We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stay at the Sandcastle for a couple of nights every 8 weeks or so. I have always found the staff very accomodating and friendly and have stayed in an assortment of rooms from the basic room plan to the larger suites. I find the rates are very competitive and reasonable for very clean and comfortable rooms. For those travelling on pleasure, it is only a short walk to the beach and right next door is Kalvas Restaurant which I consider one of the finest restaurants to dine at during my business travels. A great golf course, Morningstar is only a 10 minute drive away and a 15 minute drive takes you into Qualicum (more golf) and ocean views at the Shady Rest pub and restaurant situated right on the beach.Some of the rooms offer partial ocean views and rooms on the ground floor are available with a nice grassy area off your patio door. I guess every once in awhile travellers can have a bad experience (after reading a couple of reviews) but after many stays at the Sandcastle, I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salesbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
23
46
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

My partner and I have stayed at The Sandcastle twice, and both times we found the service to be extremely personal and hospitable. The rooms are plain but clean and the location across from the mini golf and close to the beach would be excellent for a family. Very competitive prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We have family in the area and we frequently choose to stay at the Sandcastle when we visit as it is inexpensive, the staff are terrific and it is close to our family. The breakfast on offer will see you through until you can get some more substantial food. Mostly, we grab a coffee and head over to Mom's instead. The rooms are clean and quiet. Beds and pillows are fine and the water pressure (one of my pet peeves when travelling) is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Affordable Price & Kind Caring Host ~ !

GREAT ! !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peace94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

I arrived at the Sandcastle Inn at 8:30 a.m. on the day of check-in and was able to get into my room! The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and quite spacious. For the rate of $69/night, I felt I got good value for my money. The decor is a bit outdated. There is no balcony and the windows are small but it was air conditioned. The room was extremely quiet. It was about a 5-8 minute walk to the beach and a beautiful boardwalk. A little further was a Thrifty's Food store and a couple banks. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevvy057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Pleasant, comfortable place to stay. Good rates. Friendly staff. Very clean. Central to amenities in Parksville, i.e. shopping, beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie154i949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Small hotel on the main street in Parksville, room was quiet, bed comfie. Although not on the beach it is a great location for walking to everything. Hotel is clean, room was large with separate area with table and chairs. Muffins and fruit for breakfast. I'll stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo_traveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Seashell Motel
Paradise Seashell Motel
#2 of 7 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 374 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle Inn. Since September 2009, we've been under new management with a new heart and new services. *LOCATION : 5 min. walk to beach and town. Easy access to Tofino, Mt. Washington, Nanaimo, Comox Airport etc. *FACILITY : Air conditioned, clean & cozy, non-smoking rooms, kitchenettes, coin laundry, meeting room, BBQ area *SERVICE : Free wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast, heart-warming service from our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Parksville
Sandcastle Inn Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing