We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Unexpected Delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Rose Marine Services

Lady Rose Marine Services
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise the Barkley Sound on the MV Frances Barkley. Or sail to Ucluelet and discover the Broken Group Islands. Sechart Lodge is the closest accommodations to the Broken Group Islands.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

On a whim, my fiance and I decided to take the Lady Rose from Port Alberni to Bamfeild as we thought it was the most direct and probably the cheapest way to travel to the West Coast Trail head in Bamfeild from Port Alberni.

We backpacked for over two weeks throughout B.C and THIS ferry was my favourite part of our entire trip!!! It was an incredible way to see a very secluded part of Canada, with the stops being made by the ship to drop off mail, food and supplies to the logging communities along the water.

I highly suggest hopping aboard if you have the opportunity! It was simply breathtaking... and totally unexpected!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    51
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MV Lady Rose/Frances Barkley Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Spectacular once in a lifetime trip for tourists but a regular commuter trip from Port Alberni down the Alberni Inlet to various communities and through parts of the Pacific Rim National Park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Frances Barkley (now called)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Was a very interesting trip, done 30 November, weather was not so good, and unfortunately we did not see any sealife. However we were glad we went

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SheenaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip through all the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lots of wildlife and sea lions,orca's,whales,bears etc.The stops along the way are very interesting.Lots of kayakers and kayaks were dropped off at Sechart Lodge.When we got to Ucluelet we had some time to look around the small village before our return to Port Alberni with the complete return trip taking aprx. 11 hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cruise the inlet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The MV Lady Rose has been replace by the MV Barkley. The cruise travels south from Port Alberni, through the 'broken group' and over to Bamfield for a short stop. Then the return up the inlet. Quite often whales will be seen around the 'broken group'.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SC137468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Rose Marine Services also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lady Rose Marine Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing