We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need - except WiFi !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanside Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good location, comfortable and modern cottage with all mod cons, except for lousy wi fi connection, which is a bit frustrating when it is so proudly offered as part of the package. Staff and services fine and pool is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 584 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and loved every second of it. The cottages are comfortable and attractive. The pool was nice for the kids to escape to - the "gym" is a little small though. The beach is a 5-10 very pleasant walk through the provincial park - a good place for beach combing. The access to Top Bridge trail is right outside the resort, which is great for hiking, biking, dog walking, and running. We spent more time at the Parksville community beach, which is a 5 minute drive away. We used the Tranquil Moments spa and it was fantastic, very friendly staff, clean and pleasant. We would definitely come here again. We rented the cottage privately. Parksville is a grat location to explore much of the island - Nanaimo is close, Victoria is only a couple of hours away, Courtney and Comox only a short trip and Tofino is only 2.5 hours away. The weather was fabulous the entire two weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfoo323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights - the cabin had all that you could need, including its own washer/dryer, dishwasher, 3 tv's, bbq etc. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool / hot tub. The only thing I didn't realize was that the resort was a 5 min drive to the beach, You could walk it but it was about 15 min and if you had toys/towels, kids its better to drive, especially when the tide is out. My kids enjoyed skim boarding, we bought them at home (Edmonton), but should have bought them there as they sell them at the dollar stores for 1/2 price of what we paid. Good price for the amenities of what we got. We didn't go to the mini golf that borderred the resort, but went to the other one in town instead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy_A451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

stayed in a self catering cabin, which had everything included a much needed washing machine!
stayed 3 nights
used the indoor pool ,
close to the beach
played crazy golf, and used the spa
loved the area and would have loved to have stayed longer,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richlee1malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here twice and loved it both times. The convenience of the indoor salt water pool made travel in March just like our trip in June. Very nice staff on hand to help with any questions. We rented from independent owners each time but had no troubles. The mini golf next door was fun for the grandkids. It was close enough to the ocean we could walk but more importantly for us only steps from the Rathtrevor Park and the walking trail. Rathtrevor is amazing any time of year. Only minutes to Parksville and a short drive to Nanaimo. Very scenic and relaxing!

Room Tip: For the kids we picked cottages near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved Parksville and Quallicum area. I would have rated this cottage community higher but the front desk manager told us they were located, "across the street and down some wooden stairs to the beach" - well it's a 5 minute drive and not walk. To walk you have to "trespass" on another resort's property. This was a big disappointment for an "Oceanside" resort which is not Oceanside at all. We had to drive everywhere. We were hoping to be able to walk. Plus, they only gave us a map of their own cottages and could not give us a map of anything else or tell us where the beach access was. This manager had no idea of where to walk or what to see at all! We asked if we could get tinfoil at the corner market and she said, " at a gas station?" Turns out they had skimboard, tinfoil, beach toys and were more helpful than the resort staff - which is only one person.
Plus -- the resort is designed to drive around and the footpaths don't get you where you need to go internally. To get to the pool we had to walk out of the grounds along the highway sidewalk as access.not well thought out. There is no sense of community here. No place to congregate as their is no lodge or fireplace puts to meet others and cook s'mores or anything in between. My recommendation to the owners is to build a lodge where the office and sushi place is and have tea all day long like other resorts do. Have cookies at night and a fire going and create a place where people will want to come to relax and meet others to share stories or just to get out of their cabins. There needs to be a sense of community and a walking place. A lot of the property is used for roadways instead of walkways, horseshoe throwing pits, playground - these things are needed. It lacks culture and lacks a sense of family and roots to its local culture in Parksville. Your staff need to be more I formed about the local area, history, and be more honest on the phone about your location if you want repeat customers. All that said I loved the brand new little dress shop on the property and noticed many customers from the Tai NaMara across the street loved it too. I hope this helps. From the de Wit family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanRichardsdewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed here for 3 nights. We had a wonderful holiday in Parksville but found OVR itself to be quite disappointing.

On the plus side, the cottages themselves are pretty nice. They are all fairly new, since the resort is not that old. We stayed in the Cypress, a 2-bed+loft, 2-bath model. It looked clean and pleasant on the outside and inside. The decor was tastefully neutral and the windows and wood panelled ceiling lovely. The best part was the large kitchen. It had a large counter for eating and, unlike many suites, decent cooking and serving implements and enough tableware for a larger family. The beds and bedding were good quality and comfortable. There was also an OK pool, which seemed clean and new.

On the minus side is the fact that OVR promotes itself as a resort, but ultimately appears more interested in selling cottages than running a resort. Their main service appears to be collecting money for the owners of the cottages. After that, you are on your own.

It started with the grumpy lady who checked us in. She acted like we were inconveniencing her. After fussing a long time with her computer system and papers, she tried to wave us off without actually providing room keys. I had to ask for our key cards, our cottage number, and directions. She appeared to think we should know it all. After I asked, she shoved a brown envelope at me with the cards and some written information.

OVR is up front with lack of daily housekeeping. However, the issues ran deeper. When we first unlocked our cottage, the air seemed stale and stuffy from disuse and some lightbulbs were burned out. We ran around opening windows and changing lightbulbs. There was no use calling the office, as it closed at 5 pm.

Later on, we found that the BBQ was very dirty. Since OVR said it would charge if you did not leave a clean BBQ, my husband attempted to clean it up a bit. We then found that there was no dishwashing detergent, garbage bags or floor cleaner. After washing the floor with water, we had to go out to get cleaning supplies - when you are on a beach with kids who track in sand, the floor feels dirty quickly.

In the morning, I fired up the iPad to get the news. Unfortunately, the WiFi did not work. The information package listed a 24-hour number to call for WiFi help, but it went straight to voice mail. Once the office opened at 9 am, I asked about the WiFi, but was told that as long as I had the right password (I did), it was not an OVR problem and I should deal with their Internet Service Provider directly - the same 24-hour number that went straight to voice mail. Eventually, I figured out that the WiFi works in certain areas of the resort, so if you walk around long enough you might be able to pick up a signal to download your email.

On the second day, our key cards just stopped working. Luckily, this happened before 5 pm, so I could go to the office. The lady informed me - without apology - that the key cards stop working if they are close to a cellphone. I would think if that was the case, guests should be warned ahead of time, since many people carry their cellphones and key cards in close proximity in a purse, wallet or pocket. I was just glad we had got home that day before 5 pm, or we would have been locked out. There was a 24-hour emergency number to call, but based on my experience with the 24-hour WiFi emergency number, this did not give me a lot of confidence.

As soon as possible, we headed to the beach, since that was the main reason for coming. We had difficulty finding the beach, and eventually had to trespass on another resort property in order to walk to the beach. Later on, after checking the map carefully and talking with other people, we learned that the only way to get to Rathtrevor Beach was by 1) trespassing across an Oceanside resort with beach access (most have beach access, just not OVR) or 2) taking the public road through the provincial park. This was about a kilometre in distance. It would have been a nice walk, but not lugging beach pails, shovels, lawn chairs and towels and dragging 2 kids. We ended up driving to and from the beach twice a day, which was kind of annoying because we like to park the car when we are on vacation.

So overall... I would not say OVR was terrible. I think it would suit people who put a high premium on a good kitchen and newer accommodations, but who are not interested in the beach and do not need any service or help. I also think you would want to stay at least a week, because of the annoyance of setting up and stocking cleaning supplies.

For us, we found ourselves wishing we had stayed at any of a myriad of beach accommodations, which seemed to offer similar-sized accommodations at cheaper prices, and which seemed set up to offer services to guests, rather than mostly just selling retirement properties.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freshcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
2.5 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
619 reviews
18.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.5 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Village Resort

Address: 1080 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $154 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Village is a convenient Parksville resort situated on a beautiful 15 acre property offering various styles/sizes of new cottages sleeping from 1-8 persons in Parksville's resort area. Each cottage boasts all the comforts of home, coming fully equipped with 6 appliances, 2-3 TV's, DVD players, large open concept rooms with vaulted ceilings and field stone fireplaces. Enjoy the outdoors on your front and back decks which come with patio furniture and your own BBQ. This unique development features thoughtfully designed luxury cottages within easy walking distance to nearby lush forest trails and miles of sandy beaches to explore Rathtrevor Provincial Park. Located within our Resort is an indoor pool with hot tub and fitness centre. Also a Day Spa & Salon, Tea/Coffee House & Clothing Boutique. Riptide Lagoon Adventure Park is located next door and our area also hosts four first class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceanside Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Village Hotel Parksville
Oceanside Village Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing