We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST MOTEL IN PORT ALBERNI”
Review of Somass Motel & RV

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somass Motel & RV
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST MOTEL IN PORT ALBERNI”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was up in Port Alberni with our Dragon Boat Team (Team Phoenix from Victoria), and we stayed at the Somass Motel for the second year. WE LOVED IT!! The rooms are very clean, the grounds are well kept, and the suites are SO cute! Their rates are very reasonable, and the staff is friendly, and accommodating. It is the perfect place to stay, on your own or even in a large group.
We will only stay at the Somass Motel when visiting Port Alberni:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
56
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place to stay in Port Alberni due to our fishing charter and other excursion. We chose here because of the reviews given on Trip Advisor and are we ever happy we did! The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The people whom run the hotel are very accommodating and so friendly :) You can smell the flowers which adorn each cottage style room outdoors, there is a nice pool our kids enjoyed while I used the laundry facilities on site. This is simply just a great and more than reasonably priced place to stay in Port Alberni. We will be coming back! Thanks trip advisor for helping us find this wonderful place to stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savesomeoneelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had booked this Motel as were doing the Frances Barkley boat trip and wanted to explore further up the island the next day. Clean and tidy, easy check in. Only small hicup was, we had booked for three adults and were only given two towells, went to office and were given another from locked area away from office, no problems. Owner said he had put third towell in the wrong room. Beds were comfy, coffee machine, fridge and microwave in room. We had booked the basic motel room but they also have suite's and RV parking. Good value v price.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the back away from the road, with RV parking next to them. Down the drive is the Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A great place to stop on your way to/from the West Coast of the Island. Have driven past the Somass Motel for many many years so when we needed a place to stay in Port Alberni on this trip to the West Coast I was wondering about the great Trip Advisor reviews. It really is an excellent motel - friendly helpful owners, very clean updated rooms, quiet, large bar fridge microwave, Keurig coffee maker, free wi-fi in room. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnB_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It's complicated, but we need room for two RVs and a room for another couple. No problem for the folks at Somass. By the time we arrived all arrangements were in place and the visit went seamlessly. The room was clean and well appointed. The campground, while a little tight for larger Rv's, served our purpose just fine. We've stayed at other RV parks in the Port Alberni area and were disappointed, so we'll be coming back to Somass when we're in the area.

Room Tip: Look for a room across the back - further away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our ultimate destination was the Broken Group for the Canada day long weekend. We were taking the Frances Barkley into the park, which departs from Port Alberni. We had done this before, so we were well versed with the 7:00 am arrival required and knew it would be easier to find a place to stay in Port Alberni than to camp and have to pack everything up in the morning.

We booked the Somass motel mainly due to the great reviews we found on tripadvisor. The place certainly lived up to our expectations, especially as budget accommodations.

We arrived super later, having caught the last ferry over from the mainland. But the owner was super friendly and efficiently processed our payment. Parking was available right out front of our little "cabin", which worked well for unloading and loading gear.

The room was simple, well-kept, and clean. Possibly a little out-dated but it was clear that ongoing upkeep was occurring. A few really nice touches were bath salts and soaps from a local organic soap maker. Fridge kept our food cold for one extra night before our camping excursion.

I would absolutely stay again the next time I have a need for a place to stay in Alberni.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed there just one night this May. Booking over the phone took 5 minutes. A very curtious host. TV, coffee maker, microwave in the room. Internet was available at the reception. Excellent price vs quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swinopas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somass Motel & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somass Motel & RV

Property: Somass Motel & RV
Address: 5279 River Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Somass Motel & RV 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Cottage Style Motel located in the heartland of Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim region. Our central location makes us the perfect base for daytrips throughout the area. Cruise the Alberni Inlet on the MV Lady Rose, ride the summer steam train out to McLean Mill National Historic Site. Our well appointed and air conditioned rooms include 1 and 2 bedroom fully equipped kitchen suites as well as standard rooms with fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Somass Motel & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somass Hotel Port Alberni
Somass Hotel Rv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing