We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish 3 different ways”

Bare Bones Fish and Chips
Ranked #2 of 95 Restaurants in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Bare Bones: an upscale fish and chip restaurant featuring west coast halibut, salmon, cod and prawns. Sides include hand-cut fries, caesar salad and coleslaw. Try your fish grilled or choose our famous beer batter or panco bread crumb coating. Always fresh and delicious! Look for our patio on Johnston.
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fish 3 different ways”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I saw this place on the way over to Ucluelet from Vancouver and after looking up reviews on here and elsewhere decided we had to stop for lunch on the way back. Well, the reviews are very honest. The fish was great. we had Salmon both beer battered and grilled. It was really great and one of the better meals we had during out trip. To top it off, it was priced very reasonable for how good it was. If we ever make it back there we would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    98
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“superior fish & chips”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Like it says – just fish… but with some yummy options. You can choose which type of fish you want, then what kind of cooking style -- in traditional English beer batter & deep fried; panko crusted and pan-fried, or grilled; then you select two of about 5 sauces – from trad tartar to spicy thai.. Our party of three had one of each and everyone loved what they got. The small selection of craft beers, cider and wine (generous servings) round out the meal. It was a very good deal and the setting in the well converted 1960s era church is very pleasant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank museum-a-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish sooooo good”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were in Port Alberni for Fathers Day and stopped in here for supper. We noticed their ad in the tourist magazine and hoped it was as good as it looked. It was, the fish was incredible and the prawns unbelievably good. We were 4 adults and 2 young kids and we all enjoyed our meals. The choices for coating for the fish, the dips and the sides were all great. I had the 1/2 chips and coleslaw with my cod and it was more coleslaw than 2 servings elsewhere and very fresh and not over dressed. I also had enough fries for a full serving. We will return the next time we are on that side of the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a bare bones restaurant. If you want a steak, sorry. if you want some excellent fresh fish and home cut fries, this is the place. The old church atmosphere and pleasant servers make for a great experience. You will be happy you went.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trag51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“the best fish and chips in BC”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I am not a real fish and chips person, mainly because the only ones I have had were skippers and long john silvers, in the states, we let me tell you, my thoughts have changed. this place serves the Real stuff ! everything was fresh and very good. liked the real homemade fries and the fish was not a skimpy piece. we were full at the end of dinner, the wine was a good selection service was great. the old church has been made into a wonderful restaurant. do not miss this one.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bare Bones Fish and Chips also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Bare Bones Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing