We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impreesed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank 642LOU
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank GIUSEPPE L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Staff was polite & informative, the breakfast was nothing compared to the HOJO in Nanaimo. The rooms were clean, but the air conditioner was noisy and there was no coffee pot. We found the hallways were extremely hot I can't imagine them in the summer time. We love the HOJO in Nanaimo but this one needs some work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank ALDEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

All in all the stay was very nice except for the size of the lobby barely room to move with a coffee table that was low and blended in with floor I walked into it causing a major lump to my shin they saw it happen but did not do anything to correct the problem and several other people over the three days did the same

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Scared you might get too good of a rest? Go to the HoJo Port Alberni! Walking in gives the immediate sense of foreboding - like you may suffocate from the poor air quality of a place that hasn't been renovated in decades. If you'd like to verify that the hotel hasn't, in fact, been renovated in decades, I dare you to look at the mattresses. Dare you.

Love the heat? Good! Because walking into our room was like a giant hair dryer blasting you in the face. I kid you not when I say it was probably +40C. It was like the pleasantries of stepping out into smog ridden Beijing. If that isn't your thing, turn on your AC that was built in Soviet Russia tand sounds like a jet engine.

Worried that your immunity will be too strong from the super cleanliness of today's hotels? Oh boy, the HoJo Port Alberni has a solution to that. Just go down for the continental breakfast, grab some of the cutlery, cups, and bowls, and BOOM! Caked-on bacteria city! Helllloooo immune defences!

In short, I am a stronger person - physically and mentally - for staying at the HoJo Port Alberni.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Br00ke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Recently (April 22nd, 2012) my entire family had the very pleasant experience of spending an evening at The Howard Johnson Hotel in beautiful Port Alberni, British Columbia. I cannot tell you how amazing the hospitality was, and the attention that was given to my entire family was over the top! First, we were welcomed in the bar with homemade chili and snacks - what a perfect way for us to unwind from the hectic pace of our hometown in Chicago! The big screen TVs blasted the hockey game, and the excellent and friendly bartenders made sure that our every request was granted - speedily - and how nice to feel that staff was part of the party! I regret that I did not catch the bartender's names, but they were over the top with excellent customer service, and it seemed like their only goal was to make our experience amazing. It was the quintessential Canadian experience - Hockey, drinks out on the hospitable patio, and then an excellent selection of music once the Hockey game was over. After our festivities, we were carefully tucked in to our rooms by the desk attendant Elaine. The rooms were lovely - clean and well appointed. A special thank you to desk manager Lynn and to boss Dean who made our experience in Port Alberni truly wonderful. I will definitely be recommending your hotel to my friends in Chicago who want a true Vancouver Island experience. It is rare to find such fun, hospitality, economy and quality bundled into one package. Thank you to all the staff at the Howard Johnson Hotel in Port Alberni, BC for an unforgettable experience. We will be back - with friends! Heather Shlah

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hshlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here with family recently and had a fantastic time. The rooms are clearn, large and very comfortable. The lounge had a great atmosphere. It's well situated as a jump off point for the Pacific Rim National Park and other surrounding attractions. The best part of all however, was the quality of the staff. They were incredibly friendly and always eager to help. Thanks again to the staff at Howard Johnson, Port Alberni.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank AndrewCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#7 of 9 in Port Alberni
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tyee Village Motel
Tyee Village Motel
#8 of 9 in Port Alberni
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Address: 4850 Beaver Creek Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: $65 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Port Alberni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing