sure if is is better in the restaurant.

Later during check out we had to get them to take off extra charges for bringing the food to our room (on top of the delivery and service charges, thankfully we double checked the receipts). Not good at all. Room service may not be an issue for some but we find sometimes that we do have to rely on a hotel's room service for dinners and this was just not up to scratch for what advertises itself as a luxury hotel.

All in all, an average resort with some beautiful views but for $429 per night there is definite room for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorianPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroekhuizen, General Manager at Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear VictorianPoppet,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Beach Club Resort. I’m glad you enjoyed your 2 bedroom penthouse suite and your spa treatments. We love to hear when exceptional service is received. I am very sorry for the confusion experienced with our room service menu. Our efforts to be “greener” have included the use of online guest directories, but we do have hardcopy directories available for guests who may not use internet devices. As we have recently been transitioning new room service options, there may have been some inconsistencies among our staff, and I have brought this matter to the attention of the Food and Beverage team. I sincerely regret the inconvenience this caused you, and hope you will give us a second chance to impress you with all we have to offer.

Warm Regards,

Shawna Broekhuizen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

By far one of the nicest places i have stayed at in British Columbia! The location right on a beautiful still & quite beach was breath taking! We had an upgraded room with an ocean view.. A must have!

Beautiful rooms, great customer service & an AMAZING restaurant! Pretty pricey but quite the norm for this type of resort in B.C.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a ocean view.. When spending that type of money already for a room don't be dissapointed! It's worth the extra few bucks! Don't bother with the penthouse suites.. Just a higher ceiling.. Not worth the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCanadianNavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroekhuizen, General Manager at Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Porto604,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Beach Club Resort. I’m glad you enjoyed your ocean view suite and the restaurant. It’s always great to hear from Vancouver travellers who are accustomed to “Beautiful B.C.” and have a uniquely enjoyable experience at our resort.

Warm Regards,

Shawna Broekhuizen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was a girl cousins’ reunion – it had been eleven years since we were last together. The Beach Club Resort offered the perfect setting, space, amenities, location and value.

LOCATION: right on the beach in Parksville, the Beach Club Resort is within walking distance of most things “downtown”. For our group it allowed some to go beachcombing, while others shopped or took advantage of the pool, hot tub or fitness equipment; as others simply enjoyed the comforts of the room.

SPACE: SUITE 424, in the West Wing, boasts a spacious livingroom with windows reaching to the vaulted ceiling and an uninterrupted panorama of the beach, bay and northward to Lasqueti Island. The gas fireplace is within an impressive mantel which holds the tv and dvd player and provides plenty of personal space on top. Furnishing the room are two club chairs, foot stool, a double pull-out chesterfield (which one cousin found comfortable enough to reserve as “her bed” the next time), end table, coffee table, sofa table and a dining table with chairs. We brought the arm chair in from the master bedroom and a deck chair to supplement our needs during wonderful evenings of conversation.

KITCHEN: Between the livingroom and kitchen, three comfortable bar chairs sit up to the granite counter and overlook the well equipped kitchen in which three considerate cooks could work without argument. A full size fridge with freezer held much more than we needed for our three night stay.

LAUNDRY: Washer and dryer were tucked away between kitchen and entrance door, as was a closet with ironing equipment and a half bathroom.

BEDROOMS: SUITE 424’s master bedroom holds a king-size bed, dresser, armchair (the one we took to livingroom) with footstool, drawers, end tables and sliding glass doors to a private balcony which also has access from the livingroom. A spacious ENSUITE hosts a deep soaker tub, spacious glass shower, a wide counter/vanity with sink & toiletries, two terry robes and a separated toilet.

We took advantage of the optional adjoining bedroom (making it a two bedroom suite).
ROOM 423 did not feel ‘separate’ but could be self-contained with its 4pc bathroom (much smaller in size than the master), two very comfortable pillow-top queen-size beds dressed in quality linens; a kitchenette with sink, bar fridge, coffee maker, kettle and glassware; closet (6 hangers), drawers, table and chairs, flat screen tv, plus sliding glass doors to a private, slightly larger, deck with the tremendous ocean views.

AMENITIES within the hotel, used by some, if not all, were the complimentary, no problem wifi; the pool, hot tub and some fitness equipment, however, over-all the most appreciated amenity was the beach itself as each tide brought its own fascinations.

RESTAURANTS: within the hotel were not used by our group, so we cannot comment on their value compared to the prices listed; which, being budget conscious, seemed high. We instead tried a number of ‘in town’ restaurants and found the best right across the street. Aioli Seafood Restaurant, though basic in its décor, offered tasty, well presented, reasonably priced food and had us returning two nights later. (There is a separate TripAdvisor post on Aioli Seafood Restaurant.)

VALUE: When we factor in ease of travel for most of the group, the beauty of the beachside location, the spacious livingroom/kitchen combo for six adults who wanted to share time together, the bedrooms and private decks which offered relaxed solitude, the advantage of a well equipped kitchen and access to in-town activities; the ‘value’, for us, was evident.

COMPLAINTS voiced by our group were limited to only three … one cousin didn’t care for the bars of glycerin soap, another found the yoga mats available from the fitness room to be dirty (as if they had been used as beach mats) and one would have preferred to exit the room into a standard hallway rather than an outside porch; … each minor and none deterred any from saying, “The Beach Club Resort would be an ideal place to hold our next reunion,” … and with such a place available it might be a whole lot sooner than another eleven years!

Room Tip: Rooms in the West Wing all appear to have beach/ocean views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroekhuizen, General Manager at Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear traveltales-ca,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Beach Club Resort. I’m glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs during your reunion, and it’s gratifying to receive kudos after a particularly discerning review of our amenities and features. I sincerely look forward to your future visits.

Warm Regards,

Shawna Broekhuizen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the most fantastic location you could find. It is a beautiful view of sweeping sands, oceans and mountains right outside your window. There is a wonderful boardwalk to walk all along the waterfront. The accomodation is first class and the service is very good.

The only complaint that I have is the TV reception is the pitts! We had three TV's and the reception was bad in all of them.

The swimming pool is wonderful and there is a kid's park (the best I have ever seen) just a short walk down the boardwalk. We had our family from Britain with us with a four year old and we thoroughly enjoyed our time!

Room Tip: I would choose the four storey buildings rather than the high rise. We stayed right on the water and it was beautiful. If you have kids with you the four storey building is good because the elevators are rather slow.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroekhuizen, General Manager at Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear robbi45,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Beach Club Resort. I’m glad you enjoyed the fantastic natural features surrounding our resort, and it’s great to hear you received the quality service that makes us so proud of our team.

Warm Regards,

Shawna Broekhuizen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews