We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stopover for dinner while passing through town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McDonald's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McDonald's
Ranked #51 of 91 Restaurants in Port Alberni
Restaurant details
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quick stopover for dinner while passing through town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was one of the best McDonald's we have ever visited. We went with 2 kids and 2 adults and ordered two adult meals and two Happy Meals. The food was piping hot, nicely presented and the lobby was quiet. The teenaged staff was exceptionally polite.

Overall it was a welcome stop over while on our road trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“slow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We waited for a very long time in the drive through, it took almost 15 minutes, then when we got our food it was cold. It was bad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amber j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“A very modern, spacious McDonald's with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have to say I never thought I would feel compelled to write a review of a McDonald's location, but after two stops while traveling both ways between Nanaimo and Tofino, I thought it worth leaving a (positive) comment.

This restaurant was very clean both times we visited (even though a rare snow event had just passed through the area at the time of our first visit). The staff were friendly and helpful. The seating area is quite spacious by McDonald's standards, with a variety of seating options (tables, booths, stools, and different seat designs) available.

I will note that during both visits, the primary clientele was definitely not part of the "Happy Meal" demographic, but at the same time it appeared that the local restaurant management welcomed and accepted the longer stays / senior discount visitors.

With the clean, spacious location and the known menu offerings, I would not hesitate to recommend this as a stop en route between Tofino / Ucluelet and the east coast of Vancouver Island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Try something original, maybe a local A&W if it HAS to be Burgers and Fries, worth a visit to In 'n' Out or 5 Guys even if you do have to travel a couple of hundred miles!!!.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank morgieporgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDonald's also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to McDonald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing