We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and informative”

Chase and Warren Winery
Ranked #19 of 43 things to do in Port Alberni
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and informative”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped by here for a visit on our way back to Nanaimo after the long drive from Tofino. It was a great rest stop to get a break from the long drive, the hillside covered in vines is lovely, and it is quite picturesque. The folks there were very warm and friendly and quite informative. I have been to many wineries and this visit stood out from all the others due to the great personal service. The wines were nice, there were quite a few to try and a few unique ones that also made it a special stop. I would recommend a visit to anyone going by who either enjoys fine wine, or is interested in knowing more about wines and the wine making process.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kristina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun Outing”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was a special event for Fathers' Day. A package steam train ride from Port Alberni to the Chase & Warren Winery and return. We were met at the Port Alberni train station by the winery owner, enjoyed a 20 minute ride through the rural areas and upon arrival met again by the owner and staff, ushered through the vineyard, and down to an area set aside for tasting and appetizers.

Although we found the wines to be a bit immature (there is potential here) the Germanic-styled whites were by far the most palatable. Each of the seven or eight wines we tasted was paired with a special appetizer. Meanwhile the owner regailed the group with local tales and detailed information about wine and grape growing.

I would recommend this activity to anyone interested in local culture. The next time we will take the train all the way to the steam sawmill and perhaps stop in at the winery on the way back.

Very well organized!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DalianEx-pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just stopped in trying to find a birthday gift. Enjoyed the visit to the winery and also enjoyed being able to have a small sample of the wines available. Made it easy to pick the perfect wine. Love the labeling of the wines.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mspippy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not Bad!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

While nothing compares to the Okanagan for wineries, this little place is not bad!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissQ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chase and Warren Winery also viewed

Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
 
Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
 

Been to Chase and Warren Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing