We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Hospitality Inn(Port Alberni)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somass Motel & RV(Port Alberni)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Port Alberni)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyee Village Motel(Port Alberni)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebird Motel(Port Alberni)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Riverside Resort & Campground(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Crest Motel(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
235
209
42
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
209
42
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports bargreat hotelliquor store attachedoutdoor poolqueen suiteplace to staylots of parkingfitness roomhotel is cleanfront desk staffin townfitness centeron site restaurantbusiness tripthe pubpleasant staycoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 500 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

excellent experience, great staff good value , good amenities. Was in Port Alberni on a business matter and found the service level at this hotel to match/exceed my needs in all respects. Had a very nice discussion with the General manager , Peter, who was most accessible and accomodating. He was in the hotel at 730pm when I arrived and there at 700am when I was up and around the next day. His staff at the reception /check in went out of there way to be of assistance.Room service was very quick and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Dan A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

It was a pleasure talking with you and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank your for the kind words, we take great pride in trying to provide the friendly service that will make all of our guests feel welcome and looking forward to returning. We hope you had an opportunity aside from your business in town to see some of the natural splendor that makes the Alberni Valley an incredible place to visit.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was heading to Port Albernie to pick up a boat as well as do some business, very nicely appointed rooms, good layout, friendly and accommodating staff. would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Port Albernie.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Mike P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your business in town went very well, and that you had some time to experience the beauty of the Alberni Valley. We are proud of our team at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and everyone has the same goal of treating guests with a friendly and helpful attitude to make them feel welcome not only to the hotel but also to the Alberni Valley.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My elderly mom and I were there for someones 60 Wedding Anniversary. Every thing was prefect. They even up graded my room. Restaurant was also very good and reasonably priced.. All staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcsurvivor49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Bcsurvivor49,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

Thank you for the wonderful comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and the upgrade. We are very proud of the service and product we serve I Stamps Café and never tire of hearing the positive feedback from our guests.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here the Weekend of May 10th for a boys Lacrosse team. The rooms were clean and well appointed. A few of our families had suites which were a nice size, and made the visiting easier.

We were disappointed that the pool was not yet open for the season. The boys would have loved to have been swimming especially since the weather was sunny and warm.

One caution is that we did allow the boys to use the hot-tub. When they went into the sauna to look around my youngest (5 years old) accidentally bumped into the sauna rocks and was burned fairly badly on his arm.

The location of this hotel is excellent, a short drive from the arena, and close to the park and river where we sent the boys to run around and play.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but did enjoy the fact that there was a liquor store on site.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear curlergirl,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were very lucky with the weather as you said which gives the children a chance to enjoy some of our outstanding parks in the area.We are sorry that the pool was not opened as of yet, we generally wait until the long weekend in May to open the pool as the weather is quite unpredictable before then. We apologize that your son got hurt at the sauna, we were unaware of his injury and would have been happy to help with any first aid required.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Clean and comfortable. Rooms are a nice size, has cable tv, beds comfortable. Bathroom is a great size and plenty of counter space for toiletries. Restaurant on site and reasonably priced, good food. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Judy F,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

Thank your for the kind words, we take great pride in the cleanliness at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and try to provide the friendly service that will make all of our guests feel welcome and looking forward to returning. We hope you had an opportunity to see some of the natural splendor that makes the Alberni Valley an incredible place to visit.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews