We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean,quiet and price was right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
2 reviews
“Clean,quiet and price was right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Room was very clean,bed was pretty comfortable and nice and quiet.Very friendly service.Price wise about 50.00 cheaper than the other places we tried.No complaints!We didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendybraaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
37
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to have a kitchenette in our room (fridge, sink, hobs) as many rooms don't. The room itself was very comfortable, clean and tidy. We had a great sleep and it was lovely to have breakfast provided. Not the flashiest/fanciest hotel around but very nice/comfortable/clean/tidy and great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel answered all our needs – clean, comfortable, quiet, with in-room wifi and a convenient location close to restaurants, shops and the beach. Our room was on the ground floor, facing east, so we were able to enjoy the morning sun while having coffee and reading the paper on our very private little patio. A continental breakfast is included. There’s only one (cold) cereal, and not a very appealing one, but the muffins were pretty good – not the cakelike variety that often appear as part of hotel breakfasts – and there was juice and apples. Décor is not the trendiest, but we found our room quite bright and cheery, and the rate ($59 plus tax for seniors) would be hard to beat in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

...wife and I stayed here for Aug 19 and 20, 2011.
Place is really clean, room was hotel room style, really clean, no fridge, new air conditioning unit, good shower, great beds, old TV.
Price was great, $119 for Parksville in the middle of summer !Breakfast was basic, muffins, OJ and coffee. Room was quiet and parking was free and secure.
This is not a resort, no pool, no hot tub, just accommodation.
There is sooo much to do in Parksville/Qualicum we did not seek a resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Some rooms have kitchenettes others not so make sure you specify when booking. Excellent value we paid 69 dollars plus tax per night which included breakfast. Well decorated rooms free parking very helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtrippertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed a night here at the last minute on the May long weekend. I was very impressed with the quality of the room for the price we paid. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable, we enjoyed the flatscreen TV and free wireless internet. The kitchenette was conveniently stocked with dishware and cutlery, but we chose to eat out, as the hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. The location is great, right across from mini-golf and close to the beach. A continental breakfast is included, and the staff are friendly. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultraslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

I recently travelled to Parksville to participate in an old timer's hockey tournament. I booked a room at the Sandcastle Inn based on reviews available on the hotel's website. I was very pleased with the hotel and its facilities. My room was spacious, well appointed, comfortable and clean. After playing two hockey games during the day I was in need of rest and apreciated the calm and quiet atmosphere. The staff were helpful, friendly and interested in the reason for my visit to their city. They were able to provide me with useful directions and suggestions regarding restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arbutus Grove Motel
Arbutus Grove Motel
#5 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 374 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle Inn. Since September 2009, we've been under new management with a new heart and new services. *LOCATION : 5 min. walk to beach and town. Easy access to Tofino, Mt. Washington, Nanaimo, Comox Airport etc. *FACILITY : Air conditioned, clean & cozy, non-smoking rooms, kitchenettes, coin laundry, meeting room, BBQ area *SERVICE : Free wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast, heart-warming service from our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Parksville
Sandcastle Inn Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing