We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanside Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably Perfect!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent the long Easter week end there with my wife and son. We were happily surprised by the quality of the cottage (#260). Very comfy and well furnished. The kitchen was equipped with all what you could expect (wine opener included ;)) the patio has a gas BBQ and a table but unfortunately no chairs. Not far from the beach. Did not try the pool or adventure golf. I will surely come back.

Room Tip: Arbutus 2 BR Cottage, is perfect for a family with kids or friends in couples. Sofa is also convert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVRKathy, Manager at Oceanside Village Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi There,

I am sorry that this somehow got overlooked but I am writing to thank you ever so much for your wonderful review.
We are extremely delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your stay and we strive to make each guests stay as comfortable as possible.
We do look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Oceanside Village Resort in the future and if there is anything we can do for you in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact our office.
Kind Regards,
Kathy Fraser
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    125
    18
    11
    17
See reviews for
321
100
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The unit I rented was very nice, fully kitted out, excellent for families, for those wanting a base to explore the area and those who prefer to cook themselves. You are only 10 minutes walking to beach (I cut through on the paths in the woods) and it is a very quiet and restful spot for a vacation, but the area itself, designated as resort developments, is not full-fledged resort. A meeting place, a central location with fire pits, would be nice to meet others vacationing in the area. There isn't really any spots to gather. A bike rental outfit, a few more food venues, a grocery store, etc., would be nice. You will have to head into town to pick up groceries and the rest. The units are nice, modern and tastefully decorated, but the cleaning was really not up to par (crumbs on the counters from the last guests??, some garbage and a dirty towel? It would also be nice to have extra garbage bags and a few cleaning supplies as NO maid service is provided. Don't count on reliable bandwidth either if you need to stay in touch online. All and all, a nice place to chill out. Don't stay in the cabins along the highway as they are noisy if you tend to spend time outdoors.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVRKathy, Manager at Oceanside Village Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi TravelJunkie42,

Thank you for your comments. We take all comments very seriously and appreciate being made aware of deficiencies in our accommodations so we can better serve our future customers.

We have a new Taste Café & Bistro on site which has a liquor license and offers evening meals, as well as all day long. The Black Goose Inn across the street is an English Pub Style Restaurant and then for fine dining the Tigh Na Mara down the street from us has Cedars Lounge. We do have a grocery store within walking distance but unfortunately it is temporarily closed due to a family emergency. The City of Parksville with several shopping stores is 2 minutes by car and easily assessable on foot.
With regards to the need for extra amenities, we are very happy to provide all guests with any extra supplies they are in need of during your stay.
Last week we had our wireless provider on site to install several more antennae's so our bandwidth has been increased significantly throughout the resort.

We do appreciate your patronage and if there is anything we can do to ensure your next stay with us is completely trouble-free please do not hesitate to let me know.

Sincerely,
Kathy Fraser
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our family of five stayed at the resort for four nights, we stayed in cottage #167. We enjoyed our stay, the indoor pool is a definitely benefit as it was still cold in March, we did not use the onsite amenities cafe, yoga and spa -- I can see if it was a girls getaway the yoga and spa would be lovely.

Areas for improvement:
- guest followup, aside from check in we did not hear from the front desk staff for the remainder of our stay, I lost one of the two key cards assigned to us when I requested a replacement it was provided reluctantly, I travel a lot for business and these key cards are relatively inexpensive to replace, accidents happen, things get misplaced. A phone call or visit at the end of the first day or at the beginning of the second day would have a nice touch for short or long term stay to check in
- overall rules and guidelines, as a family at this property we didn't have any issues with the posted rules, quiet time was 10pm to 8am, the generic please be gentle with the in cottage materials/equipment was also fine. The only "ask" that I would find fault with is the final kitchen clean that dishes should be clean and cleared. We have traveled to vacation homes and resorts and the most common expectation is that the guest load the last dirty dishes and turn on the dishwasher upon leaving, we had dinner at the cottage in the evening as we cleaned up before we left we would not have time to wait for the 1.5 hours for the dishwasher to be done and put the items away. We did the dishes by hand due to time and after three full days of meals we ran through the 3 complimentary dishwasher detergent provided, while I don't think you would leave a full tub of supplies available the supplies should be provided according to length of stay and the number of guests. This last point, I think left a poor last impression of the property.

Room Tip: some of the cottages backs on to the highway so those one could be noisy in the summer months if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scaddadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVRKathy, Manager at Oceanside Village Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Skaddadle,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay.
It is our policy to do a quick phone call to each guest the following day to ensure that everything is fine in their cottage and that you are not in need of anything. It may have been that we called when you were out of the cottage as we do not make calls in the morning hours for those guests who wish to sleep in.
As with the key-card issue, we are very happy to provide our guests with as many key-cards as they require for the number of guests in their party. With the on-set of the busy season ahead, we have brought new staff on board and I will ensure that they are aware to issue replacement key-cards to verified guests without hesitation in the future. For this I apologize.
In regards to the dishes, we are happy with guests just putting dishes in the dishwasher on departure and turning on. When trying to accommodate back to back bookings in the height of the Peak Season, having guests do the dishes to expedite the cleaning process is just an added bonus for the incoming guest as they could possibly check in earlier in the day.
We are very happy to provide each guest with all the amenities that they require for their stay and you obviously understand why we don't keep each cottage equipped with a large amount of each on hand. In the future if you are to stay with us again, please feel free to visit our office or call in and ask that we bring over whatever required amenities you may be in need of.

We do appreciate your patronage and if there is anything we can do to ensure your next stay with us is completely trouble-free please do not hesitate to let me know.
Sincerely, Kathy Fraser, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Parksville has many accommodation options, however, after many hours of research my partner & I finally came to a decision. We wanted to rent a cottage near the beach in Parksville and this place had a great reputation and all the little extra amenities you need for a perfect vacation! Oceanside Village Resort is a unique, updated resort located very close to the beach and downtown Parksville. Excellent place to stay for families, couples or a girls getaway! We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKSummer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVRKathy, Manager at Oceanside Village Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi There,

I would like to apologize that this response was somehow overlooked.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Oceanside Village Resort and we are grateful of the fabulous review you so kindly submitted about our property.

We do hope that we are able to see you return to Oceanside Village Resort for another stay in the not so distant future and if we can be of any service to you in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact our office.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Fraser
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The staff are wonderful and will do anything they can if things aren't right. We found the bed too soft to sleep on for two months and were immediately moved to another cottage without any issues at all aside from us not wanting to bother them! That bed, like Goldilocks, was perfect. The cottages are nicely appointed and easy to keep up, great for entertaining. It's a comfortable setting and very welcoming, a nice jumping off point for so many of the Island's attractions. Our only complaint is that we found the pool too cold to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank True54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were in Parksville for 2 nights for a quick couples get-away from the kids, and we rented a cottage at the Oceanside Village Resort.

Our unit had 2 bedrooms (1 King, 1 Queen) and a loft with 1 Queen bed (not a pull-out) - There were 2 bathrooms, one with a shower stall, the other with a shower/tub.

The house was nice and cozy. The place had a fireplace and a nice well equipped kitchen that we made full use of.

Only complaints (2) would be that when you check-in, you're given a long speech about how you're expected to clean when you leave.... which is pretty lame, because ultimately I don't clean when I'm on vacation aside from the standard stuff. They literally asked us to make sure that all our dishes were clean and put away. Our attitude was "we'll fill the dishwasher" - so that's what we did. Its not a big deal, but when you're paying to stay at a resort... the last thing you want to do is clean or be told to clean right when your stay begins. Perhaps a small change in how this is posed to the client would make all the difference.

Only other complaint would be that though they give you the business about cleaning... the neglected to provide any cleaning supplies. All the bottles were empty in our unit, and the only thing that was left was bleach.... and I wasn't about to make the whole place smell like bleach while we're relaxing in it.

Positives would be: Good Day Spa, Great Pool, Good Hot Tub on site. Unit was clean and friendly feeling. Beds were great and comfortable, pillows were good and there was a lot of extras around. I always love cottage rentals, because of the "left behind" items that seem to accrue within them. Playing cards, pens and pencils, random music CD's etc etc etc... it gives a lived-in character feel to a place like this, and it was quite nice.

Room Tip: We were in Unit 155 - it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mitcheli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVRKathy, Manager at Oceanside Village Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you very much for your informative reply. We appreciate the feedback as customer reviews are very important to us.
I apologize that your cottage amenities somehow were overlooked but had you brought it to the attention of our front desk, we would have been happy to make sure you were fully stocked with all that you needed.

We are happy to know that your stay was comfortable and you thoroughly enjoyed yourself otherwise. With regards to the asking all guests to have dishes washed and put away and dirty linens in the bathtub, I apologize if you felt offended by this and would have been happy to discuss it with you during your stay. It is that kind of feedback which we like to hear about while you are here.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Oceanside Village Resort and if we can do anything for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Fraser
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked for the BC Family Day long weekend and stayed with 2 kids plus our dog for 3 nights in a Dogwood Cottage. The cottage was fantastic and perfect for a family of 4. We were pleasantly surprised by how well appointed the cottage was... Fully stocked kitchen, plenty of dishes for entertaining and cooking, washer and dryer, and loads of extra towels and linens (hey your priorities change when you have small kids ;) Our kids loved the pool and proximity of Rathtrevor beach, which was still fun on a snowy cold weekend in February. Customer service from the management team (thank you Kathy and Victoria) was excellent. We were given a February package which included a "free pet stay" and a $50 gift card to a local restaurant, so great value for money. .. Will be back again and hopefully for a longer stay.

The only minor recommendation for improvement would be to upgrade the mattresses as our bed wasn't the most comfortable I've slept in and the caulking around one of the bathrooms sinks needed redoing, but nothing major and still very clean and modern.... nothing that would prevent me from staying there again. Had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVRKathy, Manager at Oceanside Village Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you very much for your wonderful reply and kind comments. We appreciate the positive feedback as customer reviews are very important to us.
I apologize for my reply being so long coming.
We are happy to know that your stay was comfortable and you thoroughly enjoyed yourself during your time here with us other than the mattress which did not suit you. It is that kind of feedback which we like to pass along to cottage owners. Your satisfaction is most important.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oceanside Village Resort and if we can do anything for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Fraser
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
2.5 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
546 reviews
18.3 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.6 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Village Resort

Property: Oceanside Village Resort
Address: 1080 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Village is a convenient Parksville resort situated on a beautiful 15 acre property offering various styles/sizes of new cottages sleeping from 1-8 persons in Parksville's resort area. Each cottage boasts all the comforts of home, coming fully equipped with 6 appliances, 2-3 TV's, DVD players, large open concept rooms with vaulted ceilings and field stone fireplaces. Enjoy the outdoors on your front and back decks which come with patio furniture and your own BBQ. This unique development features thoughtfully designed luxury cottages within easy walking distance to nearby lush forest trails and miles of sandy beaches to explore Rathtrevor Provincial Park. Located within our Resort is an indoor pool with hot tub and fitness centre. Also a Day Spa & Salon, Tea/Coffee House & Clothing Boutique. Riptide Lagoon Adventure Park is located next door and our area also hosts four first class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceanside Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Village Hotel Parksville
Oceanside Village Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing