We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality!!! Clean and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hospitality Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My colleagues and I were staying for a few nights and really enjoyed our time in this lovely facility.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating...very welcoming. They had great awareness of the guests returning into the hotel, greeting each person every time they returned. For example, They were able to have a great chat with a group of German ladies while still acknowledging other guests.

The rooms were super clean and comfortable and the chocolates left in the room were a nice complimentary treat! The showers had lots of water pressure, very nice. We were given a choice of reusing your towels left hanging up...didn’t feel it was needed to have all new replacement towels each day... eco friendly. There was also Free wireless internet, a nice surprise. The beds were the comfiest I've slept in in a long time... AMAZING SLEEPS!

They have an amazing pool area, heated and salt water made it perfect. Functional fitness centre but could use some updates.

The conference area was spacious for our group size which let us spread out. They also have some rooms that are suited for smaller meetings.

The breakfasts were absolutley delicious! And the staff are quite friendly & professional. It would be nice if they could serve food on their patio. The pub was quaint and authentic...interior signage could stand out more... but it was a cozy atmosphere. Very enjoyable.

Our stay at the Hospitality Inn exceeded our expectations. I would definitly return with family when I'm in th area next. The hospitality the staff delivered was warm and left a great impression on all of us -- highly recomended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Travel003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 321 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hospitality Inn in Port Alberni for one night. Our single-bed room was ready before our scheduled check in time. The inn appears in good repair and is very clean. Our room was relatively small but would be well-suited to a single traveler. Book a larger room for two or more travelers. The room was slightly warm even with the "loud" air conditioning cranked. The decor and inn itself seems slightly dated but is "average" for accommodation of this type.

The salt water pool and hot tub are nice, open until 10pm, and are located in a semi-outdoor covered area; a very nice amenity after a long day. The temperature of both the hot tub and pool are perfect for a fall night.

Overall, a good place to rest when passing through or visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dweli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights - one night on each end of a 5 day kayak trip in the nearby Broken Group Islands. We had different rooms each time, but the same issues with both rooms. Despite the cool weather (18C outside daytime temperatures), the main hallway outside our rooms seemed to be heated to +27C or more - very hot. This necessitated the need to use the air conditioning and/or ventilation to cool the room to a reasonable sleeping temperature. However, the air conditioners built into the walls seemed to have been built in about 1970, and the compressors sound like clattering diesel trucks whenever they cycle in and out - far too loud to use while sleeping. Beyond of the noise, they barely work anyway - the A/C in our second room had an evaporator completely frosted over with snow and ice, so there was no airflow through it whatsoever - I had to turn it off to thaw it out for 3 hours to get any outside air, and then used ventilation only due to the noise. The result was an excessively hot room and poor sleep on both of our nights at the Hosptiality Inn.

Other issues - the TV remote did not work in our first room. Rooms overall are relatively clean, but somewhat dated and small. The towels are thin and worn - time to replace them!

On the plus side, the restaurant was decent. Food quality was good (we ate burgers and breakfast), and service in the restaurant was excellent, though a bit slow to get our food. The restaurant was essentially deserted both times we ate there however, so this may have impacted the service. Restaurant morning hours are poor - we were not able to have breakfast after our first night, as the restaurant did not open until 6:30 AM, and we had to be at the nearby dock at 06:45 AM to load our kayak gear onto the ship.

Bottom line - at $165 per night plus taxes, this hotel is very overpriced and a terrible value - Discount chain quality for mid-range hotel prices! The hotel seemed to be pretty much empty when we were there, so I don't think the price can be justified by demand! I will not stay at the Hospitality Inn in Port Alberni when I return to go kayaking again next summer. There has to be a better option in Port Alberni!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Firstly i was told i rented a 2 queen room only to get there and no such room exisits.
I asked the front desk and instead of offering or even telling me there was a room with 2 double beds she simply stated there were no 2 queen rooms.
Secondly you can hear evey time someone shuts their doors around you and I sure wouldn't want the room by the pub.
Thirdly, the breakfast in the Harvest Restaurant was awful. Edible yes, but I choose not to eat it ever again. Eggs tasted like powdered and the ham was fatty and tough.
Hasbrowns were strange and dry.

I wont' ever be back. Nothing agaist the hotel chain as the holiday inn in courtney is wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metgirl440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PollytheParrot, General Manager at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2009

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us. We would have been happy to bring you another breakfast, or not charge you for it, had you told the server you did not enjoy it.

We have 50 rooms with either two double beds or one Queen. if you were not informed that we had double rooms at check-in, it is probably because we did not have any available to offer you.

The way our hotel was built is such that the Pub is under the dining room, and completely removed from the guest rooms so that the noise does not affect our guests.

Also, we are not affiliated with The Holiday Inn or any other hotel chain. We used to be with Coast Hotels, but that was a few years ago.

I am always happy to get feedback from our guests, so please let me know if you have any other concerns or questions, and we would be happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade if you do choose to stay with us another time!

Best Wishes,

Maria Verdicchio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I stayed in the Hospitality Inn for 2 months. Service is excellent and people are friendly. There is a bar downstairs (Poly's Pub) which is very busy on friday night because of the Karaoke. It is also a quiet hotel with a salted heated pool and spa bath.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midrangehoteltester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

By far the best hotel in Port Alberni, checked out a few prior to staying here, but this was definitely the most clean and updated hotel in this city.

The front desk staff was very friendly and polite to all guests!!

The restaurant and pub also had great food and awesome service!

I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainlandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Our thank-you ad in the Port Alberni Times read: In our time of need, Donna, Beth and the rest of the staff at the Hospitality Inn, supported us. We do not have words to express our appreciation for your kindness. Beth, you went above and beyond the call of duty, and are truly a good samaritan to drive us to Victoria at the height of our crisis. Saying thank-you seems so inadequate for how we feel about what you did. Thank-you to all of you at the Hospitality Inn for the beautiful flowers and for all you did for us during our stay with you. We will be forever grateful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
1.1 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Somass Motel & RV
Somass Motel & RV
#4 of 9 in Port Alberni
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redford Motel & R.V. Campground
2.5 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hospitality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hospitality Inn

Address: 3835 Redford St, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 3S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: $87 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hospitality Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in Port Alberni for business or for recreation, we offer outstanding accommodation. Enjoy our year-round, covered, heated, outdoor, salt water pool and hot tub.Located between Nanaimo and the West Coast, the Pacific Rim National Park is our back yard. You can take a leisurely 90 minute drive to Tofino or Ucluelet, visit Long Beach and be back to the hotel in time for a swim. Or, stay over on your way to B.C.'S famous West Coast Trail. At The Hospitality Inn, we will meet your needs and exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hospitality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospitality Hotel Port Alberni
The Hospitality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing