We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay before your trip to Uchulet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 13 Port Alberni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay! The hosts are very friendly, the rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable and the spa bath was a real treat, although a bit noisy! The breakfast was simply perfect! There was such a choice of food, it was superb! Apologies for all the superlatives but it was such a treat to stay there. The gardens are spacious and they have a huge rhododendron that was over 100 feet in circumference! Would recommend the Cedar Lodge every time!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

The best place you can stay at. We felt like at home. Beautiful rooms and great breakfast. The owners are two great people, Very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambogia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Tom and Marla are two of the kindest and most accommodating hosts you will find on the B&B circuit, and most definitely are deserving of high recommendation. The lodge is very comfortable, with very nice rooms. They don't offer a hot tub feature, but rather have provided very nice spa bathtubs in each of the guest rooms. The views are scenic from the rooms as well as the large 2.2 acre exterior grounds, of which are very well groomed. The breakfast is healthy and includes a selection of fresh fruit, home-made baking, home-made granolas and jams. Beverages include fruit juices, milk, freshly ground premium coffees and a selection of fine teas from around the world. The nicest aspect is that you can set your own time for when you would like to have breakfast. They have a library and a fine billiards table for guest use, as well as a sitting lounge.
If you intend to go fishing, they will help you set up charters with the price of your room, as well as they will pack a very healthy and substantial lunch for you to take with you on the boat and will have it ready for you when you leave early in the morning.
Congratulations to Tom and Marla for being the only 4-Star Canada Select accommodation in the Alberni Valley, you deserve it.
Website: http://www.cedarwood.bc.ca

Room Tip: http://www.cedarwood.bc.ca/rooms.php
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTripChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We went to Port Alberni this past weekend, my partner was working on his sailplane ratings at the Vancouver island Soaring Centre, located at the Port Alberni Airport (about 6 km away!!) . Searched and searched the web listings for a quiet, private place to stay. Found the perfect place at Cedar Lodge. Situated on a huge lot (at least an acre, I'd guess) and surrounded by old-growth cedars, mature Rhododendrons and a variety of tall perennials. Water fountain, picnic table, covered lounge swing, I could go on and on, it was so beautiful. The building was solidly built and the rooms are very private. Air conditioning, massage jet tubs!!!! Mattresses are firm, we had a wonderful sleep! Room darkening blinds! This will be our home away from home! And the continental breakfast! A variety of juices, homemade granola (yum yum . .I have the recipe now!) yogurt, home baked goods, muffins, scones, everything was delicious and included in the price! Spotless rooms! Tom and Marla were our very hospitable hosts and made us feel very welcome.. we felt like family!

Room Tip: I would say that all of the rooms are equally wonderful. They all have air conditioning and massage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Cedar Lodge was our saving grace for a one night's stay prior to a kayak trip to Broken Group Islands via Lady Rose. We had foolishly booked a room at the Tsunami Backpacker's Guesthouse and left upon sight (see review). Tom and Marla welcomed us in with open arms and had us at "hello." The personal massage bathtub was awesome. They put out a wonderful nutritious breakfast at 6:45 am so we could make it to the boat in time. The attention to detail throughout (guestrooms, common spaces, garden and outdoor spaces) makes it all so enjoyable and a real treat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had a family reunioun wih relatives from Ontario and the Netherlands, and it happened to fall on my mother-in-law's 70's Birthday, so we booked 4 rooms that could accomodate 17 people at Cedar Wood Lodge. Tom and Marla were very friendly and welcoming, they were very helpful in guiding us through the events to see and do in Port Alberni and the west coast. They provided a perfect breakfast and they were very willing to bake (I think all day every day!) to accomodate our dietary needs. The children also loved the pool table! We would definately come back again and highly recommend those who have a family to stay with Tom and Marla.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, which turned into three, which turned into 4- we didn't want to leave! Tom & Marla were so accommodating and sincere- they clearly love their jobs, value their guests and it shows. The housekeeper was friendly and non-intrusive, asking us if we were sure there was nothing else we needed. The rooms are comfortable, bathrooms are accessible to all and the cleanliness was great. The property is right beside the highway but you would never know- you can't hear any road noise except the occasional siren and everyone hears those! Internet was FAST FAST FAST. If you are in town for business, you want to be here!
We will be recommending the Cedar Wood to everyone! and quite inexpensive, even in high season!
Not wheelchair accessible yet but I think that will be in the near future. Pets not allowed inside as there is a lot of carpet but our dog was happy to play outside and roam around all day :)

Room Tip: They're all great- superb rates on everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyAwayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
2.5 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
6.3 mi away
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
#2 of 13 in Port Alberni
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hummingbird Guesthouse
Hummingbird Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Port Alberni
44 reviews
19.1 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center

Address: 5895 River Rd | Pacific Rim Highway 4, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alberni
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alberni Valley's finest accommodation, serving business and leisure travelers alike with exceptional value in elegant surroundings. At the 4-star Cedar Wood Lodge, you will enjoy a unique and tasteful blend of old and new. Nestled into two and one-half acres of heritage gardens and old-growth cedars along the scenic Somass River in Port Alberni, British Columbia, the Cedar Wood Lodge, built new in 1998, is furnished with modern comforts and beautiful antiques. The spacious guest lounge encompasses a fine billiards table, two small libraries, a relaxing sitting area, fireplace, and garden view bistro dining room where the complimentary daily breakfast buffet is served. The delicious and nutritious breakfast includes a selection of fresh fruit, yogurts,home-baked breads, muffins, scones, croissants and coffee cakes, and home-made granolas and jams and hot oatmeal. Beverages include a variety of chilled fruit juices, milk, freshly ground premium French-pressed Arabica coffee, and a generous selection of the finest teas from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing