We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop Dead Gorgeous”

Stamp River Provincial Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Drop Dead Gorgeous”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I'm not big on longish excursions to Provincial Parks without some pre-sell but am I ever glad I did. The returning salmon were a breathtaking experience. The park was well managed (met the most courteous Ranger), spotless and worth the 20 minute or so drive from Port Alberni. A can't miss..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank geejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Salmon”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

THis was truly amazing. The trail is good and watching the salmon making their way up the river was quite an experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudySurrey_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

There's nothing in particular there. There are much better places to view salmon jumping and spawning,wasted journey

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The falls”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great place to visit! It is really nice to see whem the chinook salmon are running on the fall, and the campsite is very nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice park to go”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My friend and me went to this park a few days ago and found it really nice. It is hard to reach without car, but with hitchhiking it is possible to get there.

Our driver didn't set us off directly at the park, but a little bit before, where you can find a nice 2 km trail to the fish ladder. The forest is really inspiring and nice to hike through and the fish ladder a nice place to watch for fishes and enjoy the river. At the camping site starts a long trail (about 7.5 km one way) along the riverside and it is really nice to walk. It even has one or two spots to go swimming what we of course did.

If you are looking for a nice hike for a few hours this is definitely the right park for you.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaZeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stamp River Provincial Park also viewed

Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
 
Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
Port Alberni, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
 

Been to Stamp River Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing