We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay!”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We recently enjoyed a brief stay at this hotel. Although the room was closer to the highway than we may have liked, we had no issues with traffic or other noise during the night. The air conditioner worked great with several different settings from which to choose, and although no one will ever mistake the Sandcastle as being luxurious, it served its basic purpose very well. Breakfast was okay, not on the scale of a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express, but it was sufficient. Computer access in the meeting room was very helpful although it would be nicer if it were hooked up to a printer. All in all, our stay was comfortable for the brief time we were in that area.

Room Tip: Top floor is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reignfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
28
52
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Sandcastle Inn is a simple, no frills hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. (The carpets in the hallways were very stained, which gave the hotel a less than ideal appearance.) The staff was friendly and helpful. Erin, who worked in the morning, was was service minded--keeping the breakfast food stocked, the room tidy, and taking our tray from us. The breakfast was very simple but adequate. The muffins were fresh and tasty. There was one kind of cereal (Cheerios), orang juice, coffee, and apples. There was not a good place to eat breakfast, so we took our trays to our room, which was fine. The location worked well for going to parks in Parksville, driving up to Qualicum, or heading into sites in the interior.

Room Tip: Our room was called a "double" and did not offer any refrigerator. We later learned that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Sandcastle for one night with our 3 boys (ages 10, 7 & 7) on July 18. As per the other reviews, the staff were great and very friendly. The rooms were clean but rather small, especially for kitchenettes. The breakfast, compared to continental breakfasts at other hotels (Holiday Inn, Best Western, etc) was not great with not much selection. The Wifi was free but the signal was not great and we got dropped off the net a couple of times. We paid $142 (with tax), which I thought was not very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryandNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We might have been lucky to get a suite- it was really beautiful, clean, spacious, well equipped.

Breakfast was extremely basic- muffins and cereals. Moreover, if you came late, the muffins would be gone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina65423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by our hotel standard suite. Our room was nice and bright with a view all the things we asked for and more. Excellent value for money. The staff in the hotel were very obliging and friendly. The breakfast was adequate. Nice to finish with an apple each day. Erin, the Hotel Manager looked after the property very well and was seen on duty all the time making sure everything was up to high standards. Erin is a very personable young lady and sets high standards in the hotel It was a pleasure staying at Sandcastle Inn. We were on a short get-away for 5 nights from Victoria. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked our room it was on the 2nd floor and it was nice and bright with two windows. The windows ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenJacob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in a large double room which was clean. Wi Fi was good and free. The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful with check in/out made simple. There was no traffic noise from the nearby main road. Breakfast was not up to what I expected with very little choice on offer.
The property is about a 10-15 min walk to the shopping/eating area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SifnosNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked a double room during our recent stay. The two rooms had a connecting door and were lovely rooms. Beds were comfortable, clean and the price was right. Staff was very friendly and the morning breakfast was an added bonus. I would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bejazzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
474 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Seashell Motel
Paradise Seashell Motel
#1 of 7 in Parksville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 374 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle Inn. Since September 2009, we've been under new management with a new heart and new services. *LOCATION : 5 min. walk to beach and town. Easy access to Tofino, Mt. Washington, Nanaimo, Comox Airport etc. *FACILITY : Air conditioned, clean & cozy, non-smoking rooms, kitchenettes, coin laundry, meeting room, BBQ area *SERVICE : Free wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast, heart-warming service from our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Parksville
Sandcastle Inn Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing