We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy fresh made donuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Donut Shop

The Donut Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yummy fresh made donuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Very yummy fresh made donuts. Especially delicious when fresh warm. Only complaint is that they only take cash. Wish they took debit cards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great donuts!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Best donuts ever! Go at the right time and they are even warm! Fresh and delicious. Reasonable prices and good service. Lots of choices and flavours. Eat in or take out. A definate must if you are travelling on the Frances Barkley - they will definately be warm then.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gramma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“They claim to have the best Donuts on Vancouver Island ... True!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I dropped in for a little snack after riding the historic "Alberni Pacific Steam Train". The shop is quite plain. They offer soups, sandwiches and, of course, fresh donuts. They are cake donuts that are freshly made right there on site and and are topped with a large assortment of goodies. They reminded us of the bags of mini donuts we have enjoyed over the years at Fall Fairs. The Donut Shop was a pleasant tasty find. Bring cash, they don't do debit or credit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best donuts ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the best place to get donuts by far! Way better than Tim Hortons, and locally made. A great place to get a donut and eat it outside or inside the place to talk to locals. Great view too. Lots of variety, from traditional to cool toppings. Cash only.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This place was recommended to me by some co-workers so I detoured from my usual route through Port Alberni to Ucluelet to check it out. I normally just hit up the Timmy's on my way through Port Alberni, but I'm glad that I deviated from routine to try something new. I wouldn't say that these are traditional cake donuts. They LOOK like cake donuts, but taste more like crullers. They're light and fluffy, but topped with all kinds of glazes, nuts and sprinkles, much like a cake donut. I bought a dozen donuts and 24 hours later they're still soft and fluffy. The only drawback to this place is that they only take cash. A dozen donuts will cost you $6.99 so be prepared with the appropiate cash!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skirrowr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donut Shop also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Donut Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing